Giving Up
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Music Scene Chat Discuss everything music scene & industry-related here.

Old 09-09-2013, 05:44 PM   #1
XMtS
Regular Freak
XMtS has a spectacular aura aboutXMtS has a spectacular aura about
California
MC Status: 160
Giving Up

I'm pretty sure I'd like to give up music production. I've been at this for more than two years now and everything I make still sounds like a pile of shit. Everyone said just to practise and you'll get better over time. Well, guess what? I'm not improving. And everyone tells me that I'm a piece-of-shit amateur for using FL anyway, so why even bother trying? Also, for some backstory, I've been suffering from a major depressive episode for the better part of 3 years now (the entire time I've been producing). I basically lost all my friends and now I'm just pissed off and irritable all the time for no particular reason. The last time I went out to do something was over a year and a half ago. I feel like it might be due to my depression; I simply don't have the motivation to put in the time to make a half-decent track. I rarely bother to EQ things and I generally only take about a minute or two to do my gain staging and mixing. Part of it is the fact that I also abhore making music on computers. It seems ridiculously unintuitive to me. Like trying to write and essay with a straw and some juice. But at the same time, I just can't learn an instrument. I simply don't have the motivation to practise. I've owned a nice piano keyboard for a couple years now because I took a piano class a couple years back and I wanted to have it to practise, which I did at first, and my piano teacher even commented that I was an extremely fast learner. I just can't do it, though. I can't learn anything. I don't have the self-esteem or the confidence to believe that I could ever really do something good. I've also owned a guitar for nearly 6 years and can't play a single song on it.