Cubase sx workload
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Technology & Lifestyle Gadgets, gaming, computers and new inventions. This forum is not used for music production.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2017, 09:30 PM   #1
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2960
Thanks: 25
Thanked 59 Times in 46 Posts
Cubase sx workload

Quick question.

Why does Cubase SX starts to stutter coz of the overload while alt+tab says memory usage 30%, procesor around same number.

Is there any kind of system to dedicate more memory to cubase, am I missing something very simple?

It is coz of the overload but why if usage is 30%

Advertisements


------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 11:49 AM   #2
Roo Stercogburn
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistAdministrator
Roo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MC
Roo Stercogburn's Avatar
On horseback
Posts: 10,529
MC Status: 42388499
Thanks: 1,225
Thanked 5,090 Times in 3,319 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

It might not be memory, it might be disk streaming is your problem. Does Cubase give you any diagnostic tools? Is your anti-virus going nuts or a windows download occuring at the same time?

------------------
Roo Stercogburn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 01:36 PM   #3
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2960
Thanks: 25
Thanked 59 Times in 46 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stercogburn View Post
It might not be memory, it might be disk streaming is your problem. Does Cubase give you any diagnostic tools? Is your anti-virus going nuts or a windows download occuring at the same time?
I don't know when windows 10 download things and does it go nuts at that time.
My cubase is on SSD drive and VST*s are on hard drive. Hard drive works fine on pc games, never noticed problem about HDD

------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 04:50 PM   #4
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
My hell
Posts: 829
MC Status: 8610
Thanks: 158
Thanked 172 Times in 141 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

set priority to high in task manager, tell us your specs, and also i would recommend going back to windows 7

------------------
sent from another world
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 04:53 PM   #5
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2960
Thanks: 25
Thanked 59 Times in 46 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Quote:
Originally Posted by D42K732202 View Post
set priority to high in task manager, tell us your specs, and also i would recommend going back to windows 7
Priority is high.

FX 8350 procesor
16 gb ram
SSD 250 gb, HDD 1TB
GTX 1060 G1 graphic card
Windows 10
Cubase sx 8

------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 05:35 PM   #6
D42K732202
IDMf Supporter
D42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond reputeD42K732202 has a reputation beyond repute
D42K732202's Avatar
My hell
Posts: 829
MC Status: 8610
Thanks: 158
Thanked 172 Times in 141 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

well processor is fine, i would recommend going back to win 7 because 10 and 8 is too bloated with useless services, sure you can disable some of them but going back is just easier, windows 10 is running on nearly same kernel as XP, so you are not getting any benefits expect different ui and useless shit like cloud services and useless updates,

now i bet artificer will again jump out of nowhere and wage shitstorm against me

------------------
sent from another world
D42K732202 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 06:56 PM   #7
joem
Savage Mad Cunt
joem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MC
Posts: 1,875
MC Status: 20060
Thanks: 2
Thanked 401 Times in 348 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Quote:
Originally Posted by D42K732202 View Post
well processor is fine, i would recommend going back to win 7 because 10 and 8 is too bloated with useless services, sure you can disable some of them but going back is just easier, windows 10 is running on nearly same kernel as XP, so you are not getting any benefits expect different ui and useless shit like cloud services and useless updates,

now i bet artificer will again jump out of nowhere and wage shitstorm against me
no but i will windows 10 is really good im haveiung no issues im running windows 10 pro with fl studio 11 not 12 11 and haveing no issues and is it fuck easiur to go fuckin g back its a simple softwhaere download and a click to remove the bloat.
joem is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2017, 07:31 PM   #8
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2960
Thanks: 25
Thanked 59 Times in 46 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Quote:
Originally Posted by joem View Post
no but i will windows 10 is really good im haveiung no issues im running windows 10 pro with fl studio 11 not 12 11 and haveing no issues and is it fuck easiur to go fuckin g back its a simple softwhaere download and a click to remove the bloat.
Help me translate this. :justlookatit:

Is there software to delete some windows 10 services?

------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Mario D
lolirl (13-03-2017)
Old 13-03-2017, 07:39 PM   #9
joem
Savage Mad Cunt
joem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MC
Posts: 1,875
MC Status: 20060
Thanks: 2
Thanked 401 Times in 348 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mario D View Post
Help me translate this. :justlookatit:

Is there software to delete some windows 10 services?
http://www.thewindowsclub.com/ultima...r-4-windows-10
joem is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to joem
Mario D (13-03-2017)
Old 13-03-2017, 08:10 PM   #10
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2960
Thanks: 25
Thanked 59 Times in 46 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Tweaked. That didn't solve anything.
Could it be that I'm actually using integrated onboard sound card and not anything fancy?

edit.
Changing the buffer size from 10ms to 70 ms reduced my consumption by 30% at least. That's better!

Last edited by Mario D; 13-03-2017 at 08:15 PM..

------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2017, 10:08 AM   #11
Roo Stercogburn
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistAdministrator
Roo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MC
Roo Stercogburn's Avatar
On horseback
Posts: 10,529
MC Status: 42388499
Thanks: 1,225
Thanked 5,090 Times in 3,319 Posts
Re: Cubase sx workload

Win 10 has the disk streaming improvements introduced in Win 8. Don't go back to Win 7.

Advertisements


------------------
Roo Stercogburn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone here using Cubase? huhudead Industrial / EBM / Power Electronics 13 16-01-2016 10:36 AM
What the hell Cubase?! Focalized Workstation Center 4 10-10-2015 08:47 AM
Cubase 8 iDoG Workstation Center 7 20-01-2015 11:50 AM
Problems in cubase 5 philipsstep Music Scene Chat 0 03-10-2013 08:23 PM
Who here uses Cubase? D_Davis Workstation Center 26 08-02-2013 05:15 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.