How to search resource ?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Music Theory & Composition Questions & comments about composition, arrangement, and music theory. Music rules and how to follow or break them.

Old 31-07-2017, 09:14 PM   #1
qantuum
Minor Glitch
qantuum has a spectacular aura aboutqantuum has a spectacular aura about
MC Status: 160
How to search resource ?

Hi,

As I stated in my introductory post, I am a total beginner in the field of music production and did not even take music theory classes.

This means that, before learning how to create super cool instruments and add awesome SFX, I need to learn how to structure a piece of melody or of beat, as well as how to analyze musics.

My main motivation for learning music production on DAW, is to reproduce my favourite songs...
Then I can learn how a specific style is structured, produce a voiceless version for singing karaoke, or practice the gender-bending of a song (for example metal to house, pop song to chiptune, and whatnot).

High goals and high ambition.... And it's a pain to see how much of a noob I am... I arrived at the point where I'd love to skip the learning part haha... But yeah let's be serious.

So let's say I want to copy the guts of my song.
First I try to find a provided instrument sample that sounds a bit the same (40 or 50% match is acceptable);
Then I begin to place the notes; which is not so hard because I can recognize by ear if a note height is right or wrong (chords not included though)
Then I struggle (a lot) with note lengh, until the melody sounds right;
then I wonder about the tempo, is it the right tempo I have ? And is it a 4/4 or a 3/2 that I should use ?
Then I begin to play with beat... In the end it works but it's a complete nightmare, I am only able to reproduce by massive listening but I feel like my sense of rythm is close to zero.