Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Workstation Center Digital audio workstations (DAW), trackers, sequencers and programming.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 22-07-2012, 02:35 PM   #1
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Im working on a project right now and Logic keeps overloading at the same spot over and over again. the cpu meter is reading 100%, yet its funny because im only using 12 channels, however i am using massive for 8 of them and kontakt for 4. i am also using guitar rig on all of them for effects and whatnot.i have made projects with up to 20+ channels, yet i never used as many plugins as i am for this one. it seems that guitar rig and kontakt both use a lot of power, as it takes a while for them to open up when you click on them. are there any tricks to get logic to stop overloading? its annoying to only be able to work on a project for less than 30 minutes at a time before logic starts crashing.

Advertisements


------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 08:07 PM   #2
Evelon
IDMf Artist
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,576
MC Status: 214390148
Thanks: 885
Thanked 2,834 Times in 1,766 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

Freeze tracks or bounce tracks.

Check the manual.

edit: Or at least freeze/bounce CPU hungry things like very complex synths, long reverbs, etc.

Last edited by Evelon; 22-07-2012 at 08:39 PM..

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 08:25 PM   #3
TFfL
Analog Lurker
TFfL will become famous soon enoughTFfL will become famous soon enough
Posts: 78
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

I've noticed a bug in Logic's cpu usage and found something that helps at least on my setup. Try stopping the the track immediately after you've pushed play on it, then push play immediately again. Like, push space three times instead of one when you want to listen what you are doing. This seems to route the cpu usage in a much more balanced way. It doesn't really make any sense, but has helped me to work on huge projects without freezing tracks.

------------------
TFfL is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 08:47 PM   #4
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TFfL View Post
I've noticed a bug in Logic's cpu usage and found something that helps at least on my setup. Try stopping the the track immediately after you've pushed play on it, then push play immediately again. Like, push space three times instead of one when you want to listen what you are doing. This seems to route the cpu usage in a much more balanced way. It doesn't really make any sense, but has helped me to work on huge projects without freezing tracks.
thanks! yeah it does appear to be abug, because im not using that many tracks in the project, but when i push play its showing its using full cpu. i had a project with 28+ tracks and it hardly reached half cpu. ill try that thanks

------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 09:02 PM   #5
Dhinojosa94
Sample Destroyer
Dhinojosa94 is just really niceDhinojosa94 is just really niceDhinojosa94 is just really niceDhinojosa94 is just really niceDhinojosa94 is just really nice
San Pedro Garza Garcia
Age: 24
Posts: 297
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

use the low latency(lower right, it lights up green its like a tachometer symbol) mode as much as you can, and bounce tracks, i think someone already mentioned that
Dhinojosa94 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-07-2012, 10:03 PM   #6
YoMyEX
Eternal Echoer
YoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MC
YoMyEX's Avatar
Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 940
MC Status: 4315538
Thanks: 13
Thanked 94 Times in 74 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

Here are some options:

- Start bouncing your tracks down to audio
- Start "freezing" your tracks
- With Kontakt and Massive, use fewer voices and/or use their CPU-saving "economy modes."
- Close any extraneous apps/programs.
- Switch your "I/O Buffer Size" to 1024, or just higher then your present buffer size (Warning: major input latency).
- Buy more RAM.
- Use less plugins and/or use more CPU-efficient ones.
- Lower your "Process buffer range."

------------------
YoMyEX is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2012, 02:11 AM   #7
macropsia
Granular Poster
macropsia is a jewel in the roughmacropsia is a jewel in the roughmacropsia is a jewel in the roughmacropsia is a jewel in the rough
macropsia's Avatar
Malaysia
Posts: 67
MC Status: 310
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoMyEX View Post
Here are some options:

- Start bouncing your tracks down to audio
- Start "freezing" your tracks
- With Kontakt and Massive, use fewer voices and/or use their CPU-saving "economy modes."
- Close any extraneous apps/programs.
- Switch your "I/O Buffer Size" to 1024, or just higher then your present buffer size (Warning: major input latency).
- Buy more RAM.
- Use less plugins and/or use more CPU-efficient ones.
- Lower your "Process buffer range."
THIS!!!!
Also, both massive and guitar rig have a cpu setting on them, make sure its not on high quality mode until you bounce...or bounce to track. Just be warned me and a few people i work with have had issues freezing and unfreezing NI stuff only to find the NI instrument didn't recall the patch it used to have, so try to bounce track to audio (control-B by default) and just mute and deactivate the plugins on the midi track

