96 PPQ is probably enough
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Workstation Center Digital audio workstations (DAW), trackers, sequencers and programming.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2015, 03:49 PM   #1
Nystagmus
Savage Mad Cunt
Nystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MCNystagmus is a savage MC
Nystagmus's Avatar
Planet Earth; 2017 AD.
Posts: 3,801
MC Status: 65410
Thanks: 3,367
Thanked 1,308 Times in 987 Posts
Icon4 96 PPQ is probably enough

I was just doing some more reading about DAW stuff and it turns out that using really high PPQ settings can affect CPU load.

It's interesting because many classic drum machines only had a PPQ of 96 and that's FL Studio's current default setting already.

So if you're using a program that has it set high, you can lower it and maybe get more CPU cycles back. I looked at my Reaper settings and it was 960 which I definately don't need.

If you usually quantize everything 96 is enough. But even if you don't quantize everything, 96 might still be enough. PPQ resolution only really matters for performance events that don't happen on a grid.

96 PPQ = 48 pulses per eighth note = 24 pulses per sixteenth note = 12 pulses per thirty-second note = 6 pulses per sixty-fourth note = 3 pulses per 128th note

Most people don't even go beyond 32nd notes and 3 pulses is still enough for a tiny triplet.

PPQ might matter more if you are synchronizing MIDI to film/video or using MIDI to record sound effects or lighting events happening at exact frame times.

The FL Studio info says that anything greater than 192 starts to tax the CPU.

Even for note off timings, 96 is still enough. And it's a very common number so it's compatible with a lot of other stuff.

Last edited by Nystagmus; 10-11-2015 at 10:33 PM..

Advertisements


------------------
Mutually-Assured Survival is preferred.

Be a false negative of yourself !
Nystagmus is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 06:41 PM   #2
BlindfoldKnobs
Minor Glitch
BlindfoldKnobs will become famous soon enoughBlindfoldKnobs will become famous soon enough
BlindfoldKnobs's Avatar
Posts: 39
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

96 PPQ is more than enough for Dance music.
BlindfoldKnobs is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2016, 06:45 PM   #3
relic
IDMf SupporterModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 16,956
MC Status: 8532980
Thanks: 10,430
Thanked 6,841 Times in 4,870 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

Hey man. All this stuff is over my head, but wanted to say good to see you around again Nystagmus.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to relic
Nystagmus (25-11-2016)
Old 12-11-2016, 01:49 PM   #4
Parricide
.
Parricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MC
Parricide's Avatar
Posts: 6,294
MC Status: 18024319
Thanks: 637
Thanked 486 Times in 394 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

i havent got anything to add, but you did bring it to my attention that neither PPQ nor TPQN were in the A to Z. thanks! now our A to Z is officially better than the music radar one


EDIT:

i feel like i should add to the thread now though :/ for what its worth, i have never had to change any PPQ settings and i dont even know what the default settings of any DAW i use is.
i do tend to work at higher BPMs than average though, but i would imagine at the extreme end of low BPMs you might start to notice

------------------
signature loading...
Parricide is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 07:29 PM   #5
DjRapitops
IDMf Supporter
DjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond reputeDjRapitops has a reputation beyond repute
DjRapitops's Avatar
Helsinki
Age: 21
Posts: 154
MC Status: 2010
Thanks: 33
Thanked 40 Times in 30 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

I did wonder what that setting was actually doing and why it affected CPU load, thanks!

------------------
DjRapitops is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 12:44 PM   #6
Kenophos
Granular Poster
Kenophos is a splendid one to beholdKenophos is a splendid one to beholdKenophos is a splendid one to beholdKenophos is a splendid one to beholdKenophos is a splendid one to beholdKenophos is a splendid one to behold
Kenophos's Avatar
Posts: 52
MC Status: 660
Thanks: 21
Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

I wonder if it's possible to change the PPQ in Ableton. I haven't found anything about it sadly.

Last edited by Kenophos; 01-03-2017 at 01:23 PM..

------------------
Soundcloud / Bandcamp (to be found here: ambient/drone/glitch/techno/IDM)
Kenophos is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 09:42 PM   #7
professurreal
IDMf Artist
professurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MC
professurreal's Avatar
at the end of the tunnel
Age: 36
Posts: 2,384
MC Status: 59310
Thanks: 1,531
Thanked 1,186 Times in 789 Posts
96 PPQ is probably enough

Never even knew there was such a thing but after reading about it it makes a lot of sense. Thanks for reminding me once more that the learning never ends.

------------------
professurreal is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to professurreal
Parricide (08-03-2017)
Old 08-03-2017, 03:16 AM   #8
Parricide
.
Parricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MCParricide is a savage MC
Parricide's Avatar
Posts: 6,294
MC Status: 18024319
Thanks: 637
Thanked 486 Times in 394 Posts
Re: 96 PPQ is probably enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenophos View Post
I wonder if it's possible to change the PPQ in Ableton. I haven't found anything about it sadly.
i cant find an answer either, which is surprising for live

Advertisements


------------------
signature loading...
Parricide is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.