An efficient way to mix loud drums?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

House / Dubstep Discussion of music similar to Deep Dish, Kaskade, Burial, Rusko, Deadmau5.

Old 25-06-2015, 01:07 AM   #1
Caerulux
Minor Glitch
Caerulux is a jewel in the roughCaerulux is a jewel in the roughCaerulux is a jewel in the rough
MC Status: 260
An efficient way to mix loud drums

Hi! I've been mixing tracks for a little over 2 years now and I wanted to share a method of mixing that I've found to be ridiculously helpful for heavy kicks/snare drums, specifically for dubstep. I'm not sure if many people do this or if it's common practice, so let me know!

Now, I use Reason, and what really seems to help is splitting all of the important frequency ranges of the drums to separate channels and using different effects/aux sends on each. For the kick drum, I like to split three different ranges, which you can probably guess;

1. The first channel is the sub of the kick (this is sort of optional and not every kick needs it, but it definitely beefs up the drum a bit). For this range, I'll usually boost at around 50-70hz, making sure to low cut everything above around 100hz, because I don't want the separate channels affecting each other too much. That's usually about it for this channel, in addition to some small details on my compressors/aux sends/etc.