Useful Max For Live devices
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Workstation Center Digital audio workstations (DAW), trackers, sequencers and programming.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 08-04-2014, 11:22 AM   #1
Paky82
Minor Glitch
Paky82 will become famous soon enough
Posts: 38
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Ableton live: control any parameter using only one knob

Hi there,
unfortunately i can't post in the right section yet (Workstation center),
and i hope mods forgive me and can transfer this post in the right section.

Hope to be useful to give you a cool Ableton Live tip: control every parameter in Live using only one knob.
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
you can find all info and download link.
notice: you need Max for Live

now my question:
is possible to set one knob of NI Maschine controller in this way or one knob of my keyboard M-Audio Axiom 25? (Without Max for Live)
exemple min 6:18 of [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

if yes how i can do?

I have the default map downloaded from NI Service Center and it doesn't work in this way.
and i know is possible to set several controllers (example novation nocturn) with only one knob for any parameter of Live.
All to do is a click on the parameter with the mouse and use the setted knob.
tks..

Advertisements

Paky82 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 11:42 AM   #2
Benwaa
Guest
Posts: n/a
Useful Max For Live devices

Post your favourite/most useful M4L devices and links to them too!

here's my favourite:

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


  Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Benwaa
chasedobson (26-05-2016)
Old 08-04-2014, 11:44 AM   #3
professurreal
IDMf Artist
professurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MC
professurreal's Avatar
at the end of the tunnel
Age: 37
Posts: 2,382
MC Status: 59510
Thanks: 1,534
Thanked 1,190 Times in 791 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]



And a shameful self-plug :

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

Description:

-can randomly modulate any device parameter
-randomness can be limited by reducing the maximum size of steps between values (% of total modulation range)
-rate of modulation can be set (synced to bpm)
-can select parameter range within which the randomization happens




This is also pretty useful for Live sets:

'Kapture' saves the state of your Live Set as a preset that can be instantly recalled.
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

Last edited by professurreal; 08-04-2014 at 11:49 AM..

------------------
professurreal is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:25 PM   #4
Paky82
Minor Glitch
Paky82 will become famous soon enough
Posts: 38
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

thank you for support.
about my question do you know if is possible to do without M4L?
Paky82 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:50 PM   #5
professurreal
IDMf Artist
professurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MC
professurreal's Avatar
at the end of the tunnel
Age: 37
Posts: 2,382
MC Status: 59510
Thanks: 1,534
Thanked 1,190 Times in 791 Posts
Re: Ableton live: control any parameter using only one knob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paky82 View Post
now my question:
is possible to set one knob of NI Maschine controller in this way or one knob of my keyboard M-Audio Axiom 25? (Without Max for Live)
exemple min 6:18 of [Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

if yes how i can do?
Sorry but I don't understand what you want to do. Could you please explain it a bit more? Do you just want to map the decay to a knob on your controller?

------------------
professurreal is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 02:10 PM   #6
Paky82
Minor Glitch
Paky82 will become famous soon enough
Posts: 38
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

no just use the automap function typic of novation controllers for my NI maschine midi controller

example: i put an autofilter in a Ableton channel. i select the envelope parameter with the mouse and edit the position with a Knob (suppose knob 1 ) of Machine. well then i select with the mouse the attack parameter and edit the position with the same knob (knob 1)
i will use one knob for any parameter of live.
look at the video linked in my post and you can understand what i mean. go to minute 6:16 and you can see that he's working on impulse instrument and he change the parameter in this way. for sure this guy has a novation controller.
Paky82 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 04:04 PM   #7
professurreal
IDMf Artist
professurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MC
professurreal's Avatar
at the end of the tunnel
Age: 37
Posts: 2,382
MC Status: 59510
Thanks: 1,534
Thanked 1,190 Times in 791 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paky82 View Post
no just use the automap function typic of novation controllers for my NI maschine midi controller

example: i put an autofilter in a Ableton channel. i select the envelope parameter with the mouse and edit the position with a Knob (suppose knob 1 ) of Machine. well then i select with the mouse the attack parameter and edit the position with the same knob (knob 1)
i will use one knob for any parameter of live.
look at the video linked in my post and you can understand what i mean. go to minute 6:16 and you can see that he's working on impulse instrument and he change the parameter in this way. for sure this guy has a novation controller.
Oh OK, I know what you mean. My answer would be: no, because if you could what would be the purpose of the max4live plugin?

