completely new to
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 14-09-2012, 09:41 PM   #1
nooblord
Learning The Ropes
nooblord is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
completely new to

I'm just a noob who one day decided that others should hear the melodies inside his head as well.

I'm at the stage of trying to produce the sounds I want from synthesizers. Not much luck.

I can't really find any tutorial on actually making sounds you need, just how to use specific synths (where each menu is, but not what the menu does).

I'm using a somewhat buggy program, LMMS, but I love the UI. I've tried Reaper before but it wasn't my cup of tea.
Anyway, LMMS supports VSTs so I'm ready to learn from any example.

The things I want to learn are, again, synth-agnostic.
I want to know:
1) which wave shapes should be used for what "instrument"
2) how do different oscillator "combine modes" work and which is better for which sound
3) envelopes
4) LFOs
5) common filters and what they are useful for. I only could find info and understand high/low pass filter, reverb and echo.

BTW, I have some programming background so I might not mind understanding the technical details if it'll help understand some things better.

Advertisements

nooblord is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2012, 10:16 PM   #2
Barry Acid
Eternal Echoer
Barry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MCBarry Acid is a savage MC
Dublin
MC Status: 77072
Re: completely new to synths

Quote:
Originally Posted by nooblord View Post

1) which wave shapes should be used for what "instrument"