FL Studio Tip & Tricks - Page 7
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Tutorials Section Found or written an interesting tutorial recently? Share it here.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 18-10-2011, 09:09 AM   #121
autodial
autodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MC
autodial's Avatar
Philadelphia
Age: 29
Posts: 635
MC Status: 5916890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Here's something I just learned tonight: when using the stock Fruity EQs, be aware that any frequencies you supposedly "cut" are actually not cut as much as you would like to think; you may think that you cut all those frequencies under 30Hz, but surprisingly enough, some of those frequencies will still leak through regardless of you rolling them off. If you really want to cut those buggers out, you may need to clone the EQ (with the clone having the same exact EQ adjustments as the original) in the mixer channel.

I'm not sure if what I said is factual or not, but, I heard it from somewhere and gave it a try, and it really helped improve some of my more problematic mixes.

Advertisements

autodial is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 09:20 PM   #122
black.image
Learning The Ropes
black.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MC
black.image's Avatar
Alberta
Posts: 9
MC Status: 33052
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by autodial View Post
Here's something I just learned tonight: when using the stock Fruity EQs, be aware that any frequencies you supposedly "cut" are actually not cut as much as you would like to think; you may think that you cut all those frequencies under 30Hz, but surprisingly enough, some of those frequencies will still leak through regardless of you rolling them off. If you really want to cut those buggers out, you may need to clone the EQ (with the clone having the same exact EQ adjustments as the original) in the mixer channel.

I'm not sure if what I said is factual or not, but, I heard it from somewhere and gave it a try, and it really helped improve some of my more problematic mixes.
I've noticed this too, especially when you start making things CRAAAZZZYYYY... personally though, I don't clone the EQs anymore, best to just use notch/pass filters when that comes. This one time I had a bunch (3 or 4?) of EQs all pulled all the way down on that frequency and it still wouldn't cut the sound frequency off... I thought I was losing my mind

PS you probably already know this but you can add a filter to the fruity Param EQs by clicking and dragging those weird little diamond-y pictures above the up/down sliders

Last edited by black.image; 18-10-2011 at 09:30 PM..
black.image is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 09:32 PM   #123
autodial
autodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MC
autodial's Avatar
Philadelphia
Age: 29
Posts: 635
MC Status: 5916890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by black.image View Post
I've noticed this too, especially when you start making things CRAAAZZZYYYY... personally though, I don't clone the EQs anymore, best to just use notch/pass filters when that comes. This one time I had a bunch (3 or 4?) of EQs all pulled all the way down on that frequency and it still wouldn't cut the sound frequency off... I thought I was losing my mind

PS you probably already know this but you can add a filter to the fruity Param EQs by clicking and dragging those weird little pictures above the up/down sliders
Yeah, I agree, filters are definitely the route to go if you really want to cut those frequencies out... The only question I have is, if my EQ cuts were still leaking low-end frequencies regardless of me supposedly rolling them off, how reliable are the filters? Is one truly good enough, or will using 2 allow me to get more closer to the ideal frequency to cut? HM!
autodial is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 09:55 PM   #124
black.image
Learning The Ropes
black.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MC
black.image's Avatar
Alberta
Posts: 9
MC Status: 33052
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Well, if you look at the information bar thingy, rolling off is only -18db... it's a pretty decent amount, but if you turn down music you're listening to by 18db you're probably going to still be able to hear it. If you've really got your heart set on doing the double dip and you're using the PEQ2, you could always use the bar to the right to get some extra -db... though you have less room to peak things the farther down you go, but it will save some CPU. I guess the PEQ(1) it doesn't matter so much to have a bunch open
black.image is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 10:03 PM   #125
CS5n531
Minor Glitch
CS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MC
New York
Posts: 40
MC Status: 1652126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Might be an easy question to answer:

If I've got a basic drum pattern drawn up, and I have a folder full of drum samples, is there a way I can easily switch through my different drum samples to see which I feel fits the best? I always have to load up the sampler, click the folder icon, click through to find a new drum sample, and load it in place. Would love to know if I could just cycle through an entire folder.