Maybe this could be done with custom controller maps like the ones you select where you setup the midi devices but I don't know anything about how they are created or if you can even import your own...
I guess it should work with the Novation Automap but I've never really used it (I have a launchpad).

------------------
professurreal is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 04:23 PM   #8
lolirl
Savage Mad Cunt
lolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MClolirl is a savage MC
lolirl's Avatar
Posts: 14,270
MC Status: 744040641
Thanks: 11,028
Thanked 7,464 Times in 4,621 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
lolirl is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 07:58 PM   #9
ms_
IDMf Artist
ms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MC
ms_'s Avatar
Posts: 3,334
MC Status: 123160
Thanks: 737
Thanked 2,463 Times in 1,442 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Here, I've made this earlier, it's called "teh mystery button".
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]

------------------
ms_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:52 PM   #10
Paky82
Minor Glitch
Paky82 will become famous soon enough
Posts: 38
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by ms_ View Post
Here, I've made this earlier, it's called "teh mystery button".
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
Is it a script? What exactly does and how it works?
I'm not sure how to use it in ableton.
Paky82 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 08:15 AM   #11
Kvlt O)))
Is a retard
Kvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MC
Posts: 6,753
MC Status: 153560
Thanks: 3,344
Thanked 3,071 Times in 2,153 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by ms_ View Post
Here, I've made this earlier, it's called "teh mystery button".
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]
Last time I tried this I couldn't figure out how it worked (?). Do you have a way that I can ?
Kvlt O))) is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 08:25 AM   #12
ms_
IDMf Artist
ms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MCms_ is a savage MC
ms_'s Avatar
Posts: 3,334
MC Status: 123160
Thanks: 737
Thanked 2,463 Times in 1,442 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kvlt O))) View Post
Last time I tried this I couldn't figure out how it worked (?). Do you have a way that I can ?
You got it working before, just double click or drag that file straight to Live. I should have included readme file. What it does? It's a mystery.

------------------
ms_ is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 08:32 AM   #13
Kvlt O)))
Is a retard
Kvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MCKvlt O))) is a savage MC
Posts: 6,753
MC Status: 153560
Thanks: 3,344
Thanked 3,071 Times in 2,153 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Aye mon twas jokes

Will try version 2, though. I'm in a rush to get binaural tinnitus instead this normal kind
Kvlt O))) is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-2014, 07:31 PM   #14
5th Spear
Knob Twiddler
5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute5th Spear has a reputation beyond repute
5th Spear's Avatar
Cardiff
Age: 29
Posts: 198
MC Status: 2460
Thanks: 28
Thanked 49 Times in 36 Posts
Re: Useful Max For Live devices

Download Pd...

Take the input of the midi controller and split it to multiple midi CCs. Would be a very simple patch to create, you'd just need to run PD in the background, and make sure you've got either IAC bus activated in Mac OS or whatever the windows alternative is.

Pd is essentially a rougher looking version of Max, and does many of the same things, just not integrated into Live, but it's free.

There's a thread lying around here somewhere of people doing projects, maybe ask someone to quickly make one for you?

Edit: It would be a pain in the ass to map to each parameter but still possible...

Last edited by 5th Spear; 17-04-2014 at 07:33 PM.. Reason: Adding comment

Advertisements


------------------
5th Spear is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max4Live devices .at/on Modular software & programming 17 28-09-2013 06:47 PM
iOS devices on PC Spiritos The Studio 6 05-06-2013 08:25 PM
Max4Live devices professurreal The Studio 17 26-05-2013 06:06 AM
Using MIDI mappings for multiple duplicate, devices in live. stem collector The Studio 1 17-04-2012 04:27 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.