Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2014, 01:32 PM   #1
Stereo Surgeon
Savage Mad Cunt
Stereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MC
Stereo Surgeon's Avatar
Bumblefuck, GA
Age: 23
Posts: 1,427
MC Status: 12606174
Thanks: 81
Thanked 245 Times in 177 Posts
Icon4 Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

In all my years of producing I never thought to do this, yet in 30 sec I got rid of all input delay for Ableton.

I had tried all kinds of shit to get my input delay down so I could record during playback. As it turns out it was sitting right in front of me the entire time.

Just read the article that I linked below this, and update you DAWs priority to "High" instead of the default "Normal". Then go into Your DAW's audio preferences and fiddle with the Buffer size/latency shit till the overall latency is below 10ms.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


mfw This shit was so simple, yet so effective

Keep in mind if your computer is über shit, it might not be able to handle it above normal.

PS: Also this is something to be aware off when setting buffer size


Last edited by Stereo Surgeon; 06-02-2015 at 05:02 AM..

Advertisements


------------------
Stereo Surgeon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 05:57 PM   #2
jimmusician
Deep Underground
jimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond repute
jimmusician's Avatar
Posts: 746
MC Status: 8348
Thanks: 44
Thanked 62 Times in 52 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereo Surgeon View Post
In all my years of producing I never thought to do this, yet in 30 sec I got rid of all input delay for Ableton.

I had tried all kinds of shit to get my input delay down so I could record during playback. As it turns out it was sitting right in front of me the entire time.

Just read the article that I linked below this, and update you DAWs priority to "High" instead of the default "Normal". Then go into Your DAW's audio preferences and fiddle with the Buffer size/latency shit till the overall latency is below 10ms.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


mfw This shit was so simple, yet so effective

Keep in mind if your computer is über shit, it might not be able to handle it above normal.

PS: Also this is something to be aware off when setting buffer size


So how about with windows 7? Do you experience slowdown?
jimmusician is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 08:20 PM   #3
Stereo Surgeon
Savage Mad Cunt
Stereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MC
Stereo Surgeon's Avatar
Bumblefuck, GA
Age: 23
Posts: 1,427
MC Status: 12606174
Thanks: 81
Thanked 245 Times in 177 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmusician View Post
So how about with windows 7? Do you experience slowdown?
I believe you can also set priorities in windows 7, but I don't have any comp running 7 anymore, so I can't say from personal exp.

------------------
Stereo Surgeon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 12:34 PM   #4
Stercogburn
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistModerator
Stercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MCStercogburn is a savage MC
Stercogburn's Avatar
On horseback
Posts: 9,454
MC Status: 42346549
Thanks: 1,043
Thanked 4,251 Times in 2,771 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

You were able to set it all the way back to Windows NT.

Be warned that depending on how much your DAW hammers your system, it could potentially cause it to become unstable. Lots of variables and it depends on resource usage by whatever else is running on your system. Sometimes anti-virus can become quite upset if it doesn't get what it needs because something else has priority over it.

Its a useful trick but there are caveats

------------------
This mind intentionally blank.
Stercogburn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:11 AM   #5
vit888
vit888 is a jewel in the roughvit888 is a jewel in the roughvit888 is a jewel in the rough
vit888's Avatar
Barcelona
Posts: 37
MC Status: 260
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

thanks for the tip, guy!
vit888 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 03:30 PM   #6
JMagee
Ghostly
JMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MCJMagee is a savage MC
JMagee's Avatar
Kentucky
Age: 28
Posts: 633
MC Status: 14510
Thanks: 82
Thanked 290 Times in 225 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

I've done this with all of my programs and have so since back with XP. But disabling all of the Aero bullshit in 7 and 8 is a massive CPU lifesaver.

------------------
JMagee is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2014, 07:29 PM   #7
NewWorldOrder
Solar Tribal Chief
NewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MCNewWorldOrder is a savage MC
NewWorldOrder's Avatar
Texas
Posts: 2,133
MC Status: 16660
Thanks: 291
Thanked 333 Times in 264 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

thanks for the tip. I've been having lag between my moog and my daw

------------------
NewWorldOrder is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 10:30 PM   #8
Goolue
Digital Surfer
Goolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud ofGoolue has much to be proud of
Goolue's Avatar
Isn't built out of Humus.
Age: 26
Posts: 496
MC Status: 1060
Thanks: 18
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Thanks man! since i moved to my current pc i rarely have any issues but still.

------------------
My Soundcloud!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYCORE View Post
i always felt if Thom Yorke was a food item he would be a noodle
Goolue is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2014, 08:56 AM   #9
foua
Learning The Ropes
foua is on a distinguished road
Posts: 3
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

If you suddenly get instability or crashes, it might very well be of this!
foua is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 04:25 PM   #10
damnyou
Sample Destroyer
damnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MCdamnyou is a savage MC
damnyou's Avatar
Age: 31
Posts: 271
MC Status: 1446990
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

