My advice: develop your own inner critic

Tbh over the years I’ve made some pretty horribad tracks…and only a few decent ones and by decent I mean everything met the all standards across the board, in terms of mixing, sound design, and composition. And considering the fact that I’m only a hobbyist…and by no means a successful musician. I guess my advice to anyone starting out is to learn the fundamentals and then develop your own inner critic. By doing so you’ll automatically push yourself to do better because you wouldnt be falling in love with your musical creations at first sight. Instead once created you’ll intuitively dissect the peice in order to perfect it. And Even though art is somewhat subjective (as well as perfection). Being able to play devils advocate in criticizing your own musical creation may help you make better judgement calls during your music making process. But hey take my advice with a grain a salt being that I’m only a mere hobbyist. Just sharing what I’ve learned in my efforts in music and maybe itll help someone somewhere or maybe it wont…either way good luck to all. :slight_smile:

I agree. It’s pretty difficult to evaluate your work when you yourself don’t know what you are doing.

I guess that’s where reference tracks come into play…

So much Win,
that cat can really code
:slight_smile:

My own inner critic is so developed that it would be great if it could fuck off far and away instead of being constantly there to make me doubt any and all ability I may have.

My inner critic has all of these rules and stipulations now; he believes that if I’ve spent less than 30 hours on a track, it’s probably underdeveloped and rushed… and a lot of similarly weird ideas to go around.