VST to Chop Chords?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Music Theory & Composition Questions & comments about composition, arrangement, and music theory. Music rules and how to follow or break them.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 14-10-2017, 10:14 AM   #1
heydavid714
IDMf's latest spammer
heydavid714 is currently spamming hard
Posts: 6
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
VST to Chop Chords?

Hey All, I'm wondering: is there a VST or tool that people use to chop chords to try and get different rhythms?

For example, say I have a chord progression. I wonder what's an easy way to experiment with different chord chops and rhythms.

FL Studio has chopper patterns but they're limited.

Advertisements

heydavid714 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 10:51 AM   #2
joem
Savage Mad Cunt
joem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MC
Posts: 1,915
MC Status: 20560
Thanks: 2
Thanked 411 Times in 357 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

slicex
joem is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 10:59 AM   #3
Vault O)))
Buttcase
Vault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MC
Vault O)))'s Avatar
St. Augustine
Age: 28
Posts: 1,474
MC Status: 54510
Thanks: 1,376
Thanked 1,090 Times in 715 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

Resampling should get you there, if I understand the question correctly. Record the audio and import it into a native sampler / slicer and you're all set.

------------------
Vault O))) is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Vault O)))
chasedobson (14-10-2017)
Old 14-10-2017, 02:17 PM   #4
relic
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 17,842
MC Status: 8562380
Thanks: 11,248
Thanked 7,429 Times in 5,251 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

Back in my day when we only had the unlimited power of standard daw tools we just chopped audio on the time line.

But in all seriousness any simple slice function should get the job done.

Last edited by relic; 14-10-2017 at 04:23 PM..

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 06:42 PM   #5
aeoR
Savage Mad Cunt
aeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MC
Posts: 1,767
MC Status: 13021026
Thanks: 220
Thanked 256 Times in 199 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

you can do like others said, using a sampler of any kind and slicing your audio clip

or if you want to retain midi so that you can change the sound and only use the chords in a more convenient and easy way, personally I use Cthulu from Xfer (steve duda) you can program your own midi files with chords etc or get chords ideas from the presets include or even download from the internet
aeoR is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to aeoR
Lichtgestalth (16-10-2017)
Old 16-10-2017, 12:06 AM   #6
Daggit
Master of the LFO
Daggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond repute
Daggit's Avatar
"Let beauty loose!" --Nitzer Ebb
Posts: 469
MC Status: 8760
Thanks: 546
Thanked 175 Times in 134 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

I'm with relic on the timeline.
load into the grid, split, move.

------------------
{novel, fresh, different, recent, modern, unexampled}
Daggit is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 06:37 PM   #7
Lichtgestalth
Regular Freak
Lichtgestalth will become famous soon enoughLichtgestalth will become famous soon enough
Shanghai
Posts: 12
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeoR View Post
personally I use Cthulu from Xfer

+1 Cthulhu is great for that.

If you use Ableton, there is the Schwarzonator (Max for Live Pack).

You can also use the Scale and Chord Midi effects combined in Ableton (automated if you progress between several "incompatible" chords).
Lichtgestalth is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:12 AM   #8
Cirush
IDMf's latest spammer
Cirush will become famous soon enough
Posts: 4
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

I think if you atomate the volume with square waves is like chopping, or for example LFOTool

Enviado desde mi Redmi Note 3 mediante Tapatalk
Cirush is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:40 PM   #9
tristcarmichael
Analog Lurker
tristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of light
tristcarmichael's Avatar
Cape Town
Posts: 82
MC Status: 460
Thanks: 20
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

I use Glitch2. Pretty useful when trying to create some weird stuff on the audio.

Advertisements

tristcarmichael is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.