Been producing for 6 years but don't feel very confident in my skills.
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Go Back » The Studio » The Studio
Old 09-16-2016, 07:29 AM   #1
MatrixGravity
Radial Developer
MatrixGravity will become famous soon enough
New York
MC Status: 60
Been producing for 6 years but don't feel very confident in my skills.

Hi everyone. I have been producing on and off since 2010. I have experimented with various genres over the years, but now I mainly make house/trap/ambient. The problem that I have is that I don't understand many of the technical aspects of producing. I find myself generally just tweaking knobs until they produce a pleasant sound or effect. I don't understand how EQs, Compressors, Plugins, Effect Chains, Parameters (ADSR), etc really work. I find myself using presets for virtually everything and I just don't know how to utilize these powerful tools to improve my music. I feel like this lack of knowledge is really hindering me from reaching my full potential so I want to go back to basics and really learn things the right way..

So in what order should I try to learn these things? I realize there probably isn't a "specific" order but I guess ranging from the basic to intermediate and beyond. I want to be able to understand all the broad technical terminology, as well as understand how to properly EQ and use Compression, and utilize effect chains properly, etc. Just an overall grasp on the fundamentals that I never bothered to learn to begin with cause I was too lazy and complacent making music mindlessly.. I really enjoy making music but I feel very overwhelmed because of how broad the technical aspect of it is, and there is so much to learn but I'm just not sure where to really begin. I believe I have a lot of catching up to do, but better late than never I guess. Thanks~

Advertisements

MatrixGravity is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2016, 08:31 AM   #2
Schnork
Ghostly