Heavy electro style bass
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 28-10-2014, 10:02 PM   #1
clueless
Learning The Ropes
clueless will become famous soon enoughclueless will become famous soon enough
MC Status: 110
Heavy electro style bass

Hello everyone, new here. Hope this is in the right sub forum.

Just as a quick introduction I've been a musician since age 3 (now 24) and sort of made amateur music on my pc for about 9 years. I have a basic understanding of things but i'm entirely self taught so there's probably massive holes in my knowledge, specially in technical terms.

Anyway, after a year of not touching Cubase, I've decided to crack on with it again and have a go at making some of that heavy electro/dance style music. Been sat here for 2 hours trying to make the sound I want and can't for the life of me figure out how.

I'm no good with names, I always forget artists and song titles and don't even know different types of sub genre, to me there's just rock, pop, dance etc. I've never really paid attention to categorising things as progressive house, acid house, whatever. So off the top of my head I can't think of any songs for example...

But whilst trying (and failing) to find a tutorial I did find a sound on an intro that is very similar to what I'm trying to make. It's the first bass sound that drops on the intro of this tutorial, the one that sounds almost like a distorted guitar.

(Can't post links due to low post count - if you google "locksmith music knife party pluck tutorial" the video is the first result).

If anyone can point me to a tutorial to make that sound I'd be more than pleased, I've got NI massive hooked up. And better yet the actual sub genre of dance music that sound is often found in, electro house maybe?