Pattern doesnt fit in one bar
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06-12-2016, 05:07 PM   #1
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
Posts: 803
MC Status: 7810
Thanks: 147
Thanked 156 Times in 127 Posts
Icon13 Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

i get this problem too often, melody is catchy n shit but it doesn't fit in even amount of bars
either its third bar or one bar and 1 note stays extra, sometimes it fits in a bar but reverb\delay tail needs more space and ect.
what should D42K732202 do ?

Advertisements


------------------
sent from another world
------------------
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 06:04 PM   #2
stray medicine
Savage Mad Cunt
stray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MC
stray medicine's Avatar
Minneapolis
Age: 24
Posts: 1,056
MC Status: 18260
Thanks: 408
Thanked 365 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

try messing around with your time signature a bit
sounds like it won't fit in a 4/4 time sig
stray medicine is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to stray medicine
D42K732202 (06-12-2016)
Old 06-12-2016, 06:06 PM   #3
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
Posts: 803
MC Status: 7810
Thanks: 147
Thanked 156 Times in 127 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

yeah but whole point is that it starts sounding not as intended

------------------
sent from another world
------------------
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 06:16 PM   #4
relic
IDMf Supporter
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 16,138
MC Status: 8498080
Thanks: 9,516
Thanked 6,143 Times in 4,412 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by stray medicine View Post
try messing around with your time signature a bit
sounds like it won't fit in a 4/4 time sig
Can't a melody just be a bar and a beat and still be in the correct time signature though or does it have to resolve at the end of a bar?



If I really, really wanted to leave a melody like that I would have another lead sound to fill the silence if the track needed it. Could you just let there be silence for how ever many beats?

I don't see it as an issue that something doesn't end with the end of a bar.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to relic
stray medicine (06-12-2016)
Old 06-12-2016, 06:54 PM   #5
FunkMasterBrown
Bastard!!!IDMf Artist
FunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MC
FunkMasterBrown's Avatar
King's Head function room
Age: 25
Posts: 9,122
MC Status: 222279284
Thanks: 2,923
Thanked 2,562 Times in 1,710 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

bounce the melody to audio, open a new project and find the tempo that will allow the loop to fit into four bars then build a track around it

or just make it work and go for it! The only thing that would put you off is you have to zoom in more and its harder to arrange a bit

------------------
FunkMasterBrown is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 06:56 PM   #6
stray medicine
Savage Mad Cunt
stray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MCstray medicine is a savage MC
stray medicine's Avatar
Minneapolis
Age: 24
Posts: 1,056
MC Status: 18260
Thanks: 408
Thanked 365 Times in 254 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by D42K732202 View Post
yeah but whole point is that it starts sounding not as intended
hm, I'm not sure if I'm understanding what you mean.
Whenever I come into timing difficulties I'll either mess with the time sig or do what Relic suggested and have rests on the instrument you're having trouble with
stray medicine is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2016, 06:57 PM   #7
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387298
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,777 Times in 1,735 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Are saying you have a 5/4 melody and you want it to fit a 4/4 time signature? Or is your own meter off?
I'm confused.

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 07:11 AM   #8
666
Knob Twiddler
666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute666 has a reputation beyond repute
#Quit IDMf
Age: 27
Posts: 232
MC Status: 6860
Thanks: 200
Thanked 137 Times in 97 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Turn the grid off and make a mess out of it
666 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 01:18 PM   #9
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387298
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,777 Times in 1,735 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666 View Post
Turn the grid off and make a mess out of it
^This.
Don't try to use logic and reason (no pun).

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 02:37 PM   #10
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,002
MC Status: 1525027
Thanks: 928
Thanked 1,736 Times in 1,130 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar


------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 03:24 PM   #11
Automageddon
IDMf ArtistModerator
Automageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MCAutomageddon is a savage MC
Automageddon's Avatar
Less kids, more synths.
Age: 38
Posts: 9,342
MC Status: 269440858
Thanks: 915
Thanked 2,345 Times in 1,608 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

So this is not about your partner not fitting in bar...

The solution seems quite simple, if you hum and it works, then you need to either look at the tempo and/or the time signature.

------------------
Automageddon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 05:00 PM   #12
lolirl
Moderator
lolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MC
lolirl's Avatar
Posts: 13,289
MC Status: 743999641
Thanks: 9,909
Thanked 6,644 Times in 4,157 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkMasterBrown View Post
bounce the melody to audio, open a new project and find the tempo that will allow the loop to fit into four bars then build a track around it

or just make it work and go for it! The only thing that would put you off is you have to zoom in more and its harder to arrange a bit
This is the simplest way to do it in the modern way of working.
lolirl is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 06:03 PM   #13
FunkMasterBrown
Bastard!!!IDMf Artist
FunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MCFunkMasterBrown is a savage MC
FunkMasterBrown's Avatar
King's Head function room
Age: 25
Posts: 9,122
MC Status: 222279284
Thanks: 2,923
Thanked 2,562 Times in 1,710 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

in a flurry of creativity I wrote a track the other month using the loop markers on ableton with the grid turned off. the result is that the project is 120bpm but the loops for the track are about 7.6 bars long.

this presents me with more of a headache than usual for a few reasons and will involve a lot of bouncing to audio. a whole load of the sound design is samples played from a sampler with the warp function on as a feature of the sampler itself. this means if I copy the sampler and stretch the midi to a new project with a different bpm all of the patches will sound different. I shoot myself in the foot sometimes its a fuckin four to the flour house track

------------------
FunkMasterBrown is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 06:24 PM   #14
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
Posts: 803
MC Status: 7810
Thanks: 147
Thanked 156 Times in 127 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasedobson View Post
ikr ...

------------------
sent from another world
------------------
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 06:26 PM   #15
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387298
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,777 Times in 1,735 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar


------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 06:42 PM   #16
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
Posts: 803
MC Status: 7810
Thanks: 147
Thanked 156 Times in 127 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

you made my day

------------------
sent from another world
------------------
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 06:52 PM   #17
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387298
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,777 Times in 1,735 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

You are entering polyrhythm territory (if you loop your melody to 4/4). That is next level professor shit.

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 07:05 PM   #18
Numerical
IDMf Artist
Numerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MC
Numerical's Avatar
Austin
Age: 39
Posts: 10,565
MC Status: 45931031
Thanks: 6,370
Thanked 5,457 Times in 3,455 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Tune your snare.
Numerical is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 07:10 PM   #19
Blingley
Madacu Sad Gent
Blingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MCBlingley is a savage MC
Blingley's Avatar
Posts: 1,808
MC Status: 7235779
Thanks: 232
Thanked 781 Times in 518 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numerical View Post
Tune your snare.
*Tune your snore.

------------------
Blingley is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2016, 09:47 PM   #20
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
Posts: 803
MC Status: 7810
Thanks: 147
Thanked 156 Times in 127 Posts
Re: Pattern doesnt fit in one bar

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numerical View Post
Tune your snare.
but its just bitcrushed noise

Advertisements


------------------
sent from another world
------------------
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote

Pattern doesnt fit in one bar Tags
newjaymsay
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI to GAO doesnt go Eyzuky The Studio 2 04-06-2013 01:21 PM
[electro dabstep] doesnt have a name Qianta Listening Booth 1 11-25-2012 08:06 PM
Interface doesnt agree with Usb 3.0 Sentimental The Studio 5 07-14-2012 03:16 PM
Ik this doesnt matter that much but trying to think of a name rockerdude427 Music Scene Chat 13 04-17-2012 05:02 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.