IDMf - Electronic Music & Production Forum - IDMforums.com

IDMf - Electronic Music & Production Forum - IDMforums.com (https://www.idmforums.com/index.php)
-   Workstation Center (https://www.idmforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   Melodyne Studio 4 & Ableton 8 Issue (https://www.idmforums.com/showthread.php?t=143923)

Jane Doe 07-07-2016 02:56 AM

Melodyne Studio 4 & Ableton 8 Issue
 
I really hope this is in the right place?

I recently switched from Melodyne 4 Single-track (or Essential or whatever their basic one is called, I forget, off the top of my head) to Melodyne 4 Studio.

Now, previously, with Ableton 8, I could use Ableton's Edit function, (having set it all up in preferences/audio I think it is) to open up an audio clip, (any audio clip) and edit it in Melodyne - of course, Singletrack was a little simpler - being limited to basic quantization and pitch correction in monophonic, (Melodyne calls this 'Melodic') mode only. However, I could hit 'save' and it would save the clip, into my ableton project. Just edit the clip, right there. No exporting as wav and dropping it back into Ableton again just to be warped a second time or any of that crap. Just whatever edits I had made, being applied to the audio clip, as it existed in Ableton - and if it was a sample that wasn't recorded, (IE, a sample from a pack, rather than a vocal track I just recorded) it would save over that, and create a new file named file_original.extension (or something like that)

Anyway, now, with Melodyne 4, it won't do that. It wants me to export the whole f!cking thing, and when you have 30 clips cut from a jam session, that's a BITCH to try and pitch correct, export, and drop back in - makes the process waaaay more painfully slow - it'd be tedious in a different way if I consolidated them all, as they're arranged, and corrected them all in one big file, and dropped the one big file back in and re-chopped it into snippets.

I don't know what this is called, or how to even term it enough to find answers within a search function accurately, however I tried anyway and came up with nothing, thus I am coming to you folks, hoping you can decipher through my babble what I'm doing wrong. I can't find it in any of Melodyne 4 or Abe 8's settings.

Jaded 16-07-2016 06:24 AM

Re: Melodyne Studio 4 & Ableton 8 Issue
 
Just lodge a ticket with Celemony support and see what they say.

Schnork 16-07-2016 09:17 AM

Re: Melodyne Studio 4 & Ableton 8 Issue
 
Have you set it as Audio Editor in Live?

Jane Doe 20-07-2016 10:20 PM

Re: Melodyne Studio 4 & Ableton 8 Issue
 
Sorry about going missing for a few days, there. Forgot all about this thread, wasn't even working on tunes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaded (Post 1405836)
Just lodge a ticket with Celemony support and see what they say.

I did. No response back yet.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Schnork (Post 1405866)
Have you set it as Audio Editor in Live?

And yes, I have.

Jaded 22-07-2016 07:18 AM

Re: Melodyne Studio 4 & Ableton 8 Issue
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jane Doe (Post 1406756)
did. No response back yet.

Hurry up cunts!

I don't know if you've watched any of Peter Neubaker's Melodyne talks but if the rest of the company is as mellow as he is, it kind of makes sense that they're a bit slow :P


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.