What do I do when I can't add any more to a track?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

The Studio All discussions relating to sound design, mixing techniques, music theory, composition, and gear.

Old 08-03-2016, 05:01 PM   #1
Fireboy
Learning The Ropes
Fireboy is currently spamming hard
Melbourne
MC Status: 10
What do I do when I can't add any more to a track?

I've been playing around with music for a few years now, and only in the last year or so when I've really started to get serious about making music have my tracks started to sound alright. Each track is better than the last, I'm more efficient, I can keep up a flow for longer.

Often I get to a point where I can't think of anything else to put into a track, so there's this habit of getting stuck and not finishing a track cause I feel like it needs just one more thing, even though it sounds good already.

I'm sure this happens to you guys. I was wondering on your opinion. Should I arrange it to completion and start on a new one? I read this article recently which talks about just pumping out tracks in the early stages in lieu of getting distracted with a "masterpiece" mentality.

Opinions? Personal experiences?

This is all very exciting, and the more I create the more confident I'm getting in creating. Thanks.

Advertisements

Fireboy is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 05:10 PM   #2
Benwaa
Re: What do I do when I can't add any more to a track?

this is the point you should look to start stripping a track back imo. if it really gets that far and you don't feel satisfied then the sequencing and flow is off, and you've potentially so much going on that it obscures the subtle nuances needed that really make any track work. sometimes less really is more
  Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2016, 05:38 PM   #3
relic
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistModerator