Monitors give off a static sound
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


The Studio All discussions relating to sound design, mixing techniques, music theory, composition, and gear.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 26-05-2014, 05:13 AM   #1
Chaotix
Savage Mad Cunt
Chaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MC
Chaotix's Avatar
Vancouver
Posts: 1,294
MC Status: 753000
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Monitors give off a static sound

I just got a pair of HS8's and i plugged them into my focusrite preamp. Everything is set up correctly and I'm using high quality TRS balanced cables. Anybody had this before? It's almost like your internet modem going all funky back in the day when your cell phone was about to ring.

I've read it could be my Imac, I was just wondering if anybody had any fixes as it get's pretty annoying when nothing is being played through them.

Advertisements


------------------
Chaotix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 06:58 AM   #2
Dippshoe
cunt
Dippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MC
Dippshoe's Avatar
In an abandoned cave covered by mist in the depths of Jotunheimen.
Age: 26
Posts: 1,432
MC Status: 12810
Thanks: 195
Thanked 256 Times in 210 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

I dropped the whole TRS-cables because they gave off way too much noise. Didn't bother narrow down the problem. Running my speakers on xlr-cables now. No noise at all

------------------

'Don't be an idiot.' Changed my life.
-Dwight Schrute.
Dippshoe is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 10:26 AM   #3
lolirl
Savage Mad Cunt
lolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MC
lolirl's Avatar
Posts: 14,234
MC Status: 744043391
Thanks: 11,076
Thanked 7,519 Times in 4,650 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

TRS and XLR are just different configurations of the same thing, so as long as you're going from balanced outs to balanced ins, which style cable you use shouldn't be an issue.

Are you sure you're using balanced cables and not just instrument cables? (TS)


What happens when you run your iMac off the battery?
lolirl is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 07:47 PM   #4
Chaotix
Savage Mad Cunt
Chaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MC
Chaotix's Avatar
Vancouver
Posts: 1,294
MC Status: 753000
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

I'm not too sure what you mean by run it off the battery as it's always getting power from an outlet. I'll post up a video later of what's happening and all the cords I'm using. I think it may be my imac making them buzz.

------------------
Chaotix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 09:49 PM   #5
relic
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistModerator
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 17,804
MC Status: 8564530
Thanks: 11,303
Thanked 7,472 Times in 5,276 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Could be a ground loop (you can google that), as you say it could be HDD noise or something else from the mac coming through the audio interface.

Static sounds more like bad/cheap/incorrect cords or a ground loop. Computer noise usually sounds like...well...a computer ;p

You might try plugging your monitors into a different wall socket than the rest of your gear.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 10:24 PM   #6
Numerical
IDMf Artist
Numerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MC
Numerical's Avatar
Austin
Age: 40
Posts: 10,751
MC Status: 45947981
Thanks: 6,812
Thanked 5,796 Times in 3,640 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Sometimes laptops being plugged into the wall socket will cause the noise, hence lolirl's question about using a laptop battery instead.
Numerical is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Numerical
relic (26-05-2014)
Old 26-05-2014, 10:46 PM   #7
Dippshoe
cunt
Dippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MCDippshoe is a savage MC
Dippshoe's Avatar
In an abandoned cave covered by mist in the depths of Jotunheimen.
Age: 26
Posts: 1,432
MC Status: 12810
Thanks: 195
Thanked 256 Times in 210 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Numerical View Post
Sometimes laptops being plugged into the wall socket will cause the noise, hence lolirl's question about using a laptop battery instead.
iMac is not a laptop, that's where the confusion is, I guess.

