Music and Coding

I’m curious to know if anyone here has ever done any coding related to making music, be it scripting in a daw or synth, coding custom plugins with something like JUCE, or playing around with any languages like CSound or Supercollider.

Is anyone in the forum a hobbyist or professional coder?

On a somewhat related note, I just learned that Logic has a MIDI module called Scripter, which lets you process incoming MIDI using JavaScript. I’ve been using Logic for like 10+ years and just now found out. Learn something new every day I suppose.

I’m not a professional, but I taught myself to code a few years ago and use it all the time (probably on a daily basis, honestly) for music and art projects. It’s what supercharges my shit, next to modular.

I’m hitting snags in the DSP algorithm department because my math skills suck and I never went to high school (long story), but as far as scripting, logic and using libraries for the heavy algorithms go, I never really regret knuckling down and at least getting comfortable with the stuff.

There are scripting APIs everywhere, though, you just need to look harder for some. FL Studio, Renoise, Falcon, most modular systems that are worth anything and well beyond (including quite a number of DAWs like Reaper and Mixbus, or literally anything on Linux) all have stockpiles of resources you can tap into, sometimes even with IDEs that fill out 95% of the code and UI elements for you. And that’s not even to mention some of the other great coding applications for music, but I’ll stop there to avoid clogging things up. I could go on forever :smiley:

Your enthusiasm is most welcome, and I’m sure I could go on for a long time as well.

To clarify, I’m actually a software engineer in my day job. This skill has been slowly creeping into my music production over the years, and I’ve played around with scripting in falcon, and supercollider a fair bit.