------------------
hi, I'm CAKEbuilder.
www.youtube.com/CS5n531
CS5n531 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 10:09 PM   #126
autodial
autodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MC
autodial's Avatar
Philadelphia
Age: 29
Posts: 635
MC Status: 5916890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by black.image View Post
Well, if you look at the information bar thingy, rolling off is only -18db... it's a pretty decent amount, but if you turn down music you're listening to by 18db you're probably going to still be able to hear it. If you've really got your heart set on doing the double dip and you're using the PEQ2, you could always use the bar to the right to get some extra -db... though you have less room to peak things the farther down you go, but it will save some CPU. I guess the PEQ(1) it doesn't matter so much to have a bunch open
Good point, that does make a lot of sense... "Rolling off" -18Db is the same as turning something down by -18Db, which is still something fairly audible. But, it does seem like it's cutting those frequencies. Now I know that the EQ2 wasn't lying when it showed a lot of remaining low frequencies in the graphic analyzer.

I suppose that using 2 EQs with -18Db is roughly the same thing as lowering something by -36Db, which is roughly 6% on the FLStudio mixer (0% is the goal here). 3 EQs would surely cut all the frequencies, but it's probably a better idea (and easier) to just use a Fruity Free Filter.. or 2.
autodial is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 10:11 PM   #127
Thomssen
Analog Lurker
Thomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MCThomssen is a savage MC
Thomssen's Avatar
Posts: 92
MC Status: 439971
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by CS5n531 View Post
Might be an easy question to answer:

If I've got a basic drum pattern drawn up, and I have a folder full of drum samples, is there a way I can easily switch through my different drum samples to see which I feel fits the best? I always have to load up the sampler, click the folder icon, click through to find a new drum sample, and load it in place. Would love to know if I could just cycle through an entire folder.
I know that if you click the middle mousebutton on the specific drum sample, it hops into your sampler withouth opening it. Then you dont have to drag it in. Dont know if that helped you though.
Thomssen is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-10-2011, 10:38 PM   #128
black.image
Learning The Ropes
black.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MC
black.image's Avatar
Alberta
Posts: 9
MC Status: 33052
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by autodial View Post
3 EQs would surely cut all the frequencies, but it's probably a better idea (and easier) to just use a Fruity Free Filter.. or 2.
Like I said, your filters already in there, just change the diamondy shapes...
You can also do this by right clicking the numbered circle and hovering over "Type"...

Speaking of right clicking those numbers, if you mouse over "order" you can choose how hard or soft the tension affects that number. I use steep 8 a lot for very hard low pass or high pass cuts, very handy
black.image is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 12:19 AM   #129
autodial
autodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MCautodial is a savage MC
autodial's Avatar
Philadelphia
Age: 29
Posts: 635
MC Status: 5916890
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by black.image View Post
Like I said, your filters already in there, just change the diamondy shapes...
You can also do this by right clicking the numbered circle and hovering over "Type"...

Speaking of right clicking those numbers, if you mouse over "order" you can choose how hard or soft the tension affects that number. I use steep 8 a lot for very hard low pass or high pass cuts, very handy
Oh wow I completely forgot about that! I knew they were there, but I think I forgot that they were because I actually never used them, to be honest.. For some reason I always stick with the basic low-shelf, peaking, and high-shelf types (though I do use the preset "Remove 20Hz + 16Khz" preset from the EQ1 to help cut any unnecessary frequencies). But, I think now I'm definitely going to start using the EQ2's built-in filters, as opposed to my typical approach, which usually consists of taking the high-shelf, cutting -18Db, and then tightening the bandwidth so it's a really tight, solid cut. That approach worked for me but I think the filters will do the job much better. So thank you for reminding me, and also helping me learn!

