Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Hardware and Gear Hardware, gear, equipment; Whatever you call it, talk about tangible, physical music-making stuff here. Synths, Modular, drum machines, controllers etc all goes here.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2016, 02:53 AM   #1
LustHouse
Analog Lurker
LustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of light
Posts: 87
MC Status: 510
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Hey guys,

Has anyone encountered situations where any audio signal starts to clip on their speakers all of a sudden?
I'm using W10 with traktor s2 as my interface with akg 240. Once in a while I can hear audio clip in all programs for no apparent reason until I restart my computer. I think it might something to do with Reason. Few times i think it started doing that after I opened a project, but it occurs very rarely, so I can't pin it down.

Advertisements

LustHouse is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 03:02 AM   #2
Benwaa
Guest
Posts: n/a
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

my wifi interferes with my s4 in that way. so i got to device manager (in windows) and disable the wifi adapter
  Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 05:49 AM   #3
White Noise
IDMf Artist
White Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MC
White Noise's Avatar
California
Posts: 998
MC Status: 26710
Thanks: 117
Thanked 534 Times in 377 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

If (and I'm making some assumptions here) you're using USB to transmit audio and power your interface and that USB port isn't giving you full power all the time, it can cause glitches. This is especially common on laptops, which try to give the minimum power necessary to USB ports. My laptop has a single designated USB port for charging devices that gives full power all the time, so I run my DACs through that (I don't use a full interface). If you're on a desktop at default power settings, it may be trying to run in low power mode, in which case you could have the same problem as on a laptop. I'd start by checking your power settings in the OS and make sure you're at least on balanced. If you can take options one by one, make sure you have USB sleep and things of that nature off.
White Noise is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 11:21 AM   #4
Macspider
Granular Poster
Macspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really nice
Macspider's Avatar
Vienna
Age: 28
Posts: 54
MC Status: 360
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Quote:
Originally Posted by LustHouse View Post
Hey guys,

Has anyone encountered situations where any audio signal starts to clip on their speakers all of a sudden?
I'm using W10 with traktor s2 as my interface with akg 240. Once in a while I can hear audio clip in all programs for no apparent reason until I restart my computer. I think it might something to do with Reason. Few times i think it started doing that after I opened a project, but it occurs very rarely, so I can't pin it down.
A very naive question for you could be asking you your computer's specifics in terms of RAM and CPU. I'm pretty sure that this is not the problem, but you never know and probably it is the first question to be asked in these cases, if you want to exclude problems one-by-one!
I had this problem once, because my CPU wasn't enough strong to support Traktor S4 data flux all in one. Whenever I tried to load more than 2 decks it started clipping and glitching.
:shitstorm:
Macspider is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 04:33 PM   #5
Roo Stercogburn
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistAdministrator
Roo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MC
Roo Stercogburn's Avatar
On horseback
Posts: 10,885
MC Status: 42401849
Thanks: 1,296
Thanked 5,357 Times in 3,491 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Off the top of my head...

When I've experienced this its usually too much pressure on the CPU. Reducing the bit depth of a project is an effective way to deal with it. For example, something like Reaktor 6 will beat the shit out of your CPU but can be tamed by reducing bit depth.

In the past, bridging 32bit plugins into a 64bit DAW sometimes caused this for me, but its harder to nail down.

------------------

IDMf: Outside of porn, best cunts on the internet.
Roo Stercogburn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 04:47 PM   #6
Macspider
Granular Poster
Macspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really nice
Macspider's Avatar
Vienna
Age: 28
Posts: 54
MC Status: 360
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Yes, and don't ever trust the 32to64 wrappers. As a golden rule.
They can be useful to test a 32bit plugin in your 64bit machine, but when it comes to running a lot of tracks together they drain the life out of your CPU and de-clock a lot things...
Macspider is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 11:53 PM   #7
LustHouse
Analog Lurker
LustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of light
Posts: 87
MC Status: 510
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benwaa View Post
my wifi interferes with my s4 in that way. so i got to device manager (in windows) and disable the wifi adapter
Interesting idea, I use the wifi though. I'll test it out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Noise View Post
If (and I'm making some assumptions here) you're using USB to transmit audio and power your interface and that USB port isn't giving you full power all the time, it can cause glitches. This is especially common on laptops, which try to give the minimum power necessary to USB ports. My laptop has a single designated USB port for charging devices that gives full power all the time, so I run my DACs through that (I don't use a full interface). If you're on a desktop at default power settings, it may be trying to run in low power mode, in which case you could have the same problem as on a laptop. I'd start by checking your power settings in the OS and make sure you're at least on balanced. If you can take options one by one, make sure you have USB sleep and things of that nature off.
I do, and it made me remember that S2 manual advises users about switching off USB power saving option for the controller. I will see if this is the case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macspider View Post
A very naive question for you could be asking you your computer's specifics in terms of RAM and CPU. I'm pretty sure that this is not the problem, but you never know and probably it is the first question to be asked in these cases, if you want to exclude problems one-by-one!
I had this problem once, because my CPU wasn't enough strong to support Traktor S4 data flux all in one. Whenever I tried to load more than 2 decks it started clipping and glitching.
:shitstorm:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stercogburn View Post
Off the top of my head...

When I've experienced this its usually too much pressure on the CPU. Reducing the bit depth of a project is an effective way to deal with it. For example, something like Reaktor 6 will beat the shit out of your CPU but can be tamed by reducing bit depth.

