Has any of you transitioned back to making music OTB yet?

I’ve been making music ITB (In The Box) for about 16 years now and I think I’ve finally grown weary of it. I’m seriously considering a move back to hardware, at least for synths, fx, and a multitrack recorder. I’ll keep using a PC based sequencer but that’s about it. Have any of you done this yet? For those that have gone OTB, how’s it coming? How has your output changed?

I started on a computer, went full hardware expect for recording and mixing, went down to a small setup, back to computer only, now I have a couple pieces of hardware I use to write my main riffs/ideas/loops with, then finish in the box.

I’ve found my happy spot, I feel, in this latest incarnation. It brings out what I love most about each approach and I’m writing more tunes and getting more tunes that I’ll let people listen too.

I think @TheTeknomage is the most hardcore hardware-only guy we have (and still gets great tracks out of it). He should have some input.

I only use my hardware for inspiration basically, I take the musical or patch ideas and recreate them in software and do my music that way. But initial ideas usually come out of noodling at my synths for half an hour or so.

I’ve been giving serious consideration to a hybrid approach, with a PC strictly for audio and sequencing and a Tascam FW-1884 or FW-1082 audio interface/console to control it all. That’s kind of how I had it for a couple of years before going fully ITB.