------------------
macropsia is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2012, 08:00 AM   #8
niksah
Digital Surfer
niksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MCniksah is a savage MC
niksah's Avatar
San Francisco
Posts: 501
MC Status: 9509953
Thanks: 6
Thanked 26 Times in 22 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

Has it always done this for you guys? I don't recall if it always did that--I'm wondering if has something to do with the update they pushed late last year or something. I just can't remember...
niksah is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-08-2012, 01:19 PM   #9
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Re: Logic Keeps Overloading. Ways to Get it to Stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by macropsia View Post
THIS!!!!
Also, both massive and guitar rig have a cpu setting on them, make sure its not on high quality mode until you bounce...or bounce to track. Just be warned me and a few people i work with have had issues freezing and unfreezing NI stuff only to find the NI instrument didn't recall the patch it used to have, so try to bounce track to audio (control-B by default) and just mute and deactivate the plugins on the midi track
that explains what happened to one of my songs! after bouncing it i went back and all of the patches had changed.

------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 03:32 AM   #10
Elvio Neto
Granular Poster
Elvio Neto will become famous soon enoughElvio Neto will become famous soon enough
Elvio Neto's Avatar
Posts: 53
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

what version of logic you use? there was a bug in old versions that caused that
Elvio Neto is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-2012, 01:33 PM   #11
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvio Neto View Post
what version of logic you use? there was a bug in old versions that caused that
im using logic express 9.1.7 32 bit.

------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 09:59 PM   #12
Silver
Radial Developer
Silver is currently spamming hard
Silver's Avatar
VanCity
Posts: 145
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Hey guys,
I think the only solution to this problem, as my prof said, "when you have to start freezing tracks , its time to get a better computer."
This of course only applies to people who take music making very seriously.
I just hit this point with my machine and will be dropping $4000 on a new mac.
I am by no means wealthy but, if there's a will there's a way!!

I use at least 10 different instances of the same synth on the same patch just slightly modified in most instances. makes for faster work flow and more original music.

You get what you pay for man!
Silver is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 10:03 PM   #13
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver View Post
Hey guys,
I think the only solution to this problem, as my prof said, "when you have to start freezing tracks , its time to get a better computer."
This of course only applies to people who take music making very seriously.
I just hit this point with my machine and will be dropping $4000 on a new mac.
I am by no means wealthy but, if there's a will there's a way!!

I use at least 10 different instances of the same synth on the same patch just slightly modified in most instances. makes for faster work flow and more original music.

You get what you pay for man!
buying a new computer because of a potential glitch? well thats a way to go bankrupt real fast. it was only one track that happened, it was a glitch, it was only that track and it would overload at the same point every time. it has not happened since. it must have saved wrong or something.

------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 10:18 PM   #14
oly
IDMf Artist
oly is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MC
oly's Avatar
socialism twitter
Age: 27
Posts: 12,138
MC Status: 471672701
Thanks: 2,889
Thanked 2,467 Times in 1,692 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver View Post
Hey guys,
I think the only solution to this problem, as my prof said, "when you have to start freezing tracks , its time to get a better computer."
This of course only applies to people who take music making very seriously.
I just hit this point with my machine and will be dropping $4000 on a new mac.
I am by no means wealthy but, if there's a will there's a way!!

I use at least 10 different instances of the same synth on the same patch just slightly modified in most instances. makes for faster work flow and more original music.

You get what you pay for man!
Your professor is a douche.

I mean it's sooooo easy to just run out and buy a cutting edge brand new machine at the first sign of trouble, especially when you're broke as fuck and have no savings or credit or anything like that. SO easy, that anyone who doesn`t do it ěs obviously not serious about what they do and not in any way a professional.

also if you`re spending 4k on a mac you`re paying probably about 2k minimum just for the name... you can spend 1k and part together a computer just as powerful...

------------------
oly is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 10:21 PM   #15
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghyt wembpang View Post
Your professor is a douche.

