Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


The Studio All discussions relating to sound design, mixing techniques, music theory, composition, and gear.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 14-11-2016, 12:17 PM   #1
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
My hell
Posts: 826
MC Status: 8560
Thanks: 155
Thanked 171 Times in 140 Posts
Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

it becomes pain to automate dry\wet without volume changing, you understand

Advertisements


------------------
sent from another world
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2016, 04:43 PM   #2
Vault O)))
Savage Mad Cunt
Vault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MC
Vault O)))'s Avatar
Posts: 1,104
MC Status: 39460
Thanks: 998
Thanked 789 Times in 516 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Use the fader.

------------------
Vault O))) is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2016, 04:50 PM   #3
White Noise
Eternal Echoer
White Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MC
White Noise's Avatar
California
Posts: 833
MC Status: 21010
Thanks: 96
Thanked 420 Times in 300 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Use gain plugins at input/output to level-match? Pretty sure FL studio has a gain plug, if not I'd recommend bluecat gain or loudmaxx (which is a limiter, I know, but I mostly use it for the volume fader).
White Noise is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2016, 05:23 PM   #4
joem
Savage Mad Cunt
joem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MC
Posts: 1,861
MC Status: 19660
Thanks: 2
Thanked 393 Times in 341 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

use the fucking knob at the side of each channel
joem is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-11-2016, 07:20 PM   #5
st3aLth
Soundscaper
st3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond reputest3aLth has a reputation beyond repute
st3aLth's Avatar
Posts: 372
MC Status: 3410
Thanks: 134
Thanked 68 Times in 62 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Use VST's with simple controls . Or put limiter in chain.
st3aLth is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2016, 01:58 PM   #6
jimmusician
Deep Underground
jimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond reputejimmusician has a reputation beyond repute
jimmusician's Avatar
Posts: 771
MC Status: 8798
Thanks: 52
Thanked 71 Times in 61 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

With effects or instruments? Sometimes I like to use the blend knob on effects.
jimmusician is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2016, 05:37 PM   #7
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
My hell
Posts: 826
MC Status: 8560
Thanks: 155
Thanked 171 Times in 140 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

ffs i understand i can limit things and ect, but i asked this so i could know if there is simpler way in fl studio for this to speed up workflow

------------------
sent from another world
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2016, 07:39 PM   #8
relic
IDMf SupporterModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 17,087
MC Status: 8538130
Thanks: 10,561
Thanked 6,944 Times in 4,941 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by joem View Post
use the fucking knob at the side of each channel
This.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2016, 07:52 PM   #9
A.M
IDMf SupporterIDMf Artist
A.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MC
A.M's Avatar
Age: 52
Posts: 9,405
MC Status: 181060
Thanks: 10,600
Thanked 3,621 Times in 2,700 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by D42K732202 View Post
ffs i understand i can limit things and ect, but i asked this so i could know if there is simpler way in fl studio for this to speed up workflow
I'd like to help..I really would..but I don't use FL..sorry.

------------------
A.M is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to A.M
relic (15-11-2016)
Old 15-11-2016, 08:46 PM   #10
Evelon
IDMf Artist
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,578
MC Status: 214389848
Thanks: 884
Thanked 2,828 Times in 1,763 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

I'm sure your DAW has gain-staging options like dedicated channel gain, volume faders, insert slots (where you insert free gain plugins, like [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
or [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
both pre or post your mentioned plugins). Heck you can insert ANY plugin that has volume/gain parameter, like an EQ or whatever.
I'm pretty sure you even have clip gain/volume (on your audio), if all else fails.

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-2016, 09:04 PM   #11
relic
IDMf SupporterModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 17,087
MC Status: 8538130
Thanks: 10,561
Thanked 6,944 Times in 4,941 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evelon View Post
I'm sure your DAW has gain-staging options like dedicated channel gain, volume faders, insert slots (where you insert free gain plugins, like [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
or [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
both pre or post your mentioned plugins). Heck you can insert ANY plugin that has volume/gain parameter, like an EQ or whatever.
I'm pretty sure you even have clip gain/volume (on your audio), if all else fails.
FL Studio almost has too many gain staging options. There is even volume/plan on the step sequencer for each channel...I actually had to change the default template because it takes so long to turn all the volumes down by half or whatever your practice is.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to relic
White Noise (15-11-2016)
Old 15-11-2016, 10:46 PM   #12
White Noise
Eternal Echoer
White Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MC
White Noise's Avatar
California
Posts: 833
MC Status: 21010
Thanks: 96
Thanked 420 Times in 300 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Yeah, I have two templates with the gain staging I like. Forgot about the step sequencer control, it's been awhile since I touched that.
White Noise is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2016, 01:13 AM   #13
relic
IDMf SupporterModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 17,087
MC Status: 8538130
Thanks: 10,561
Thanked 6,944 Times in 4,941 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Noise View Post
Yeah, I have two templates with the gain staging I like. Forgot about the step sequencer control, it's been awhile since I touched that.
My default is to have the step seq. channels down to 50% and use the channel faders to do fine adjustments.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to relic
White Noise (16-11-2016)
Old 16-11-2016, 07:20 AM   #14
White Noise
Eternal Echoer
White Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MC
White Noise's Avatar
California
Posts: 833
MC Status: 21010
Thanks: 96
Thanked 420 Times in 300 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

Quote:
Originally Posted by relic View Post
My default is to have the step seq. channels down to 50% and use the channel faders to do fine adjustments.
That's a good idea, I usually have the channel faders at like 10% to get the levels I want. I run console4 on a lot of mixes as well, so I do have an extra gain control there, but all my faders will still end up under 20%. This could make those fine tweaks a bit easier.
White Noise is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2016, 09:38 AM   #15
TheSampleThief
Analog Lurker
TheSampleThief is a splendid one to beholdTheSampleThief is a splendid one to beholdTheSampleThief is a splendid one to beholdTheSampleThief is a splendid one to beholdTheSampleThief is a splendid one to beholdTheSampleThief is a splendid one to behold
TheSampleThief's Avatar
Age: 30
Posts: 94
MC Status: 660
Thanks: 9
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

There are like a bazillion different ways to adjust volume (at least in FL Studio), like in the Mixer, at the left side next to the specific plugins and you can use stuff like limiter as well. Even most effectors have a gain-control/volume, so just chain them to it and get rid of whatever effect it does and you have an external volume-control. ^^

------------------
TheSampleThief is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2016, 01:26 PM   #16
Parricide
.
Parricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MC
Parricide's Avatar
Posts: 6,294
MC Status: 18024319
Thanks: 642
Thanked 486 Times in 394 Posts
Re: Some VST effects dont have output vol control... help me out guys

im sure this has been said, but there are plenty of freeware gain knob plugins.

Advertisements


------------------
signature loading...
Parricide is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Parricide
A.M (18-11-2016)
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Output : Signal Opium Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 8 24-07-2015 04:05 PM
Not getting any output through Logic Dhinojosa94 The Studio 3 05-02-2013 05:52 AM
VST on PC output mimicry Workstation Center 5 11-09-2012 11:31 PM
Hey Guys, It's me again, Of course you dont remember me EricXL Introduce Yourself 2 09-07-2012 07:09 PM
Some effects n shit i dont understand wolly9595 Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 16 25-08-2011 05:06 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.