How do I work on getting this sound?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements

Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques Need to know how to make a specific sound? Want to improve your mix? Need advice on micing-up a drum kit? This is the area for you.

Old 31-12-2016, 10:49 PM   #1
cern242
Learning The Ropes
cern242 is currently spamming hard
MC Status: 10
How do I work on getting this sound?

Hey everyone, I'm a noob producer who's been tinkering around in Ableton for around 6 months. I've followed quite a few tutorials and have a basic understanding of production but I can never seem to get the sound I want. I've been trying to get that old school dirty deep house vibe. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Here's a few of songs that have the sound I've been trying to get.

Advertisements

cern242 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2016, 11:56 PM   #2
A.M
IDMf SupporterIDMf Artist
A.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MC
MC Status: 183910
Thanked 3,678 Times in 2,740 Posts
Re: How do I work on getting this sound?

I'm going to say sorry up front, because what follows might come across as me being a smart ass..so, with that said..

Basically there's no swift or quick way to "get that sound"..you're going to have to put in the time learning the basics of sound production..and, hopefully, after "tinkering around in Ableton for around 6 months" and given you've "followed quite a few tutorials and have a basic understanding of production", you should at least have worked out how to use EQ/Compression/Reverb, etc..