You should set it to Realtime



------------------
damnyou is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 12:06 PM   #11
Poztman
Minor Glitch
Poztman is a jewel in the roughPoztman is a jewel in the roughPoztman is a jewel in the roughPoztman is a jewel in the rough
Poztman's Avatar
Bruges
Posts: 41
MC Status: 310
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Don't really need it, but thx anyways for this !
Poztman is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 09:33 PM   #12
Ectoentropic
Regular Freak
Ectoentropic will become famous soon enoughEctoentropic will become famous soon enough
Colorado
Posts: 10
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmusician View Post
So how about with windows 7? Do you experience slowdown?
On Windows 7 you can press CTRL-SHIFT-ESC to open the task manager, go to "processes", find your DAW (note that in the processes view your DAW may show up with a different name, but it will show up as something similar, for example FL Studio shows up as "FL.exe"), right-click on it to open a menu, go to "priority"->"above normal"

Another good way to free up CPU while you're in the task manager anyways is to take a look at what background processes are running - a lot of people don't even realize how many programs continue running after they're closed, and if you look, stuff like Steam, IM/Skype/Yahoo/etc., and other such programs can be eating up HUGE amounts of memory even if you don't have any windows open. If anything's eating up too much memory, right-click->"end process".

Note that you should be careful when you're doing this, as some of the processes listed in the task manager are important to your computer's function. It's not too risky - as far as I know, the worst thing that could happen is that you have to reboot - but you should make sure you have some idea of what the process you're ending actually is.
Ectoentropic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 02:48 AM   #13
Nystagmus
Savage Mad Cunt
Nystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MC
Nystagmus's Avatar
Planet Earth; 2017 AD.
Posts: 3,806
MC Status: 65260
Thanks: 3,367
Thanked 1,305 Times in 985 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


Process.exe can be used to change priorities and also force programs to quit.
With the right other tools, such as Starter.exe, you can add entries to the registry so that at logon, programs of your choice are shutdown or have their priorities changed.

This can be helpful as an alternative to completely turning something on or off.
Also, Starter.exe shows you a lot of extra junk that runs at startup and you can
even modify the startup status of some drivers.

------------------
Mutually-Assured Survival is preferred.

Be a false negative of yourself !
Nystagmus is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Nystagmus
Stereo Surgeon (06-02-2015)
Old 06-02-2015, 05:07 AM   #14
Stereo Surgeon
Savage Mad Cunt
Stereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MCStereo Surgeon is a savage MC
Stereo Surgeon's Avatar
Bumblefuck, GA
Age: 23
Posts: 1,427
MC Status: 12606174
Thanks: 81
Thanked 245 Times in 177 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nystagmus View Post
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


Process.exe can be used to change priorities and also force programs to quit.
With the right other tools, such as Starter.exe, you can add entries to the registry so that at logon, programs of your choice are shutdown or have their priorities changed.

This can be helpful as an alternative to completely turning something on or off.
Also, Starter.exe shows you a lot of extra junk that runs at startup and you can
even modify the startup status of some drivers.
I once went on a blitzkrieg through the startup programs dissabling everything I didn't think was mission critical, and ended inadvertently stopping hardware drivers for disc drive and soundcard which snowballed into a BSOD.

Cut the fat, but be careful to leave the important stuff as it is.

------------------
Stereo Surgeon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Stereo Surgeon
Nystagmus (06-02-2015)
Old 06-02-2015, 05:30 AM   #15
Nystagmus
Savage Mad Cunt
Nystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MC
Nystagmus's Avatar
Planet Earth; 2017 AD.
Posts: 3,806
MC Status: 65260
Thanks: 3,367
Thanked 1,305 Times in 985 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stereo Surgeon View Post
I once went on a blitzkrieg through the startup programs dissabling everything I didn't think was mission critical, and ended inadvertently stopping hardware drivers for disc drive and soundcard which snowballed into a BSOD.

Cut the fat, but be careful to leave the important stuff as it is.
yeah good points, Stereo Surgeon.

i usually use the black viper config as a guiding starting point.
i'm only really adventurous with stuff when i have a backup strategy.

------------------
Mutually-Assured Survival is preferred.

Be a false negative of yourself !
Nystagmus is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 07:36 PM   #16
agent
Deep Underground
agent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MCagent is a savage MC
agent's Avatar
SEATTLE
Posts: 720
MC Status: 525320
Thanks: 60
Thanked 126 Times in 87 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by damnyou View Post
You should set it to Realtime

I work in IT so I feel dumb asking this... but if your comp is decently powerful would "realtime" be a bad thing?

What could happen?
agent is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2015, 08:07 PM   #17
Nystagmus
Savage Mad Cunt
Nystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MC
Nystagmus's Avatar
Planet Earth; 2017 AD.
Posts: 3,806
MC Status: 65260
Thanks: 3,367
Thanked 1,305 Times in 985 Posts
Re: Set your CPU priority higher for your DAW in Windows 8.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by agent View Post
I work in IT so I feel dumb asking this... but if your comp is decently powerful would "realtime" be a bad thing?

What could happen?
at least on older systems, i think, realtime made it possible for the one realtime process to dominate CPU time over everything else, including system processes. but I'm not really sure.

Advertisements


------------------
Mutually-Assured Survival is preferred.

Be a false negative of yourself !
Nystagmus is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where does studio time fall on your list of priority? tpecs The Studio 29 06-28-2013 05:19 AM
[Techno] Forged - Are You Higher! Entox Listening Booth 4 05-07-2013 07:22 PM
Stuttering effect that goes higher and higher uli80 Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 3 09-22-2012 09:48 PM
[Techno] Floating Higher And Higher Knobeye Listening Booth 0 03-06-2012 03:55 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.