Making a studio for cheap - require soundproofing
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 20-06-2016, 12:00 AM   #1
devilz_soul1979
Learning The Ropes
devilz_soul1979 is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
Making a studio for cheap - require soundproofing

Good afternoon all

I'm a newbie who is trying to create a studio for playing classical music (violin, viola, piano) and also teaching classical music.

I have leased a space that has dry walls and carpet flooring (your average northern california house space basically) and is almost 200 ft..

My first priority at this stage is to understand how to soundproof the studio in a way that there is no one outside the studio can hear the music and also that the sound of instrument inside the studio is as close to the level of recording studios or larger Symphony Hall. The reason I am trying to create that level of soundproofing is that I would like to audition for professional position in classical music and having a good soundproofing will not only help the neighbors but also my playing by creating just the right note for practice by not reverbing/echoing

The studio is in Northern California and needless to say that I have a limited budget for soundproofing. I looked into the acoustic foam but wasn't sure how to use it so what I am hoping to get help from the community is as follows:

- good Reading material on soundproofing basic and how to go about
- suggestion on the materials that I can use on the drywall to make it a soundproof space
- where to buy this material for cheap/good price
- any other resource link that you think I should be reading to create a very good space

i will be extremely thankful for your help

Regards

Advertisements

devilz_soul1979 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote