Signal routing to FX pedals
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Hardware and Gear Hardware, gear, equipment; Whatever you call it, talk about tangible, physical music-making stuff here. Synths, Modular, drum machines, controllers etc all goes here.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2016, 05:49 PM   #1
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,477
MC Status: 51910
Thanks: 931
Thanked 1,038 Times in 765 Posts
Signal routing to FX pedals

Some of you know that I just got new mixer (WZ4 14:4:2). I have three mono inputs remaining that aren't used and want to hook up a few FX pedals in a manner that's flexible. I've found a solution to do this sending any signal I want through them in a linear chain. What I would like to do is to have the flexibility to send any signal to only a subset of them.

Seems that's a tall order. An 8x8 matrix audio mixer might do that (at a price).

Another solution to improve flexibility somewhat is using a pedal router: [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


I think I could squeeze out two signal paths with my current setup, but not three.

I suppose I could also get a six track one bus mixer just for FX, which again seems ridiculous.

How are you guys dealing with FX pedal routing?

Advertisements


------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2016, 06:46 PM   #2
BlindfoldKnobs
Minor Glitch
BlindfoldKnobs will become famous soon enoughBlindfoldKnobs will become famous soon enough
BlindfoldKnobs's Avatar
Posts: 39
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Signal routing to FX pedals

Can't you just use Y jacks in between the stomp boxes so that you can grab the output at any stage in the chain?
BlindfoldKnobs is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2016, 12:31 AM   #3
Evelon
IDMf Artist
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,578
MC Status: 214389848
Thanks: 884
Thanked 2,828 Times in 1,763 Posts
Re: Signal routing to FX pedals

I have a Whirlwind A/B/Y pedal. It works for the purpose it was created.

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Evelon
liquid_air (08-11-2016)
Old 08-11-2016, 01:33 AM   #4
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,709
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 556
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Signal routing to FX pedals

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


It's made for exactly that! It's for mono pedals, tho you could work something out! Been thinking of getting one myself.

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to jbvdb493
liquid_air (08-11-2016)
Old 13-11-2016, 03:24 PM   #5
Parricide
.
Parricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MC
Parricide's Avatar
Posts: 6,294
MC Status: 18024319
Thanks: 642
Thanked 486 Times in 394 Posts
Re: Signal routing to FX pedals

why cant you just plug things up as you need them? its almost as fast as making adjustments to sends as long as everything is easily accessible, maybe labelled for good measure.

personally i do all my hardware routing directly from my interface and mix ITB, but i have the luxury of 10 ins and outs, 8 of which are analogue, and i dont own much hardware.

Advertisements


------------------
signature loading...
Parricide is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Effect Pedals amalm34 Hardware and Gear 36 10-02-2015 07:43 PM
FX pedals relic Hardware and Gear 69 27-01-2014 02:29 PM
Loop pedals pBrane Workstation Center 12 16-01-2013 04:44 PM
Ambient pedals vx cheerleader Ambient / Downtempo 14 15-02-2012 07:24 AM
How do you use expression pedals? henrebotha The Studio 7 26-09-2011 08:59 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.