I mean it's sooooo easy to just run out and buy a cutting edge brand new machine at the first sign of trouble, especially when you're broke as fuck and have no savings or credit or anything like that. SO easy, that anyone who doesn`t do it ěs obviously not serious about what they do and not in any way a professional.

also if you`re spending 4k on a mac you`re paying probably about 2k minimum just for the name... you can spend 1k and part together a computer just as powerful...
damnit! breathed in my ferrari. oh well, il go get a new one then!

damn breathed in that one too!

oh whats that? insufficient funds? how could that be?

------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 11:30 PM   #16
YoMyEX
Eternal Echoer
YoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MCYoMyEX is a savage MC
YoMyEX's Avatar
Miami Beach, FL
Posts: 940
MC Status: 4315538
Thanks: 13
Thanked 94 Times in 74 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghyt wembpang View Post
also if you`re spending 4k on a mac you`re paying probably about 2k minimum just for the name... you can spend 1k and part together a computer just as powerful...
But...I like Mac's OS If I could build my own, I would. I heard the "Hackintosh" DIYs aren't as stable as the factory-made ones, but I could be wrong?

------------------
YoMyEX is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-08-2012, 11:34 PM   #17
oly
IDMf Artist
oly is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MColy is a savage MC
oly's Avatar
socialism twitter
Age: 27
Posts: 12,138
MC Status: 471672701
Thanks: 2,889
Thanked 2,467 Times in 1,692 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoMyEX View Post
But...I like Mac's OS If I could build my own, I would. I heard the "Hackintosh" DIYs aren't as stable as the factory-made ones, but I could be wrong?
They are, they just don't have official Apple support.

so if something goes wrong you're troubleshooting it on your own.

------------------
oly is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 24-08-2012, 11:39 PM   #18
Elvio Neto
Granular Poster
Elvio Neto will become famous soon enoughElvio Neto will become famous soon enough
Elvio Neto's Avatar
Posts: 53
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Mystik_ View Post
im using logic express 9.1.7 32 bit.

the problem is solved in that version must be you computer specs

that problem append in the first quad and dual cores , in first versions 8 and 9 of logic

(the logic only detected 1 core and didnt use the other cores o was getting overload all the time)

but its not your case , your version is fixed
Elvio Neto is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 07:10 AM   #19
KVillage1
Microknight
KVillage1 is currently spamming hard
Tzfat
Age: 31
Posts: 109
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

i was having same problem..im running Logic on a Mac from 2011.it was stopping a lot.I read up on it.two biggest tips

1.wen you are just listening to your track make sure an audio channel is not selected in the arrange window.for some reason that takes up more. The EXS24 takes up a lot so i would only freeze those or just like basic loops or small drum patterns that you would not need to constantly edit.
2.Lower your buffer size.
Peace
KVillage1 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 11:22 AM   #20
_Mystik_
Your Secret Admirer
_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC_Mystik_ is a savage MC
_Mystik_'s Avatar
Rhode Island
Age: 20
Posts: 2,218
MC Status: 11210
Thanks: 183
Thanked 224 Times in 170 Posts
Re: Logic keeps overloading. Ways to get it to stop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KVillage1 View Post
i was having same problem..im running Logic on a Mac from 2011.it was stopping a lot.I read up on it.two biggest tips

1.wen you are just listening to your track make sure an audio channel is not selected in the arrange window.for some reason that takes up more. The EXS24 takes up a lot so i would only freeze those or just like basic loops or small drum patterns that you would not need to constantly edit.
2.Lower your buffer size.
Peace
my problem is not the synths it comes with, those are fine, i can run up to 40 channels of exs24 and only reach 50% cpu on a song with 160,000 notes (i tested it lol) im composing orchestra pieces with kontakt, which half of the times wont even load because of how big of a sampler it is. i find it best to just freeze tracks, seems to help a lot. annoying that it always has to refreeze tho if you unfreeze to change something -___-

Advertisements


------------------
SyMTiK
(~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~ (~^.^)~(~^.^) ~
Berklee College of Music '21

_Mystik_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
In which ways do you prefer to widen your sounds and why? bigdaveo11 Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 46 03-06-2012 01:48 PM
Ways to ease writers block? reactor The Studio 11 16-03-2012 05:28 PM
[Chilled House] Skinner - 6 Million Ways Skinner2012 Listening Booth 1 21-02-2012 07:19 PM
Ways to get more attention. Shtuffe The Side Room 80 27-12-2011 09:13 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.