Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Reply
Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2016, 07:03 PM   #1
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Anyone here on this config? Retina? Non Retina?

I'm experiencing some strangeness and I'd be interested if you have too. I don't particularly want to type it all out ATM (im on a gig) but a show of hands would be great.

follow up to... uh, follow later.

Please let me know! (:

Advertisements


------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:06 PM   #2
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,490
MC Status: 21310
Thanks: 373
Thanked 426 Times in 350 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Latest OS X and latest live here. Not sure the numbers but no issues other than a few little things mostly involving m4l devices, but ask away nonetheless and I will see if I can reproduce anything on my end!

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:44 PM   #3
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

have you experienced audio errors? not a drop-out per se but a sort of skip?

It is intermittent and inconsistent but god damn, its a really big bummer in a show environment like this...

I've been back and forth with the Developers at Ableton and a handful of people who are doing what I do in the industry and the devs have been unable to replicate the issue, despite several of us livesound Ableton people experiencing it.

Let me know if you experience anything like this plz!

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to chasedobson
jbvdb493 (09-27-2016)
Old 06-23-2016, 09:43 PM   #4
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,490
MC Status: 21310
Thanks: 373
Thanked 426 Times in 350 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Yeah I guess, but I am never sure if its the buffer size or the 828 tho, I was having issues with the 828 at first that affected recording as well, until I got the latest firmware and thunderbolt cable.

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 03:08 AM   #5
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

pre-retina Mac's have been solid... well, until more recent OS'es

unsure about Retina's or about OS's past 10.09. Ableton devs deny accountability, as dev's are sworn to a "no bug" policy with clients... I am dealing with a consistently intermittent issue here (get it?). There are several of us "pros" (meaning people who use this shit for a living) doing what I do out here on the road experiencing similar problems. Enough issues could cost me my job. I need a fix.

I'm considering jumping ship to another DAW for this type of use if this cant be resolved. Live used to be the most solid thing out there. sadly, its not anymore.

I had a "skip" during rehearsal/sound check today on El Cap, as a result I tested (ran the entire set) in Yosemite from my backup/redundant/synced computer and it had no issues. The show went fine, but its sort of a false sense of security as the issue is intermittent.

I'll run the show in Yosemite for the final show of the run, and wipe the HD adn back the El Cap machine to Mavericks.... it was the last known solid, non glitchy OS for Ableton.

i wish those fuckers would take this seriously. last email with the developers was something to the affect of "update the firmware on your audio interfaces and until you have an issue with OS 10.11.4 on Ableton 9.6 on RME interfaces we wont look into anything because it seems all good here" (clearly I am paraphrasing)

sick of software devs blaming interface companies. this issue has happened with the Core Audio headphone output....

ANYWHO...

anyone else having problems please chime in. strength in numbers etc.

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 03:16 AM   #6
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,490
MC Status: 21310
Thanks: 373
Thanked 426 Times in 350 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

What exactly are you doing with live, well live. As in could you replace it with hardware like say a sampler or something?
I guess you would've thought of that already.
But yeah I have had issues too, I guess but like I said I don't use my stuff nearly enough to investigate, instead I just delete a take and re record.

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 03:20 AM   #7
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

nope.

playing sets of long stems and I need them on the grid with the ability to edit.

8-12 audio stems per song, about 13-14 songs a set. no warping, no looping, justs straight audio playback. never gets the "D" lighting up for disk overload, CPU stays around 3-4%.

this SHOULD be a cakewalk.

something is amiss.

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 03:21 AM   #8
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

critical playback. i mean, me and my peers have been talking with the developers directly.

i'm just curious if this is somehow an isolated thing.

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 11:25 AM   #9
JamesJulius
Regular Freak
JamesJulius will become famous soon enoughJamesJulius will become famous soon enough
Posts: 17
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

I haven't experienced anything! I was very hesitant to update for this reason but it's all gone very smoothly. Have you tried switching between 32 and 64 bit to see if it might have anything to do with it?
JamesJulius is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 03:21 PM   #10
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

I have both installed. As well as Ableton 8 (32bit), which has, unfortunately done the same thing on OS 10.11.4

Its super frustrating. We had an audible glitch during a show in LA and it has also done the same during a couple of sound checks, Toronto and London.

I'm currently headed home for a few weeks, I will be wiping one of them and installing Mavericks. Its the last version that's been bulletproof in my experience and in the experience of some colleagues who are doing the same type of work on tour for other artists.

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 05:55 PM   #11
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,490
MC Status: 21310
Thanks: 373
Thanked 426 Times in 350 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Who are you working for? Are they playing in mtl?
Also I think an octatrack might be able to do what you need, 8 static machines = 8 audio tracks streaming off a cf card! Might be an idea.

