64 bit Ableton Live - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Workstation Center Digital audio workstations (DAW), trackers, sequencers and programming.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 20-12-2014, 02:19 PM   #21
Jaded
Total mad cunt
Jaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MC
Jaded's Avatar
Posts: 4,290
MC Status: 6906609
Thanks: 4,784
Thanked 3,549 Times in 2,148 Posts
Re: 64 bit Ableton Live

^ lol! I'd hate to hear your thoughts on 8 bit then...

Advertisements

Jaded is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2014, 02:59 PM   #22
deadmau7
IDMf ArtistModerator
deadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MCdeadmau7 is a savage MC
deadmau7's Avatar
Posts: 8,915
MC Status: 175274990
Thanks: 5,220
Thanked 2,748 Times in 1,955 Posts
Re: 64 bit Ableton Live

I'm on 32 bit. No lag or stutter. No trouble whatsoever.

Mo bit mo problems.
deadmau7 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to deadmau7
Jaded (23-12-2014)
Old 20-12-2014, 04:27 PM   #23
Kemono
Granular Poster
Kemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud ofKemono has much to be proud of
Kemono's Avatar
Age: 36
Posts: 68
MC Status: 1310
Thanks: 5
Thanked 26 Times in 17 Posts
Re: 64 bit Ableton Live

Yeah, I'm not saying working in 32bit is impossible or anything.

But in the vfx business we had this discussion in 2003/2004,
and people were like, I'm gonna loose access to so many plugins, and 32bit is stable while 64bit is new.
But it didn't take people long to figure out that more memory had more value in terms of speed and quality, and there people utilize every bit of the machine they can.

And here we are in almost 2015 having the same discussion in digital audio..

I've seen people invest in physical tube-tech units as opposed to the vst and expensive AD/DA converters, for the little bit extra fidelity gain and workflow.
While still working on a macbook pro at 44.1khz with the track pad. It's like...wtf...

You want to keep your workflow in 96khz space and 32bit samples,
and both of this things are going to take a hit on your RAM.
This is why 64bit is beneficial.

That being said,
Sofware publishers (in audio) have a tendency to prioritize the 32bit version,
and abelton 64bit have a few minor hickups (like playback h.264).
Kemono is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Currently Listening To: casiokids
Old 22-12-2014, 06:39 AM   #24
Tsachi
IDMf Artist
Tsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MCTsachi is a savage MC
Tsachi's Avatar
Posts: 761
MC Status: 21060
Thanks: 446
Thanked 421 Times in 289 Posts
Re: 64 bit Ableton Live

My computer was having trouble with 32 bit so I installed the 64 bit, and it still sucks but not as much. The moral of the story is 64 bit helps, but having a really good computer with mas RAM and cores is obviously a priority over program versions. the reason some people can run 32 bit with minimal problems is because their computer is good.

Get jBridge! It not only allows you to bridge from 32 to 64 but also 64 to 32. Now alls I need is a vst3 to vst2 bridger so I can use Waves Tune in Live... (Or Ableton can just release a patch)

------------------
Tsachi is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Tsachi
deadmau7 (29-12-2014)
Old 27-12-2014, 05:45 PM   #25
lakeknight
Minor Glitch
lakeknight is just really nicelakeknight is just really nicelakeknight is just really nicelakeknight is just really nicelakeknight is just really nice
lakeknight's Avatar
Posts: 48
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Re: 64 bit Ableton Live

I have a 2009 mbp with 8gb ram, no drastic difference when using 64bit. Maybe 5% less crashing but 50% less VSTs..
lakeknight is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2015, 10:39 PM   #26
fck75
Granular Poster
fck75 has a spectacular aura aboutfck75 has a spectacular aura aboutfck75 has a spectacular aura about
fck75's Avatar
Paris
Age: 26
Posts: 63
MC Status: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Re: 64 bit Ableton Live

Personally, I have 16go of RAM and I have both 32 and 64 ableton installed. I use 64 mainly for live performance, when I don't need to add all the plugins that I usually use for production. But I rarely get full CPU in Ableton 32, so I recommend you to stick with the 32 bits version, even if you have 8+ GB of RAM.

Advertisements

fck75 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ableton Live tutorial for live purposes pBrane Tutorials Section 7 12-11-2013 03:54 AM
ABLETON LIVE 9 crashes when I try to save the live set underground777 Introduce Yourself 1 07-09-2013 11:26 AM
Ableton live 8 Problem - ableton stuck on initializing application TSDREX The Studio 13 13-07-2013 08:14 PM
Ableton Live in a live [band] setting p0seur The Studio 22 01-03-2013 01:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.