What software / hardware...
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Ambient / Downtempo Discussion of music similar to Brian Eno, Sigur Rós, FSOL, The Orb, Biosphere.

Old 19-04-2012, 01:25 PM   #1
gobes
Learning The Ropes
gobes is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
Icon5 What software / hardware...

Hi all,

For an absolute beginner - what software and hardware would be recommended for ambient, down tempo minimalist music production? I've been recommended AKAI midi keyboards, and either Reason or Logic Pro.

On the Logic Pro vs Reason front... they they both offer a similar level of functionality, or is one geared towards a different approach?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Advertisements

gobes is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Currently Listening To: Tycho, BOC, Gary Numan, Stelladrone...
Old 19-04-2012, 02:20 PM   #2
lebeux
IDMf Artist
lebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MC
Madrid
MC Status: 59128426
Re: What software / hardware...

I wouldn't recommend Reason. Not that it's bad but it won't teach you much about using other apps...its very different from anything else
Def go with Logic if you're a macfag
lebeux is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 02:23 PM   #3
Empty Reach
Empty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MCEmpty Reach is a savage MC
MC Status: 297154648

You know you could have kept all this in one thread

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
Empty Reach is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-04-2012, 03:34 PM   #4
lebeux
IDMf Artist