In the past, bridging 32bit plugins into a 64bit DAW sometimes caused this for me, but its harder to nail down.

CPU/RAM might be a problem as well, I have 6gb ram and i7 2.3, so mediocre ish laptop. It appears to occur somewhere around loading a project in DAW, so I'll keep an eye on my CPU load.
LustHouse is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2016, 11:57 PM   #8
Benwaa
Guest
Posts: n/a
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

6gb ram and i7 is more than enough for the s2 to function fully. Plus if you're plugging itin to the power anyway that eliminates the sub power issue too
  Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 05:53 PM   #9
Macspider
Granular Poster
Macspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really nice
Macspider's Avatar
Vienna
Age: 28
Posts: 54
MC Status: 360
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Quote:
Originally Posted by LustHouse View Post
CPU/RAM might be a problem as well, I have 6gb ram and i7 2.3, so mediocre ish laptop.
This is enough to rock the house, definitely not the glitch source. :snob:
Macspider is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 06:08 PM   #10
Roo Stercogburn
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistAdministrator
Roo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MC
Roo Stercogburn's Avatar
On horseback
Posts: 10,885
MC Status: 42401849
Thanks: 1,296
Thanked 5,357 Times in 3,491 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

I run an i7. VSTs can still easily kill it, especially if the app (in this case DAW) is configured to only use one core or doesn't properly detect the other cores.

RAM isn't an issue so long as you don't have lots of other things running at the same time.

------------------

IDMf: Outside of porn, best cunts on the internet.
Roo Stercogburn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 06:10 PM   #11
Macspider
Granular Poster
Macspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really niceMacspider is just really nice
Macspider's Avatar
Vienna
Age: 28
Posts: 54
MC Status: 360
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stercogburn View Post
I run an i7. VSTs can still easily kill it, especially if the app (in this case DAW) is configured to only use one core or doesn't properly detect the other cores.

RAM isn't an issue so long as you don't have lots of other things running at the same time.
Well definitely, if you use Mellodyne or other raxacoricofallapatorius VSTs (to give an idea of the CPU consuption with the proper word). Or simply if you use tons of VSTs at the same time. But in this case this is not up to VSTs!
Macspider is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 06:29 PM   #12
Benwaa
Guest
Posts: n/a
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

here's a link to something that may well sort you out: [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


I guess i should also say that i have a spare drive i swap in for gigs that is purely for traktor only as mentioned in the thread linked. i never get any issues with that dedicated drive either
  Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-2016, 11:58 AM   #13
SWIM_DEEP
Analog Lurker
SWIM_DEEP is a glorious beacon of lightSWIM_DEEP is a glorious beacon of lightSWIM_DEEP is a glorious beacon of lightSWIM_DEEP is a glorious beacon of lightSWIM_DEEP is a glorious beacon of lightSWIM_DEEP is a glorious beacon of light
SWIM_DEEP's Avatar
Riga
Posts: 86
MC Status: 510
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Re: Unusual infrequent clipping in all programs

I got a traktor kontrol s4! I got a laptop with i5, 8gig, 5400rpm drive.

I'd provide links, but i'm new.

I've had major issues using kontrol s4 as the default audio interface.

First thing to do is to update the firmware and drivers for the controller, check again if did it recently.

Check NI's Windows tuning tips, it's all there.

Use latency mon while using your DAW or the Traktor application to find out about issuing drivers!

When Exactly does your audio start clipping? How much of CPU resources do you use when it clips?

So most effective things i did were:

Power plan - Switch everything and i mean everything off, use high performance mode, and disable/enable everything you can. (check Windows tuning tips by NI)

Make sure your USB port runs on full available power! (check Windows tuning tips by NI), try different ports (use usb 2.0 if possible, you will not benefit from 3.0), try disconnecting other USB devices one by one to make sure nothing is interfering)

Try using the power adapter for the controller.

I found that my issues weren't regular and changing buffer settings didn't affect shit when it clipped.

Problems happened frequently for me, but not always.

Windows 10 tends to update without you knowing. (Switching off the wifi adapter in the device manager might help)

Monitor your HDD usage, the HDD might be faulty and not work as its intended. (Defrag, clean, start up apps)

Disable CPU speedstepping (power plan or bios)

Prioritize processes and services running on your pc (check Windows tuning tips by NI)

I've done so much here, that i'm now able to use the kontrol s4 audio card with 64 samples at buffer settings. The only issue is my bad HDD which sometimes runs at 100% while reading all those tracks in FL. It freezes - it drops out.

Hope this is gonna be helpful! Cheers and don't worry, this is solvable.

:mayonesa: P.S i love this mayonesa thingy


Last edited by SWIM_DEEP; 29-02-2016 at 11:53 PM..

Advertisements

SWIM_DEEP is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
techno - cat1 - unusual sounds Knobeye Listening Booth 0 30-10-2012 11:31 PM
controllers with unusual MIDI surfaces .mute Workstation Center 37 13-07-2012 01:57 PM
3d programs? leftfoot Technology & Lifestyle 21 26-02-2012 07:03 PM
[Techno? / IDM / Unusual beats...] Touch / Stencil and Stone digable Listening Booth 3 26-02-2012 08:22 AM
cdjing vs. programs delta Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 3 23-11-2011 02:50 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.