Effects on a drumkit

So I’m working with a drummer who would like to pickup the sounds of a drumkit to add effects to it live, no computer, maybe put it through an fx pedal, and then directly out to the speakers.

We’ve got the mics, but we need to get an interface and we’re not sure what would be a good option. We’re thinking a mixing console, but I have zero experience with that kind of gear.

Any recommendations ?

kaoss pads maybe?

that sounds awesome, and it’s definitely the kind of effects we’re looking for, but the question would be about the interface that gets the audio out

Ive played around with this with an experimental group.

The thing we found was

1. No matter how close micd there was a ton of bleed from other drums and instruments even resonance of the drum heads not being played by guitars, basses.
  2. So what worked best was
    a. A mixer with solo buttons for each drum
    b. A multi filter pedal, the band pass being especially important, Placed before the other effects.

That allowed focus on an individual drum’s individual intended frequency range for effects. A Kaoss pad would have been great for this iirc this was before that existed. 1997? Our drummer had half a dozen pedal, guessing Kaoss pad would cover them all after the mixer and filter.

You could also do the above with a mixer and iPad. Audiobus, a filter, some of the Audio Damage mods and such. Is it a computer? Okay maybe but less going on, less to break.

thanks, that would be something we’ll have to be careful with. We’re going to try contact mics too, and I’m now thinking it might cause a lot of parasite resonance.
Do you remember how you were set up? Did all the cables run into a mixing table that the drummer could manipulate while playing? I’m thinking this is the obvious solution but I’m kinda looking for confirmation, and also I have no idea what to pick.