Do you make music you're not familiar with?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Music Theory & Composition Questions & comments about composition, arrangement, and music theory. Music rules and how to follow or break them.

Old 07-02-2017, 12:48 AM   #1
Kyrpto
Knob Twiddler
Kyrpto is a glorious beacon of lightKyrpto is a glorious beacon of lightKyrpto is a glorious beacon of lightKyrpto is a glorious beacon of lightKyrpto is a glorious beacon of light
MC Status: 460
Do you make music you're not familiar with?

I haven't been producing for very long (about a year now) but I'm noticing that the tracks that I make are nothing like what I normally listen to. I've been a musician since childhood and come from a rock and blues background. However EDM has always been my favorite genre to listen to.

The genres that I'm interested in generally falls into the House, Trance, Techno...that kind of stuff. Most of the music I've been making so far falls into the Ambient, Downtempo, and Chillout genres somehow - stuff that I never use to listen to. I'm basically just starting to discover this genre of music!

So basically I'm making music that I'm not familiar with. I have no idea how that happened. Pretty weird huh?

This actually got me exploring other genres and studying/learning about genres in general which I think is pretty cool.

Advertisements

------------------
Kyrpto is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2017, 03:45 AM   #2
Narukami Music
Master of the LFO
Narukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MCNarukami Music is a savage MC
MC Status: 10160
Re: Do you make music you're not familiar with?