Remastering with Audacity?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Go Back » The Studio » The Studio
Old 12-02-2016, 08:24 PM   #1
HexPhosphorus
Analog Lurker
HexPhosphorus will become famous soon enoughHexPhosphorus will become famous soon enough
Chicago, Los Angeles, Madison, and Portland Oregon.
MC Status: 110
Icon5 Remastering with Audacity?

So....While I am proud of my work considering it was made in my first year of self taught mixing as an experiment, I am feeling a little sheepish about the poor quality of the mastering/remastering in the version I uploaded to Tunecore.

I had someone staying with me here who is not a fan of Industrial or Metal of any kind. We agree on some punk, some electronic, and she likes pop and Indie Rock.....So I did all of my remastering only with headphones, in a hurry, and she wouldn't let me focus and work. lol.....Yep, its all her fault....Not really. I probably just don't know what the fuck I am doing at this stage after the songs have been rendered, especially after I lost many of the stems with a failed hard drive.

I would like to *replace* my first album with an updated version, though most likely I will just have to re-release it as a remastered 2 volume album.....But I don't want to be releasing the same stuff 5x, so I want to do it right so that it sounds great before I re-release.

I realized that I did such a horrible job with the remastering, having listened to it only on 1 single pair of cheap DJ/Studio-ish headphones and not over speakers or consumer grade gear, that it actually sounded better before I messed with it.