A question about parallel compression
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 16-12-2017, 11:35 PM   #1
pepehands
IDMf's latest spammer
pepehands is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
Icon5 A question about parallel compression

I have a question, I thought I had the grasp of parallel compression, but I was wrong because I didn't have a good understanding of the attack and release times of the compressor (I've been producing for almost 4 years, but the concept of compression has been one of the hardest for me to understand), so my question is, if you're using parallel compression on your drums, are you supposed to overcompress the transients of the drums by using a fast attack and a fast release or should you leave the transients as they are by increasing the amount of attack?

I know every situation is different, I'm not asking for specific numbers, I just want to know if I'm supposed to keep the transients or not? and do you know any books where I can get some detailed information about this and other methods?

Advertisements

pepehands is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 11:38 PM   #2
relic
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
MC Status: 8567130
Thanked 7,524 Times in 5,312 Posts
Re: A question about parallel compression

My understanding of using parallel compression on drums (or anything really) is to bring out certain elements while maintaining the original material. So if you want to comrpess to get snappy transients, but want to leave the rest alone, that seems reasonable.