REAPER enthusiast thread

This thread is for people who utilize REAPER in their creative productions. A great DAW that’s available to demo with no restrictions as long as you like, but even the license is inexpensive for those wanting to give back.

I’ve been using REAPER for about 6-7 years now. Great program, similar to Pro Tools or Acid Pro.

Out of curiosity, are there any must-have features to reaper that an outsider should know about? I’ve always heard loads about it but even upon closer investigation I couldn’t figure out why people used it.

New at Reaper… but love it so far. easy to use, versatile, powerful. I’ve got a lot to learn.

REAPER really covers my main base of approaching a track, that is, easily loading up audio files from a sample library, adjust them to fit a grid, lay out and organize the tracks in the track window which can easily zoom in or out for inspecting a short segment of music, or widen out to see the entire piece.

I do like the “glue” feature which lets you combine a group of individual audio files into one new single file. Great for managing segments with many cuts and splices (I’ve definitely built tracks in the past manually copying and pasting measures of tiny slivers of audio clips).

Also it can do FX chains on individual segments of audio, so it’s also nice as a sort of audio editor.

I‘m using Ableton Live since vesion 4, but ever since I installed Reaper a few years ago, I keep coming back to it.
I think I installed it because I wanted to double check on some computer issue I had back then, but it‘s really an anazing DAW!
Reaper is highly customizable - you can make your own keyboard shortcuts and even use ‚custom actions‘ that let you combine multiple functions in one macro, which triggers the functions sequentially. Reapers ‚actions‘ can also be mapped to Midi CC or Midi Notes.
You can make your own custom toolbar buttons, that can toggle Reapers actions or run scripts!