Bad vinyl... Bad

So, I love the vinyl format, as I’m sure many of you do. While I’m not one that believes the format produces better quality audio (I know this can quickly turn into a debate, which I’m not trying to do), I really appreciate the large factor artwork and the tactile experience of having such a large media format.

Unfortunately, it would seem that vinyl is not only environmentally bad but may even have certain toxic qualities to it. (I’m not a scientist and have not done extensive research on this subject. I will however post the video where I came about this information.)

What are your thoughts on the subject of the ethics of producing vinyl? Does anyone know of any companies that produce “green” or “carbon-neutral” vinyl-style records?

Here is a video by Benn Jordan (Benn and gear / The Flashbulb) discussing the matter in some detail.

Benn Jordan on Vinyl records

I saw that same video a few months ago and put it in my own vinyl thread around here somewhere. I’m considering selling my collection because I hardly ever listen to it. But then that time you want it, it just hits the spot. The farthest I’ve gone is I’m not buying any more records right now (though I have picked up a couple of CDs this year).

As far as the toxic chemicals and such… I’m no expert, but my anecdotal evidence tells me that I probably have worse things to worry about than any chemicals that might be coming off my records. I’m sure it’s not a good thing, but I’m type 1 diabetic, and that has come much closer to killing me (on multiple occasions) than I think any toxins in records ever will. And, FWIW, I do know some people with large collections who are older, and none of them I know have any problems that can be attributed to the chemicals in records. Now again, that’s certainly not a study with any statistical basis, but my personal evidence suggests you can afford to worry more about things like your diet and exercise routine.