Usage of WAVES L3 Maximizer?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Reply
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2014, 09:27 PM   #1
kostistlac
Granular Poster
kostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to behold
kostistlac's Avatar
Bratislava
Posts: 60
MC Status: 810
Thanks: 11
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Usage of WAVES L3 Maximizer?

Hi guys, can you help me and link some video tutorial, about using WAVES L3 multimaximizer. Im sharing this two:

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


but im not much smarter after i watch them. Maybe im idiot ... but i need exact information how to use it. THANX

Advertisements

kostistlac is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 09:39 PM   #2
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387348
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,778 Times in 1,736 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:08 PM   #3
kostistlac
Granular Poster
kostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to behold
kostistlac's Avatar
Bratislava
Posts: 60
MC Status: 810
Thanks: 11
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

... thanx, but im musician, i need few simple steps how to usw it.

1. how big must be headroom when im rendering track from ableton ... somebody is talking about -6dB, somebody - 12dB
2. how to get this headroom ... by using limiter on master? ... it can degradate the sound, im i wrong?
3. im realy confused by the clipping when i use the compressor ... is it ok if compressor output is clipping?
4. when i start the mastering proces, i open track in WAVELAB, then i get the peak and i process gain to ZERO. Is it OK?
5. Than i open maximizer L3 and load preset HQ CD mastering and render track with this preset ... is it OK?

is there anybody to tell me if im doing something wrong.

THANX

Last edited by kostistlac; 11-30-2014 at 10:17 PM..
kostistlac is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 10:44 PM   #4
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387348
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,778 Times in 1,736 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

You should look into gain-staging before reading up on multi-band maximizers.

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2014, 11:59 PM   #5
kostistlac
Granular Poster
kostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to beholdkostistlac is a splendid one to behold
kostistlac's Avatar
Bratislava
Posts: 60
MC Status: 810
Thanks: 11
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evelon View Post
You should look into gain-staging before reading up on multi-band maximizers.
... of course im doing gain staging, but i forget to write it to my 5 steps so lets say is step ZERO


0. Gain staging
1. how big must be headroom when im rendering track from ableton ... somebody is talking about -6dB, somebody - 12dB
2. how to get this headroom ... by using limiter on master? ... it can degradate the sound, im i wrong?
3. im realy confused by the clipping when i use the compressor ... is it ok if compressor output is clipping?
4. when i start the mastering proces, i open track in WAVELAB, then i get the peak and i process gain to ZERO. Is it OK?
5. Than i open maximizer L3 and load preset HQ CD mastering and render track with this preset ... is it OK?
kostistlac is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2014, 12:16 AM   #6
Evelon
Evelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MCEvelon is a savage MC
Evelon's Avatar
Posts: 7,564
MC Status: 214387348
Thanks: 878
Thanked 2,778 Times in 1,736 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

1) it doesn't matter if it's -6dB or -12dB. As long as you have some headroom.

2) you turn things down (channels, subgroups and/or master)

3) no, it's usually not OK to clip the compressor output.

4) do you mean you normalize?

5) that depends. Does it sound good? You might get even better results if you (or a dedicated mastering engineer) go "hmm, this track needs this and this and that...and less of this and this and that" and then goes to work on it.

Again - gain-staging.
You seem to be pretty lost. Start there.

------------------
Evelon is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Evelon
Alert (12-03-2014)
Old 12-01-2014, 12:44 AM   #7
lebeux
IDMf Artist
lebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MClebeux is a savage MC
lebeux's Avatar
Madrid
Posts: 3,600
MC Status: 59126926
Thanks: 595
Thanked 805 Times in 545 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

normalizing before you slam a compressor with enough makeup gain to have the output clip, followed by an "EDM squisher" maximiser preset on your track will totally take it to the next level

keep doing it
lebeux is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 05:13 AM   #8
Alert
Soundscaper
Alert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond reputeAlert has a reputation beyond repute
Alert's Avatar
Oblivion Fringe
Posts: 382
MC Status: 4221
Thanks: 870
Thanked 80 Times in 59 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

LOL


------------------
Alert is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2014, 10:47 AM   #9
Jaded
Total mad cunt
Jaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MC
Jaded's Avatar
Posts: 4,151
MC Status: 6893359
Thanks: 4,333
Thanked 3,283 Times in 1,994 Posts
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

Ev's bang on the money.

It's unfortunate that so many people seem to go out and shell out all of this money for L3 products when they shouldn't even be using them in the first place. You're a musician, you're better off buying a guitar bro.

Limiting, let alone multi-band compression, isn't a process where you input x, then get y. If you're trying to get a different result than what went in, then you're doing it wrong. It's more like input z, then get z. Yes, you can make things sound louder. Maybe you might be able to smooth a few things out, but there's not much else you can achieve.

Like Ev said, if you're not getting the sound you want, go back to the mix.

------------------
For reference:
Quote:
Originally Posted by God*

satan = f i d
my master, my god, my lord and savior = f i d d y
my boner = f i d e l i u m

* I am not God.
Jaded is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Jaded
kostistlac (12-04-2014)
Old 12-05-2014, 12:02 PM   #10
Mojel
Minor Glitch
Mojel will become famous soon enough
Mojel's Avatar
Near Boston
Posts: 46
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: ... using of WAVES L3 Maximizer

He sounds like hes just using the L3 to get his demos up to a listenable level. Basically you want your mix peaking at around -6db, each band on the L3 should only be taking off around 2-3db. Use the main limiter to bring the mix up to around 0db and there you have it.

Advertisements

Mojel is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Mojel
kostistlac (12-05-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
about the CPU usage DAT PACE The Studio 9 12-14-2013 12:30 AM
Is it okay to put a maximizer on a kick? CylockDNB Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 20 11-27-2012 09:17 PM
Live 8 CPU usage - wtf man... fimpson The Studio 6 11-22-2012 04:29 AM
VST Usage (FM8 Specifically) JChoi1994 Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 9 04-30-2012 01:27 AM
TLs Maximizer (good old freeware) astroidmist The Studio 9 09-20-2011 09:24 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.