Building a smaller modular synth, what do I need?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Old 11-26-2013, 07:09 PM   #1
Mr. Envelope
Microknight
Mr. Envelope has a spectacular aura aboutMr. Envelope has a spectacular aura about
Stockholm
MC Status: 160
Icon5 Building a smaller modular synth, what do I need?

Hey everyone! I want a new toy, but I'm a complete beginner when it comes to building things. But after school today, where we talked about synths, I feel like i must have one!

I'm looking to build a smaller system like this one, and saw that if I buy the parts on ebay, it's not that expensive! So I have a few questions for you guys who know this stuff!
  • What are the main modules that I need?
  • Do I need to solder anything for the power supply, or is it "screw contacts" (doesn't know the english word, but you'll understand) or "plug 'n play" kind of contacts? I was going to buy a case with a power supply already mounted in it..
  • Can I connect the whole rack to a keyboard in some way?
  • Is there something else I need to know?
This isn't going to be completed in a day or two, but be worked on when I have a little spare cash to throw around. So help giving a beginner a push into the modular world! All tips and tricks are usefull to me!

Thanks!

Advertisements

------------------
Mr. Envelope is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 07:39 PM   #2
RFJ
IDMf ArtistModerator
RFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MC
I live in California.
MC Status: 199643768
Thanked 4,890 Times in 3,157 Posts
Re: Building a smaller modular synth, what do I need?