Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Workstation Center Digital audio workstations (DAW), trackers, sequencers and programming.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2011, 11:56 PM   #1
ztel
Master of the LFO
ztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MC
ztel's Avatar
Banff, Alberta
Age: 31
Posts: 389
MC Status: 2557871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

I'm looking at two laptops and trying to decide which one is going to work better for Ableton Live 8.

The quad-core is an AMD A6-3400M @ 1.4Ghz and the dual-core is an Intel Corei3 @ 2.1Ghz.

Can anyone give me any advice based on these specs?

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]



Thanks a million.


P.S. I'm not rich so please don't tell me how great macs are.

Advertisements


------------------
ztel is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:00 AM   #2
ztel
Master of the LFO
ztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MC
ztel's Avatar
Banff, Alberta
Age: 31
Posts: 389
MC Status: 2557871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Also, any biases for Lenovo vs Asus in general?

------------------
ztel is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:19 AM   #3
Fox
Fox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MC
Fox's Avatar
Brussels
Posts: 1,240
MC Status: 24820658
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

i'd probalby get the amd with the quad core

------------------
Fox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:41 AM   #4
aeoR
Savage Mad Cunt
aeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MCaeoR is a savage MC
Posts: 1,767
MC Status: 13021026
Thanks: 220
Thanked 256 Times in 199 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

The quad.
aeoR is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 12:46 AM   #5
ztel
Master of the LFO
ztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MC
ztel's Avatar
Banff, Alberta
Age: 31
Posts: 389
MC Status: 2557871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Cool. I'm leaning that way for sure as I do more reading.

------------------
ztel is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 01:03 AM   #6
Fox
Fox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MC
Fox's Avatar
Brussels
Posts: 1,240
MC Status: 24820658
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

also [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


useful when comparing cpu's.
Not always 100% spot on since it's pure speed test, as in mathematical and not application specific, but still valuable info

------------------
Fox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:38 AM   #7
FatPucker
Savage Mad Cunt
FatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MCFatPucker is a savage MC
FatPucker's Avatar
California
Age: 33
Posts: 1,189
MC Status: 18707383
Thanks: 74
Thanked 48 Times in 46 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Go with the quad.

------------------
FatPucker is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 07:39 AM   #8
Marbledecker
Analog Lurker
Marbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MCMarbledecker is a savage MC
Marbledecker's Avatar
Tampa
Posts: 73
MC Status: 2590471
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

I just got a laptop with that exact processor (the AMD) and I am very pleased w/the purchase.

------------------
Aikotoba wa Afuro to Gunsou

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghytwembpang View Post
i usually approach making music by grabbing something that makes noise, and making noise with it. The details are sorted out with an abundance of chaos.
Marbledecker is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 10:25 AM   #9
jimmusician
Deep Underground
jimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond repute
jimmusician's Avatar
Posts: 772
MC Status: 8798
Thanks: 53
Thanked 71 Times in 61 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

So I don't get it....a quad-core thats at a pretty fixed speed at 1.4 gigs, and from what I understand of the "i" processors, a dual core 2.1 that you can overclock to who knows how fast? What would the quad have over the Dual?

For gaming (not extreme, lets make the benchmark say.....GTA IV), which one would fare better????
jimmusician is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 10:30 AM   #10
Fox
Fox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MC
Fox's Avatar
Brussels
Posts: 1,240
MC Status: 24820658
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

quad

but for gaming if you don't have a decent GPU then it won't really matter which of these CPU's you pick

------------------
Fox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 10:39 AM   #11
jimmusician
Deep Underground
jimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond repute
jimmusician's Avatar
Posts: 772
MC Status: 8798
Thanks: 53
Thanked 71 Times in 61 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

so the I series overclocking features of the processors would make no difference?

edit: looking mostly at i5, maybe i7
jimmusician is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2011, 12:57 PM   #12
Fox
Fox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MC
Fox's Avatar
Brussels
Posts: 1,240
MC Status: 24820658
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

i don't know about the OC capabilities, I don't OC myself, just don't like seeing the temperature rise like that.
And sure Intel cpu's can pretty much always OC more than AMD, but in a laptop you'll probably feel the heat difference even more than within a desktop.

Anw how many GHZ do you expect to gain really?

------------------
Fox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2011, 08:25 AM   #13
jimmusician
Deep Underground
jimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond repute
jimmusician's Avatar
Posts: 772
MC Status: 8798
Thanks: 53
Thanked 71 Times in 61 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fox View Post
i don't know about the OC capabilities, I don't OC myself, just don't like seeing the temperature rise like that.
And sure Intel cpu's can pretty much always OC more than AMD, but in a laptop you'll probably feel the heat difference even more than within a desktop.

Anw how many GHZ do you expect to gain really?
People are able to clock up to almost a gig above their average processing power. To me......you can prettymuch use as many gigs as you can get.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to start up argument, but I hear a dozen different stories across the web about which processors are good, etc. In a lot of cases I hear that the dual core Intel I's these days outperform AMD quads. Do I know? **** no, I haven't gotten a new laptop since 06! I DO know this tho.

The Toshiba Satellite I've been using has been pretty reliable, I'll give it that. But I can't play a ****ing decent game made past 2003!!!! I play Postal 2, which prettymuch makes the system wheeze a bit (although keeping a steady pace). Otherwise, no Left4Dead, Sims 2, Half-life 2 (forget it on this piece), etc. GTA IV is the benchmark tho for me.

