How do producers manipulate the sound of instruments?

Hello! I’m new to producing music and want to learn more about manipulating the actual sound of an instrument. I’ve heard of things like sound design, synths and timbre, but I’m not exactly sure where to begin. Basically, I’m interested in learning how to adjust the physical sound of an instrument and hopefully being able to direct what kind of emotion it conveys. I was hoping y’all could give me some guidance about what topics I should look into, how I should approach learning more about this or how to think about manipulating the sounds of instruments.
Thanks

no short cuts brah <3

also don’t ignore music theory, a little goes a long way in dance music and you can defo direct emotion with it

Thanks! So do you think synthesizers is what I should start looking into? Or is there an even broader topic that synths would be under?

Im bit confused, its late here and I’m baked but I linked you to a source about programming synths and then said something about music theory. I highly recommend both. ? : ) ?

I guess what I’m asking is if synthesizers are THE way producers manipulate sounds of specific instruments or is it just a sub topic of manipulating sounds n general… and if it is a sub topic, what would is the broader topic?

I mean you are either generating audio or working with a recording? I’m not sure you can go broader than that.

Ok, so if I’m understanding this correctly, you can either create a sound from scratch (synths) or manipulate a sample or instrument that already has a sound. Does this sound right? If it is, then would you use the same tools to do either? Or are there different techniques/approaches for both of them respectively?