IDMf - Electronic Music & Production Forum - IDMforums.com

IDMf - Electronic Music & Production Forum - IDMforums.com (https://www.idmforums.com/index.php)
-   Workstation Center (https://www.idmforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=162)
-   -   Any DAWs or patches that allow multiple players to jam in perfect sync? (https://www.idmforums.com/showthread.php?t=148855)

soundmodel 10-01-2018 07:46 PM

Any DAWs or patches that allow multiple players to jam in perfect sync?

Any DAWs or patches that allow multiple players to improvise/jam electronic music in perfect sync?

relic 10-01-2018 07:54 PM

Re: Any DAWs or patches that allow multiple players to jam in perfect sync?

I know Bitwig allows for some kind of real time collaboration, but I don’t think its meant for in-sync live jams. Even if there were software specifically for this, it would depend on both parties’ internet connections. I’m not an expert in software or networking/internet, but my gut says if this existed, it’d be pretty well known.

jbvdb493 10-01-2018 08:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by soundmodel (Post 1467683)
Any DAWs or patches that allow multiple players to improvise/jam electronic music in perfect sync?

You have reason, it works with ableton link to synch via wifi.

Edit: corny promo video, but there, people jamming in sync:
[Only registered and activated mad cunts can see links. Click Here To Register...]

DoYouSeeWhatISe 12-01-2018 04:51 PM

Hey, Ableton Link works wonders for midi.

Check out a side project I did : Soundcloud.com/version58

It was created all live in real time, improvised, with 3 musicians using Ableton Link. Each of us individually had our own loop stations, and we synced them through ableton link. It was so much fun and really easy to configure.

If you are all in person together, this is a great way to jam. If you are trying to do this remotely over the internet, I think we need at least another 5 years for a smooth programs that would be accessible to the lay-person.