DAW wise I'm using FL studio, which anybody on here knows......it can run decent on just about any system. Yet anyone I'm straightforward with on "I'm planning on doing some light video work, writing my own material, doing some light gaming" immediately goes onto talking about ridiculous specs for what I'd need, or bullshits themselves out of needing to give an answer with the ****ing "get a macbook, they're so amazing" line. Its cliche already.

So can anyone give me an example of what decent mainstream specs are for a machine that will do the criteria I've mentioned? ("I'm planning on doing some light video work, writing my own material, doing some light gaming")

Last edited by jimmusician; 18-11-2011 at 08:28 AM..
jimmusician is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2011, 07:24 AM   #14
ztel
Master of the LFO
ztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MCztel is a savage MC
ztel's Avatar
Banff, Alberta
Age: 31
Posts: 389
MC Status: 2557871
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

I ended up buying the AMD quad. 1.4Ghz, 6Gb RAM. I runs my old ableton sessions beautifully but I haven't pushed it yet. I've been playing Assassins Creed II on here and it works like a charm, with all the game's graphics settings on max. Haven't done any video editing so I can't tell you anything about that.

------------------
ztel is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 06:15 AM   #15
MichaelKleyn
Regular Freak
MichaelKleyn is currently spamming hard
San Francisco
Posts: 12
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Go for the quad core. You always want more processing power. It's the simple equation of take 4 from the quad and multiply it with 1.4; so 5.6 Ghz(quad) compared to 4.2Ghz(dual)...I'll let you decide

Edit: Sorry, didn't read that it was between AMD and Intel, however I still say go for the AMD processor. As the i3 line isn't that great. One computer I built couple years ago I had to decide between a quad core AMD or an i3, however this was for a desktop. AMD turned out to be the right choice. In a laptop this would be even more vital, so I still say go for the AMD. However, if you can get your hands on a i5 or and i7 go for that instead.

Last edited by MichaelKleyn; 22-11-2011 at 06:21 AM..
MichaelKleyn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 10:13 AM   #16
Voyac
Soundwave Mangler
Voyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MC
Voyac's Avatar
Gdynia
Posts: 180
MC Status: 3587899
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Id go for dual here.
You NEVER (!!!) should add frequencies or multiply because of more cores. It depends only on app that is using or not different cores. For now most of apps are not written to work perfectly with 4,6,8 cores. The only advantage is when you load TONS of programs and system will manage them.
That means if you get 4x1.4 GHz you'd propably wont get 5.6 GHz. For most of your work you will still be having only 1.4 GHz...

Let me example that for you:
You have four cars running on one street with 140mph. Do they togheter runs 560 mph? HELL NO. Still they can toghether can take 4 times more passangers..


PS.
Clock frequency is not the only param that matters when you need to choose CPU.

Last edited by Voyac; 22-11-2011 at 10:18 AM..
Voyac is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 11:09 AM   #17
Fox
Fox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MC
Fox's Avatar
Brussels
Posts: 1,240
MC Status: 24820658
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

man, we're in 2011, almost in 2012.
Most games now use your QUAD core, unless you play pacman (even 3D pacman)

------------------
Fox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 11:19 AM   #18
Voyac
Soundwave Mangler
Voyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MC
Voyac's Avatar
Gdynia
Posts: 180
MC Status: 3587899
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Man we are in 2012. Who the fuck need 1.4 GHz per core?
If you are so modern why r u not aware of computer architecture then? Because you obviously repeats some crap that does not matters, just found over internet.

And you are not right. Only some new ones can get use of 4 cores. But i doubt this 4x 1.4 GHz could run BF3. Cause normal phenom x4 or x6 has twice faster clock, even more times cache and i suppose wider data bus...
Voyac is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 01:23 PM   #19
Fox
Fox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MCFox is a savage MC
Fox's Avatar
Brussels
Posts: 1,240
MC Status: 24820658
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

stay cool, I'm not saying this in an angry way.
And tbh I'm not copy/pasting stuff I find on the internet, I'm not really a noob when it comes to IT but it's your right to disagree.
Sure the pacman bit was slightly exagerated but I thought u'd figure that.


imo none of these CPU's are made to run a game like BF3, whether you take the quad or the dual will probably not make any difference. So that's really not what I was even debating, I was more talking about general power.
Besides that, if you have an app today that supports multitasking then it will use the multitasking capabilities for dual core cpu's but also for quads etc.. , so I honestly don't see why one would go for the dual, even if it has more raw GHZ.

anyway this is just my view, obviously not everybody thinks the same, I respect that.

------------------
Fox is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-2011, 03:53 PM   #20
Voyac
Soundwave Mangler
Voyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MCVoyac is a savage MC
Voyac's Avatar
Gdynia
Posts: 180
MC Status: 3587899
Thanks: 1
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Quad-Core 1.4Ghz vs Dual-Core 2.1Ghz ?

Sorry if i sounded rude. That was not my intention.

Better to have 4*2.1 GHz per core and its obvious. In this situation 1.4 per core is not enough. If one core gets too much to do it will be slowing everything else down. This is good CPU for buisness not for music, cause you need to load and process long streams of data.

Advertisements

Voyac is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.