Can somebody please point me in the right direction for learning how to write IDM?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 14-09-2017, 06:24 PM   #1
saladface
IDMf's latest spammer
saladface is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
Icon14 Can somebody please point me in the right direction for learning how to write IDM?

Sorry for Wall of Text!

Some brief background on me: I'm a really small fish composer for film, web content, and advertising. Most of the stuff I write is with digitally sampled instruments: a mix of orchestral, basic digital synths (typically Omnisphere, 8Dio, or Sonic Couture patches), world percussion, etc. Your typical Hans Zimmer, James Newton Howard, Thomas Newman, Steve Jablonsky sound. Orchestral but with light electronic flavors. I compose in Logic, and I'm good enough with the digital side of things to make very realistic sounding demos with some basic production technique (basic bussing and Altiverb with basic EQ and mastering, usually just slightly adjusting presets) and good use of a wide range of sample libraries. For my work I've produced great digital mockups for orchestral music, big band jazz, world music from various countries, indie pop, folk music, basic electronic film scoreish music, etc. But when it comes to recording techniques, hardware, studio engineering, and real electronic music production, I am really inexperienced, and I'm very insecure about it.