intro - also seeking advice on idea of live mixing stems on a dig 8-track
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Hardware and Gear Hardware, gear, equipment; Whatever you call it, talk about tangible, physical music-making stuff here. Synths, Modular, drum machines, controllers etc all goes here.

Old 31-05-2018, 07:18 PM   #1
thegrelin
IDMf's latest spammer
thegrelin is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
intro - also seeking advice on idea of live mixing stems on a dig 8-track

hallo, I'm a producer from seattle. put stuff out on the regular places as releks

have been in love with a lot of jamaican dancehall and reggae sounds for a long time, as well as the post aphex twin era of experimental album making, and still have a place in my heart for the moments where i enjoy a house track. I do love to dance, so i have also gotten into some dubstep and other formats at festivals. just saw crenshaw barclay at a festival and about lost my mind. sweet projects and vibes.

I'm coming here though with a question. looking for help with anyone who might know the differences between some digital 8-tracks that are knocking around for pretty cheap these days. thinking i might want to silplify what i do live and allow for more mental space to pick up a guitar or dub stuff out, than trigger everything, and that led me to the idea of kicking out stems and importing them to a digital 8-track.

so i picked up a used tascam DP 008EX for $129, and i like the size a lot but the file import from the SD card might be a tad slow and tedious. I was planning on not having anything recorded to the 8-track, just spit out a bunch of stems for each song.