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 09:17 PM   #12
RFJ
IDMf ArtistModerator
RFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MCRFJ is a savage MC
RFJ's Avatar
I live in California.
Age: 38
Posts: 13,012
MC Status: 199644068
Thanks: 4,630
Thanked 4,896 Times in 3,160 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

^What would he do though on the songs where he needs 12 tracks? Also at a gig like that you want to be able to see everything that's going on too and with something like an octa it just wouldn't provide the viewpoint you need. Not to mention showing up at the venue with a band aid like that is probably the quickest way to get a ticket home you could find.

@[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
; Been following your thread, just reading, since it popped up. I have nothing to offer in the way of a solution. But yeah the situation sucks man, I feel for you. That moment when it skips during the show must be crushing. I assume being as its now happened on 8 it's an IOS issue?

What a drag.

------------------
RFJ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 09:56 PM   #13
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,490
MC Status: 21310
Thanks: 373
Thanked 426 Times in 350 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Not sure how that would get him fired if it works well! Missed the 12 tracks part but even that could be worked around with trig locks.

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 04:23 AM   #14
Jaded
Total mad cunt
Jaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MC
Jaded's Avatar
Posts: 4,156
MC Status: 6893659
Thanks: 4,342
Thanked 3,289 Times in 1,999 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

I haven't had any real problems on 10.11.5. Well, not unless I use latest gen plugins. But I kind of put that down to running them on a 6 year old laptop and the stuttering and shit is down to the fact that my CPU jumps to 84% when I load up 20 Reaktor blocks.

It's almost getting time to upgrade...

------------------
For reference:
Quote:
Originally Posted by God*

satan = f i d
my master, my god, my lord and savior = f i d d y
my boner = f i d e l i u m

* I am not God.
Jaded is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 04:41 PM   #15
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbvdb493 View Post
Who are you working for? Are they playing in mtl?
Also I think an octatrack might be able to do what you need, 8 static machines = 8 audio tracks streaming off a cf card! Might be an idea.
Tegan and Sara.

I need to be able to freely edit the show on the timeline as needed and I need 8 (maybe more for fall tour) outs to hit monitors and FOH, so Octa is out.

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2016, 04:45 PM   #16
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by RFJ View Post

@[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
; Been following your thread, just reading, since it popped up. I have nothing to offer in the way of a solution. But yeah the situation sucks man, I feel for you. That moment when it skips during the show must be crushing. I assume being as its now happened on 8 it's an IOS issue?

What a drag.
Yeah it is. I monitor the show on a wireless pack for IEM's, its gotten to the point where the typical, occasional audio drop out in the wireless (Im often tucked away to a spot where the antennas aren't) causes a fucking mini stroke.

I'll update this thread when I have put one of the computers on Mavericks. I've read some deep threads at Apple about OS's 10.10 and up having some internal clocking issues, its a rabbit hole. Its a real drag at the moment because Ableton deny's being the problem. I've been doing variations of this gig for the past 5 years now and this is the worst I've ever had it.... fucking stupid.

Chasing down OS'es is the name of the game over the next week or so....

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to chasedobson
RFJ (06-28-2016)
Old 06-27-2016, 04:46 PM   #17
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded View Post
I haven't had any real problems on 10.11.5. Well, not unless I use latest gen plugins. But I kind of put that down to running them on a 6 year old laptop and the stuttering and shit is down to the fact that my CPU jumps to 84% when I load up 20 Reaktor blocks.

It's almost getting time to upgrade...

Fucked up part? No plugins. I do all of that shit in a separate session. I ensure that my show hits less than 5% of the CPU by having no warped files and no live plugins in the session. I want my sets to be a streamlined as they can be....

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to chasedobson
RFJ (06-28-2016)
Old 09-27-2016, 05:38 AM   #18
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,022
MC Status: 1526727
Thanks: 937
Thanked 1,770 Times in 1,147 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]



not just me.

------------------
chasedobson is online now   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2016, 04:32 AM   #19
Jaded
Total mad cunt
Jaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MC
Jaded's Avatar
Posts: 4,156
MC Status: 6893659
Thanks: 4,342
Thanked 3,289 Times in 1,999 Posts
Re: Ableton Live 8 or 9 on OSX 10.11

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasedobson View Post
Yeah I was reading NI's article the other day and realised, oh my computer's not as shit as I thought it was... thanks Apple!

Advertisements


------------------
For reference:
Quote:
Originally Posted by God*

satan = f i d
my master, my god, my lord and savior = f i d d y
my boner = f i d e l i u m

* I am not God.
Jaded is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ableton Live and thinking about live set composition... RFJ Hardware and Gear 20 12-27-2014 12:28 AM
ABLETON LIVE 9 crashes when I try to save the live set underground777 Introduce Yourself 1 09-07-2013 12:26 PM
Ableton live 8 Problem - ableton stuck on initializing application TSDREX The Studio 13 07-13-2013 09:14 PM
Ableton Live in a live [band] setting p0seur The Studio 22 03-01-2013 02:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.