Kick Drum Help
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 18-07-2013, 02:13 PM   #1
Rdenman92
Analog Lurker
Rdenman92 will become famous soon enough
Boston
MC Status: 60
Kick Drum Help

Hey Guys,

So i have a layered kick. One that is more punchy electro house that i have cut the high end out of and then my other kick has a nice high end that i like so i cut the low end and mixed together pretty well. I was just wondering any good tips for making the kick stand out more in the mix. I'm a beginner so any help i would really appreciate!

Thanks!

Advertisements

------------------
Rdenman92 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 02:19 PM   #2
Evelon
IDMf Artist
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
MC Status: 214390148
Thanked 2,834 Times in 1,766 Posts
Re: Kick Drum Help

Stand out more? Lower everything else, and filter out stuff in everything else that isn't needed in the low-end.
EQ (boost 50-100-ish, cut 400-ish, boost 3-5ish kHz, etc). Side-chain compression on ther overlapping sounds.
etc

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-07-2013, 10:39 PM   #3
DCA
Sample Destroyer
DCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond reputeDCA has a reputation beyond repute
MC Status: 2110

gain structuring is critical