VST to Chop Chords?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Music Theory & Composition Questions & comments about composition, arrangement, and music theory. Music rules and how to follow or break them.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 14-10-2017, 09:14 AM   #1
heydavid714
IDMf's latest spammer
heydavid714 is currently spamming hard
Posts: 6
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
VST to Chop Chords?

Hey All, I'm wondering: is there a VST or tool that people use to chop chords to try and get different rhythms?

For example, say I have a chord progression. I wonder what's an easy way to experiment with different chord chops and rhythms.

FL Studio has chopper patterns but they're limited.

Advertisements

heydavid714 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 09:51 AM   #2
joem
Savage Mad Cunt
joem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MC
Posts: 1,865
MC Status: 19760
Thanks: 2
Thanked 395 Times in 343 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

slicex
joem is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 09:59 AM   #3
Vault O)))
Savage Mad Cunt
Vault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MC
Vault O)))'s Avatar
Posts: 1,114
MC Status: 39960
Thanks: 1,013
Thanked 799 Times in 522 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

Resampling should get you there, if I understand the question correctly. Record the audio and import it into a native sampler / slicer and you're all set.

------------------
Vault O))) is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Vault O)))
chasedobson (14-10-2017)
Old 14-10-2017, 01:17 PM   #4
relic
IDMf SupporterModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 17,103
MC Status: 8538680
Thanks: 10,579
Thanked 6,955 Times in 4,948 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

Back in my day when we only had the unlimited power of standard daw tools we just chopped audio on the time line.

But in all seriousness any simple slice function should get the job done.

Last edited by relic; 14-10-2017 at 03:23 PM..

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2017, 05:42 PM   #5
aeoR
Savage Mad Cunt
aeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MC
Posts: 1,757
MC Status: 13020926
Thanks: 219
Thanked 254 Times in 198 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

you can do like others said, using a sampler of any kind and slicing your audio clip

or if you want to retain midi so that you can change the sound and only use the chords in a more convenient and easy way, personally I use Cthulu from Xfer (steve duda) you can program your own midi files with chords etc or get chords ideas from the presets include or even download from the internet
aeoR is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to aeoR
Lichtgestalth (16-10-2017)
Old 15-10-2017, 11:06 PM   #6
Daggit
Master of the LFO
Daggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond reputeDaggit has a reputation beyond repute
Daggit's Avatar
"Let beauty loose!" --Nitzer Ebb
Posts: 469
MC Status: 8560
Thanks: 546
Thanked 171 Times in 132 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

I'm with relic on the timeline.
load into the grid, split, move.

------------------
{novel, fresh, different, recent, modern, unexampled}
Daggit is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2017, 05:37 PM   #7
Lichtgestalth
IDMf's latest spammer
Lichtgestalth will become famous soon enough
Shanghai
Posts: 8
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeoR View Post
personally I use Cthulu from Xfer

+1 Cthulhu is great for that.

If you use Ableton, there is the Schwarzonator (Max for Live Pack).

You can also use the Scale and Chord Midi effects combined in Ableton (automated if you progress between several "incompatible" chords).
Lichtgestalth is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:12 AM   #8
Cirush
IDMf's latest spammer
Cirush will become famous soon enough
Posts: 4
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

I think if you atomate the volume with square waves is like chopping, or for example LFOTool

Enviado desde mi Redmi Note 3 mediante Tapatalk
Cirush is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:40 PM   #9
tristcarmichael
Granular Poster
tristcarmichael is just really nicetristcarmichael is just really nicetristcarmichael is just really nicetristcarmichael is just really nice
tristcarmichael's Avatar
Cape Town
Posts: 56
MC Status: 360
Thanks: 17
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Re: VST to Chop Chords?

I use Glitch2. Pretty useful when trying to create some weird stuff on the audio.

Advertisements

tristcarmichael is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.