Info for Making Music via databending for a project

right so i decided to host a databending competition…why because free time and there are some users interested in this…
there will be no prize this is just for fun…
and who knows you might learn something new and add a new dimension to your music making right…so on with it

how to databend:
forgive me im a noob at this maybe someone has better info on how to implement databending into art but as for me honestly I just randomly cut and paste/copypasta some hexadecimal/ascii code in a text editor or hexadecimal editor…messing with the sequence of the code…or change some of the hexadecimal values (i dont actually know hexadecimal i just put in something randomly to change the code)
and then I use the import raw data feature in audacity or screenshot an image and resample it with harmor

also this:

how to capture the databent image:
after databending and image screenshot the result…then .convert image to bitmap using ms paint or whatever, import raw data into audacity encoding u-law, big-endian to get something that isnt white noise…feel free to play around with the file format or the encoding to get a variety of sound

how to capture databent audio:
i’d say record the output of your computer’s soundcard using whatever…

a more in depth article on how to databend to get people started off
https://critiquecollective.com/2014/03/13/tutorial-on-databending-and-glitch-art/

also how to convert image files…the quick way ms paint…as pointed out in this article…

different file types will yield different results when converting image to audio or audio to image

fyi
you can either use an image source or an audio source to databend and resample it

so to start off with
here is a source image that you can use…

and an audio source to databend (i enabled downloads):

and a free hexadecimal editor i found
https://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/

and a free online photoshop site

what is hexadecimal:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hexadecimal