Oliver Huntemann releases PLAY! 04
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    

Techno Techno Techno Techno Techno

Go Back » Music By Genre » Techno
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-2012, 04:22 PM   #1
Regular Freak
BVDM is currently spamming hard
Posts: 20
MC Status: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oliver Huntemann releases PLAY! 04

Oliver Huntemann follows the release of his artist album ‘Paranoia’ with the next instalment of the PLAY! Series. The fourth edition is recorded live from the ‘Roxanne Parlour’ in Melbourne Australia, and is preceded by a new EP release.

The PLAY! series is one that has charted the career of an electronic music pioneer, whilst providing a snapshot of the varying nuances of performing at some of the world’s most revered venues and locations.

The first three outings; D-Edge in Sao Paolo; Rex Club in Paris; and Cielo in NYC respectively, all received critical acclaim. Oliver has now spread his wings further afield and brings a sunshine-influenced mix from the down under. The result is typical of that from an Oliver Huntemann mix…both effortless, and impressive.

Spread over 2CD’s, PLAY! 04 is an accurate representation of the music Oliver is currently playing at his DJ gigs, and the selection reminds us why he has remained relevant for nearly two decades. Recorded live, the balanced mix relays the natural energy of the dance-floor and the gig, whilst also indicating that the listening experience is in the hands of an artist who has a clear vision for his musical journeys.

Drawing on a range of labels, from the most established techno disseminators in ‘Minus/Plus 8’ and ‘Ovum’, right through to those representative of newer sounds in ‘Dirtybird’ and ‘Rekids’, the mix demonstrates and merges the nuances of the contemporary electronic scene.

Naturally there are a handful of productions from his own Ideal Audio imprint; not only the gems ‘Magnet’ and ‘Delirium’ from last year’s concept album ‘Paranoia’, but also tracks from Oliver’s production partner André Winter, and upcoming French producers Remain & Electric Rescue.

Noteworthy highlights are the Sebastian Radlmeier track on CD1, with its mischievous, pleasant synths; the massive Matthew Jonson remix of VCMG’s ‘Single Bleep’ and the more left-field sounds of Claude von Stroke & Eats Everything’s ‘Ignorance Is Bliss’.

Following a natural break in the set, CD2 quickly picks up where CD1 left off. The punishing topline of his own ‘Delirium’ fits brilliantly with the melody of Matador’s newest offering ‘Kenekt’. Patrice Bäumel’s new release ‘Chase’ on ‘Systematic’ provides some killer drum breaks, before Radio Slave’s ‘N.I.N.A’ delivers its soulful bouncy beat. The mix finishes with the euphoric offers of Huntemann’s ‘The End’ A fantastic way to end this journey

Few would argue that Huntemann delivers powerful and intricate music. Once again he delivers a musical experience that nods to his longevity, but also his acceptance of the changing dynamics within electronica.

In addition to the new forthcoming ‘PLAY! 04 Live in Melbourne’ release, Oliver Huntemann is also releasing an EP comprising two dark tracks that are awash with his unique musical stamp.

On the A side is Tasmanian Tiger, a pulsating, warbling, synth driven track whose breakdown gives way to a teasing peak-climbing journey before the track’s mesmorising crescendo. A track that is certain to be used by headliners in peak time slots in the coming months.

Side B is ‘Melbourne’, which also features on CD1 of the new ‘PLAY!’ compilation. It involves dark, deep and driving drum patterns, but also synths that give off the intensity and warmth of a hot sunny day. Hefty amount of heads-down hands-up moments throughout this one.

Oliver is one of the few revered producers in the scene who is unrivalled in his ability to construct deceptively intricate yet powerful songs.This is illustrated by the fact that he has remixed the likes of Underworld, the Chemical Brothers and Depeche Mode.

Album Tracklist:
01 Simian Mobile Disco - Put Your Hands Together - (Wichita Recordings)
02 Claude von Stroke & Eats Everything - Ignorance Is Bliss (Dirtybird)
03 Nick Harris - Her Black Wings (Poker Flat Recordings)
04 Namito & Argenis Britto - The Bird (Systematic Recordings)
05 Nico Lahs - Peace Of Mine (Poker Flat Recordings)
06 Maetrik - Acid Uprock (Regular)
07 Tony Rohr - Filterful (H-Productions)
08 Oliver Huntemann - Melbourne (Ideal Audio)
09 Sebastian Radlmeier - Is It Me Or Is It You? (Ideal Audio)
10 VCMG - Single Bleep (Matthew Jonson Remix) (Mute Artists)
11 André Winter - Black Mail (Ideal Audio)
12 Oliver Huntemann - Magnet (Ideal Audio)
13 Hobo - Omega Point (Minus)

01 Remain & Electric Rescue - ERMA (Ideal Audio)
02 Alexi Delano - Brooklyn Formula (H-Productions)
03 Brian Sanhaji - 2000Watt (Sonata Music)
04 Steve Parker - Interstate (Ovum Recordings)
05 Oliver Huntemann - Delirium (Ideal Audio)
06 Uto Karem - Take Control (Plus 8 Records)
07 Quince - Soba (Green)
08 Matador - Kenekt (Minus)
09 Patrice Bäumel - Chase (Systematic Recordings)
10 Radio Slave - N.I.N.A. (Rekids)
11 Oliver Huntemann - The End (Ideal Audio)


BVDM is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oliver Edwards - Producer/DJ from Barcelona Oliver Edwards Introduce Yourself 0 25-03-2012 05:10 PM
Anybody play Xbox? Post your GT and games you play YoMyEX The Side Room 1 18-03-2012 03:48 PM

All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:20 PM.

Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.