This is what the EQ2 looks like on my sub-bass (from the demo track vid I posted earlier in this thread):
Very simple stuff, I know... I usually give the high-shelf a tight cut (usually around 50%), but in this particular case I let it gradually roll off because it allowed the bass to fill more presence in the track (with a tight bandwidth on the high-shelf, it didn't seem as 'full' as I wanted it to; instead, it just sounded shallow, weak, wimpy, etc).
autodial is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 03:09 AM   #130
reds91
Soundwave Mangler
reds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MCreds91 is a savage MC
Posts: 161
MC Status: 535371
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by autodial View Post
Oh wow I completely forgot about that! I knew they were there, but I think I forgot that they were because I actually never used them, to be honest.. For some reason I always stick with the basic low-shelf, peaking, and high-shelf types (though I do use the preset "Remove 20Hz + 16Khz" preset from the EQ1 to help cut any unnecessary frequencies). But, I think now I'm definitely going to start using the EQ2's built-in filters, as opposed to my typical approach, which usually consists of taking the high-shelf, cutting -18Db, and then tightening the bandwidth so it's a really tight, solid cut. That approach worked for me but I think the filters will do the job much better. So thank you for reminding me, and also helping me learn!

This is what the EQ2 looks like on my sub-bass (from the demo track vid I posted earlier in this thread):
Very simple stuff, I know... I usually give the high-shelf a tight cut (usually around 50%), but in this particular case I let it gradually roll off because it allowed the bass to fill more presence in the track (with a tight bandwidth on the high-shelf, it didn't seem as 'full' as I wanted it to; instead, it just sounded shallow, weak, wimpy, etc).
Not sure if you know this or not but if you're using a pure sine wave as your sub bass then you dont need to EQ it at all.
reds91 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 04:25 AM   #131
black.image
Learning The Ropes
black.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MC
black.image's Avatar
Alberta
Posts: 9
MC Status: 33052
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by autodial View Post
Oh wow I completely forgot about that! I knew they were there, but I think I forgot that they were because I actually never used them, to be honest.. For some reason I always stick with the basic low-shelf, peaking, and high-shelf types (though I do use the preset "Remove 20Hz + 16Khz" preset from the EQ1 to help cut any unnecessary frequencies). But, I think now I'm definitely going to start using the EQ2's built-in filters, as opposed to my typical approach, which usually consists of taking the high-shelf, cutting -18Db, and then tightening the bandwidth so it's a really tight, solid cut. That approach worked for me but I think the filters will do the job much .
Haha that's cool- after all these years I've never even looked at EQ presets! That's a handy one too.
I couldn't find that song for some reason?

BTW, I checked your profile to try and find the video- happy birthday! Funny co-incidence, you've got the same birthday as the girl I'm currently infatuated with, just got home from buying her a gift... /random offtopic

Something neat, but mind-bogglingly annoying to do too frequently, but especially handy on something like a bass when it plays in different ranges is to have it send through a second FX channel, run your sound through a BP filter that only allows what frequencies you want effected through, and then put a muted peak controller on that so only when it hits that frequency range will the sound effected.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CS5n531 View Post
Might be an easy question to answer:

If I've got a basic drum pattern drawn up, and I have a folder full of drum samples, is there a way I can easily switch through my different drum samples to see which I feel fits the best? I always have to load up the sampler, click the folder icon, click through to find a new drum sample, and load it in place. Would love to know if I could just cycle through an entire folder.
Eh? Go Options > File Settings, then put your samples folder into that list... then hit F8 and your folder should be on that list... open it, and you can load your samples into the selected channel with <enter>. Cycle through the folder by going <down> <enter> ad nauseum.
black.image is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 11:01 PM   #132
Son of Akira
IDMf Artist
Son of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MC
Son of Akira's Avatar
over yonder, behind them old railroad tracks
Posts: 1,316
MC Status: 47684970
Thanks: 318
Thanked 363 Times in 259 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by reds91 View Post
Not sure if you know this or not but if you're using a pure sine wave as your sub bass then you dont need to EQ it at all.
Depending on what synth you use and what kind of attack there will be a subtle percussive hit at the beginning that you might want to EQ out.

