Recording acoustic guitars
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

The Studio All discussions relating to sound design, mixing techniques, music theory, composition, and gear.

Old 17-04-2012, 11:01 AM   #1
Clankerz
Microknight
Clankerz is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
Recording acoustic guitars

Hi all

I am interested in recording my acoustic guitar into a few of my tracks and I was wondering which way was better in overall quality and sound:

- Directly connecting my electronic acoustic guitar into my interface and recording that way

or

- Using a mic and pre-amp

What, in your opinion, has a better over all sound and why? Thank you all!

I am new to recording live instruments

Advertisements

Clankerz is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012, 11:31 AM   #2
Evelon
IDMf Artist
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
MC Status: 214390248
Thanked 2,836 Times in 1,766 Posts
Re: Recording acoustic guitars

Mic and preamp, imo.
It's called an acoustic guitar for a reason, imo.

Built-in mic/contact mic/pickup is good when playing live (at higher volume on stage).

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012, 11:34 AM   #3
lolirl
Savage Mad Cunt
lolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MC
MC Status: 744050391
Thanked 7,661 Times in 4,723 Posts

You could always record both and decide afterwards or blend the two.
lolirl is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2012, 11:35 AM   #4
MeshNation
Savage Mad Cunt