Performance microphone through DAW?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Hardware and Gear Hardware, gear, equipment; Whatever you call it, talk about tangible, physical music-making stuff here. Synths, Modular, drum machines, controllers etc all goes here.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2017, 07:03 AM   #1
Harko City
Minor Glitch
Harko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really nice
Harko City's Avatar
Indiana
Posts: 40
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Performance microphone through DAW?

I like the vocal effects I have in my DAW and would like to use them in real-time (no latency) while my music is playing. Is that possible?
Also to further complicate things, I only have one 1/8 quarter jack that acts as an input or output. So either input or output will have to go through USB. A plus would be a midi controller that I can turn on and off the effects I am using, preferably on the microphone itself.

Advertisements

Harko City is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 07:41 AM   #2
Dr. Sleaze
IDMf Artist
Dr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond repute
Dr. Sleaze's Avatar
I'm not who or where you think I am.
Posts: 305
MC Status: 9110
Thanks: 90
Thanked 182 Times in 131 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Fairly cheap and easy. You will need to get yourself a mic obviously, and I know everyone going to slag this off cos it's a solution using something made by Behringer, but it should work.
Dr. Sleaze is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Dr. Sleaze
Harko City (05-11-2017)
Old 05-11-2017, 04:01 PM   #3
Harko City
Minor Glitch
Harko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really nice
Harko City's Avatar
Indiana
Posts: 40
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Thanks for the video. It shows.me latency is still a problem I will face if I try to use my computer effects on my vocals.in a live setting. This is an interesting technique that I still may incorporate to play live but it shows me I will need the effects to be hardware.
Harko City is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 10:36 PM   #4
tristcarmichael
Analog Lurker
tristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of lighttristcarmichael is a glorious beacon of light
tristcarmichael's Avatar
Cape Town
Posts: 91
MC Status: 460
Thanks: 21
Thanked 9 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harko City View Post
Thanks for the video. It shows.me latency is still a problem I will face if I try to use my computer effects on my vocals.in a live setting. This is an interesting technique that I still may incorporate to play live but it shows me I will need the effects to be hardware.
Singing Live vocals at 128 buffer rate is not that bad though. I found percussion and samples for drums I should try push to 64 buffer sample. What DAW are you using though?


tristcarmichael is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 12:31 AM   #5
Harko City
Minor Glitch
Harko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really nice
Harko City's Avatar
Indiana
Posts: 40
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

FL Studio is what I use. It's been a long time since I have tried to record directly into FL Studio and maybe the latency isn't as bad as it once was. I am wanting to use it for performance, so it is important that it sounds good as it comes together.
Harko City is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 06:56 PM   #6
Harko City
Minor Glitch
Harko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really nice
Harko City's Avatar
Indiana
Posts: 40
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

I've heard using the behringer mixers cause a.low electronic hum. Will the ground lift in a behringer ma400 fix that issue?
Harko City is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 08:48 PM   #7
Dr. Sleaze
IDMf Artist
Dr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond repute
Dr. Sleaze's Avatar
I'm not who or where you think I am.
Posts: 305
MC Status: 9110
Thanks: 90
Thanked 182 Times in 131 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harko City View Post
I've heard using the behringer mixers cause a.low electronic hum. Will the ground lift in a behringer ma400 fix that issue?
Never had that problem with mine, so I can't give you an answer on that.
Dr. Sleaze is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 11:47 PM   #8
Harko City
Minor Glitch
Harko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really nice
Harko City's Avatar
Indiana
Posts: 40
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

It's supposedly if you have it up really loud in a live situation
Harko City is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2017, 05:51 AM   #9
envelope3
IDMf Supporter
envelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MC
ottawa
Posts: 380
MC Status: 10610
Thanks: 125
Thanked 212 Times in 135 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Sleaze View Post
Never had that problem with mine, so I can't give you an answer on that.
If you are getting that hum it is a ground loop. You want to make sure that your entire system is plugged into the same circuit. If it is, you shouldn't have that problem.
envelope3 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to envelope3
Dr. Sleaze (13-11-2017)
Old 13-11-2017, 05:52 AM   #10
envelope3
IDMf Supporter
envelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MCenvelope3 is a savage MC
ottawa
Posts: 380
MC Status: 10610
Thanks: 125
Thanked 212 Times in 135 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harko City View Post
I like the vocal effects I have in my DAW and would like to use them in real-time (no latency) while my music is playing. Is that possible?
Also to further complicate things, I only have one 1/8 quarter jack that acts as an input or output. So either input or output will have to go through USB. A plus would be a midi controller that I can turn on and off the effects I am using, preferably on the microphone itself.
What kind of effects are essential in real time? Just thinking maybe you can solve this with a little outboard gear then further manipulate your vocal once you have it recorded in the DAW.
envelope3 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2017, 08:25 AM   #11
Dr. Sleaze
IDMf Artist
Dr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond reputeDr. Sleaze has a reputation beyond repute
Dr. Sleaze's Avatar
I'm not who or where you think I am.
Posts: 305
MC Status: 9110
Thanks: 90
Thanked 182 Times in 131 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

Quote:
Originally Posted by envelope3 View Post
What kind of effects are essential in real time? Just thinking maybe you can solve this with a little outboard gear then further manipulate your vocal once you have it recorded in the DAW.
He wants to use it live too, though. But I'm sure there's a work round, but I'm not a DAW person.
Dr. Sleaze is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2017, 02:11 AM   #12
Harko City
Minor Glitch
Harko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really niceHarko City is just really nice
Harko City's Avatar
Indiana
Posts: 40
MC Status: 410
Thanks: 5
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Performance microphone through DAW?

The hum comes from the usb cable, or more specifically the laptop monitor. I have found a video to remedy this by balancing the cable and running it through a usb hub. The latency isn't too bad I think, it's kind of hard to tell, I might have to record a session with my field recorder just to make sure.[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

Here's a link to the solution. It's mainly for me to find this video easily when it's time to make the purchase.

Advertisements

Harko City is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone used DAW from Microsoft Windows Store? st3aLth Workstation Center 7 04-09-2017 05:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.