------------------
Son of Akira is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 11:14 PM   #133
Son of Akira
IDMf Artist
Son of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MCSon of Akira is a savage MC
Son of Akira's Avatar
over yonder, behind them old railroad tracks
Posts: 1,316
MC Status: 47684970
Thanks: 318
Thanked 363 Times in 259 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Autodial, I think everything is sorted out?

------------------
Son of Akira is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-10-2011, 11:47 PM   #134
CS5n531
Minor Glitch
CS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MCCS5n531 is a savage MC
New York
Posts: 40
MC Status: 1652126
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by black.image View Post
Eh? Go Options > File Settings, then put your samples folder into that list... then hit F8 and your folder should be on that list... open it, and you can load your samples into the selected channel with <enter>. Cycle through the folder by going <down> <enter> ad nauseum.
It's been years and I've never set up any means of file settings in FL. This helps the process of sample hunting a million times easier, thanks so much.

------------------
hi, I'm CAKEbuilder.
www.youtube.com/CS5n531
CS5n531 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2011, 12:30 AM   #135
black.image
Learning The Ropes
black.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MCblack.image is a savage MC
black.image's Avatar
Alberta
Posts: 9
MC Status: 33052
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Quote:
Originally Posted by CS5n531 View Post
It's been years and I've never set up any means of file settings in FL. This helps the process of sample hunting a million times easier, thanks so much.
No worries glad to help!

It sounds lame but it's really worth it to read through the manual; even (sometimes especially) windows you already understand... there are sooo many crazy features in FL that would be impossible to learn on your own. Play with stuff as you read it so you don't forget, and for arcane stuff like shortcuts that might be handy to remember, write them in the back of your "knob settings" notebook, if you have one (and you should definitely invest in one if you use controllers!)
black.image is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 03:54 PM   #136
SimonMacIntyre
Analog Lurker
SimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MCSimonMacIntyre is a savage MC
Halifax
Posts: 85
MC Status: 779035
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

"TIP 1: Split By Channel
Once you have created a pattern in the step sequencer with a few different instrument channels (ie: kick, snare, hats, etc), goto the PLAYLIST, right-click the pattern, select SPLIT BY CHANNEL, and hey presto! Each instrument is placed into its own pattern and renamed accordingly."

Wow. You just changed my life.

------------------
SimonMacIntyre is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 07:18 PM   #137
XavierC
Minor Glitch
XavierC is currently spamming hard
Manchester
Posts: 30
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

sticky?
XavierC is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2012, 08:47 PM   #138
najtrows
Radial Developer
najtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MCnajtrows is a savage MC
najtrows's Avatar
Mariestad, Sweden
Age: 28
Posts: 153
MC Status: 80913
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

Thanks! AWESOME!

------------------
3xosc and ALOT of distortion.. mmmm..

najtrows is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2012, 10:00 PM   #139
ghxst
Learning The Ropes
ghxst is currently spamming hard
ghxst's Avatar
Posts: 9
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

whats the easiest way to recreate this hihat pattern in flstudio

ghxst is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 07:40 PM   #140
essenthy
essenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MCessenthy is a savage MC
essenthy's Avatar
Tokyo-3
Posts: 1,635
MC Status: 19518492
Thanks: 13
Thanked 53 Times in 47 Posts
Re: FL Studio Tip & Tricks

load your samples on FPC and use piano roll ( set snap to 1/4 or 1/6 ) , step sequencer is useless

Advertisements


------------------
essenthy is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Minimal] Sin Tricks - World deadmau7 Listening Booth 9 15-06-2013 02:27 PM
N.I FM8 - Tips & Tricks Kind Dub Modular software & programming 7 23-02-2012 05:24 PM
Vocal tricks'n'tips Devy The Studio 8 16-11-2011 09:05 PM
Breakbeat Tips 'n Tricks? fimpson Music Theory & Composition 3 22-10-2011 08:05 AM
FL Studio Tutorial: How to create computerized vocals in FL Studio petez Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 0 25-09-2011 03:21 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:59 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.