------------------

'Don't be an idiot.' Changed my life.
-Dwight Schrute.
Dippshoe is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 10:48 PM   #8
Numerical
IDMf Artist
Numerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MC
Numerical's Avatar
Austin
Age: 40
Posts: 10,751
MC Status: 45947981
Thanks: 6,812
Thanked 5,796 Times in 3,640 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Ah I see. Yeah pc user here. No iAnything in sight.
Numerical is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 26-05-2014, 11:22 PM   #9
strkssinthes
Soundscaper
strkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MCstrkssinthes is a savage MC
strkssinthes's Avatar
Age: 30
Posts: 349
MC Status: 38420
Thanks: 42
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Picking up a power conditioner got rid of pretty much all noise and interface caused by the shitty electricity in my apartment. I think anyone with high end equipment should be using something like this:

Amazon.com: Furman M-8x Merit Series 8 Outlet Power Conditioner and Surge Protector: Musical Instruments [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

------------------
strkssinthes is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 01:11 AM   #10
Chaotix
Savage Mad Cunt
Chaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MC
Chaotix's Avatar
Vancouver
Posts: 1,294
MC Status: 753000
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Strkssinthes I'll definitely look into that! thanks! Anyways here is the video, and the cables I'm using.

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
VIDEO


------------------
Chaotix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 01:58 AM   #11
Chaotix
Savage Mad Cunt
Chaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MC
Chaotix's Avatar
Vancouver
Posts: 1,294
MC Status: 753000
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

I should actually note that when I move my mouse around, they pick up more static.

------------------
Chaotix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 04:49 AM   #12
Jaded
Total mad cunt
Jaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MC
Jaded's Avatar
Posts: 4,290
MC Status: 6906609
Thanks: 4,784
Thanked 3,548 Times in 2,148 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

^ Is your mouse wireless?

Also, I'd recommend switching everything off and working your way back up the chain to identify where the noise is coming from. Eg: does the noise start when you fire up the preamp, or the computer etc etc.

Also, try powering the speakers using a powerpoint which you know is on a different circuit. etc etc.
Jaded is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 06:22 AM   #13
Chaotix
Savage Mad Cunt
Chaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MC
Chaotix's Avatar
Vancouver
Posts: 1,294
MC Status: 753000
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded View Post
^ Is your mouse wireless?

Also, I'd recommend switching everything off and working your way back up the chain to identify where the noise is coming from. Eg: does the noise start when you fire up the preamp, or the computer etc etc.

Also, try powering the speakers using a powerpoint which you know is on a different circuit. etc etc.
No my mouse isn't wireless. When i turn my Imac off the static goes away. They still make a slight hiss, but i think most monitors make a little sound do they not?

The focusrite preamp is brand new, so it can't be that. They still have static when i tried my old m-box instead.. so it's not the preamps. the cables are brand new, and i bought the more expensive ones.

I think it has to do with my imac. I came across this on the net [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


There were a few ideas in there, but I thought i'd ask you guys since I'm sure some of you have encountered this before.

------------------
Chaotix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 09:26 AM   #14
Jaded
Total mad cunt
Jaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MCJaded is a savage MC
Jaded's Avatar
Posts: 4,290
MC Status: 6906609
Thanks: 4,784
Thanked 3,548 Times in 2,148 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Yeah bro. The advice in that thread should solve your problem. The easiest solution, if possible, is just to plug the iMac into a different power outlet. It's pretty poor design on Apple's part, considering how many people buy their hardware exclusively for production work... Good luck with it matey.
Jaded is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 10:47 AM   #15
lolirl
Savage Mad Cunt
lolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MC
lolirl's Avatar
Posts: 14,234
MC Status: 744043391
Thanks: 11,076
Thanked 7,519 Times in 4,650 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dippshoe View Post
iMac is not a laptop, that's where the confusion is, I guess.
Lol, I thought it was, sorry Chaotix.
lolirl is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 02:58 PM   #16
Chaotix
Savage Mad Cunt
Chaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MCChaotix is a savage MC
Chaotix's Avatar
Vancouver
Posts: 1,294
MC Status: 753000
Thanks: 26
Thanked 32 Times in 29 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded View Post
Yeah bro. The advice in that thread should solve your problem. The easiest solution, if possible, is just to plug the iMac into a different power outlet. It's pretty poor design on Apple's part, considering how many people buy their hardware exclusively for production work... Good luck with it matey.
Yeah i think isolating the Imac onto it's own power source helped a bit, doesn't seem as bad as it was before. This is at least bearable until I figure out a full fix. It does seem kind of silly on Apples part.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolirl View Post
Lol, I thought it was, sorry Chaotix.
No worries! You were just trying to help.

------------------
Chaotix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-2014, 03:22 PM   #17
lolirl
Savage Mad Cunt
lolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MC
lolirl's Avatar
Posts: 14,234
MC Status: 744043391
Thanks: 11,076
Thanked 7,519 Times in 4,650 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Did you read the bit on the link you posted about it being a faulty monitor (display) issue?
lolirl is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 28-05-2014, 05:42 AM   #18
Mobilio
Soundscaper
Mobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MCMobilio is a savage MC
Mobilio's Avatar
Los Angeles
Posts: 373
MC Status: 3997473
Thanks: 5
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaded View Post
Yeah bro. The advice in that thread should solve your problem. The easiest solution, if possible, is just to plug the iMac into a different power outlet. It's pretty poor design on Apple's part, considering how many people buy their hardware exclusively for production work... Good luck with it matey.
I second what Jaded said. It's the best approach to troubleshoot. I would also try a different source like a different computer just to see if the noise is still there.
Mobilio is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 06:37 AM   #19
Wapiti Wisdom
Regular Freak
Wapiti Wisdom has a spectacular aura aboutWapiti Wisdom has a spectacular aura about
Posts: 17
MC Status: 160
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaotix View Post
I just got a pair of HS8's and i plugged them into my focusrite preamp. Everything is set up correctly and I'm using high quality TRS balanced cables. Anybody had this before? It's almost like your internet modem going all funky back in the day when your cell phone was about to ring.

I've read it could be my Imac, I was just wondering if anybody had any fixes as it get's pretty annoying when nothing is being played through them.
Is your audio card plugged directly into your computer? Audio cards can pick up a lot of interference from the computer if the usb/firewire is directly plugged in. You could try an an external USB/firewire hub (depending on your audio card type). I found this was a perfect solution for me, the Hubs are quite affordable too if I recall

Ideal speakers are on their own circuit in your studio, if you have any other electronics plugged into the same circuit that will give your speakers some noise. It's not ideal in home studios or even possible to have a separate circuit. try getting some high end home theater power bars that are designed to keep the interference out of your speakers.

make sure your cables are grounded like xlr

Wapiti Wisdom
Wapiti Wisdom is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2014, 09:07 AM   #20
TheWizar
Savage Mad Cunt
TheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MCTheWizar is a savage MC
TheWizar's Avatar
Vermont
Age: 26
Posts: 1,211
MC Status: 4837848
Thanks: 35
Thanked 209 Times in 171 Posts
Re: Monitors give off a static sound

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wapiti Wisdom View Post
Is your audio card plugged directly into your computer? Audio cards can pick up a lot of interference from the computer if the usb/firewire is directly plugged in. You could try an an external USB/firewire hub (depending on your audio card type). I found this was a perfect solution for me, the Hubs are quite affordable too if I recall

Ideal speakers are on their own circuit in your studio, if you have any other electronics plugged into the same circuit that will give your speakers some noise. It's not ideal in home studios or even possible to have a separate circuit. try getting some high end home theater power bars that are designed to keep the interference out of your speakers.

make sure your cables are grounded like xlr

Wapiti Wisdom
I actually had the same exact thing happen to me when I was using a pci bus card. I think what happens is that there is a resistance between the different components of a computer and the power supply, causing the voltage (or possibly the ground?) to dip slightly whenever there is some sort of activity. Right now I'm using a bus powered firewire interface, which seems to not have the noise issue my onboard had. Better filtering on the power supply I guess?

Anyway, if you're using an onboard card as your source that's the first thing I'd look at.

In other news, it turns out I'm only using TS cables when my whole system supports balanced. I don't seem to get a lot of noise from it despite the loaded powerstrip next to my speakers, so, whatever I guess.

Advertisements

TheWizar is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ableton: Vinyl Static/ Lo-fi static sound Syncopate Life The Studio 17 24-12-2012 06:24 AM
[Electro Dance] Static-2 SigmaStrain Listening Booth 0 21-03-2012 07:29 AM
[WIP] Thrown In Static rewriter Listening Booth 1 03-10-2011 09:57 AM
techniques for removing static bushofghosts Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 17 23-09-2011 11:32 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:18 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.