Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Hardware and Gear Hardware, gear, equipment; Whatever you call it, talk about tangible, physical music-making stuff here. Synths, Modular, drum machines, controllers etc all goes here.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 27-03-2016, 08:59 PM   #1
MothSound
Radial Developer
MothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud ofMothSound has much to be proud of
MothSound's Avatar
Oxford
Age: 25
Posts: 134
MC Status: 1210
Thanks: 11
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

I'm looking into buying a cheap lightweight laptop to travel with. It would be nice to make music on the road.

What would you suggest are the minimum requirements for music production? Is 2GB Ram (1.33Ghz processor speed) adequete?

Most the plugins I use are fairly CPU friendly. Besides, I'm sure there are techniques to avoid problems with CPU.

Thanks in advance

Advertisements


------------------
He lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived
MothSound is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2016, 09:06 PM   #2
Benwaa
Guest
Posts: n/a
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

yes and no, it all depends n what you intend to use for that production. in this day and age it's generally a no, that's nowhere near enough. however, as said it depends on what you intend to use software wise
  Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2016, 09:09 PM   #3
LustHouse
Analog Lurker
LustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of lightLustHouse is a glorious beacon of light
Posts: 87
MC Status: 460
Thanks: 9
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Depends on your workflow and stuff. Probably will be very hard to lunch some serious sample libraries like kontakt. You might be ok, but be prepared to bounce all the stuff and deal directly with audio.
LustHouse is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2016, 09:29 PM   #4
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,093
MC Status: 1530927
Thanks: 973
Thanked 1,854 Times in 1,196 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Bounce tracks down often and use your DAW as more of an audio sequencer and you should be fine. VST's are going to be limited.

I'd get something more substantial, but it can be done.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2016, 09:35 PM   #5
LichLord
Microknight
LichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant futureLichLord has a brilliant future
LichLord's Avatar
Age: 23
Posts: 105
MC Status: 1860
Thanks: 25
Thanked 37 Times in 26 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Considering your OS is going to take a massive reserve for itself (even with optimization it's still 700-1200mb instantly gone), you'd be pretty much stuck with very lightweight plugins & soundfonts for that kind of setup. It's still entirely possible to compose some magic with such a setup, just be aware that you'll be unable to run any of the 'heavier solutions' per say and I would strongly advise a minimum of 4GB as a comfortable 'low-end' if you can afford to do so.

If you're sourcing a cheap laptop for composing on-the-go, stay away from Ultrabooks & 2-in-1 systems if you want more bang-for-buck since most of them end up utilising U-Series Intel Chips which drastically reduce performance to keep them low-powered and cool inside of confined spaces. Saying that it depends on how important portability of a Traditional Laptop Chassis vs Very-Thin Ultrabook-styled is for you.
LichLord is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2016, 09:53 PM   #6
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,614
MC Status: 23910
Thanks: 483
Thanked 478 Times in 388 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Well when I first got reason several years ago that's roughly what I had if I remember correctly, but now even reason might struggle with that. Have you looked into an iPad?

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2016, 10:16 PM   #7
joem
Savage Mad Cunt
joem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MCjoem is a savage MC
Posts: 1,781
MC Status: 17860
Thanks: 2
Thanked 357 Times in 308 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

4 to 8 gigs id say and a core i3 to i5
joem is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2016, 01:42 PM   #8
eesn
Knob Twiddler
eesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond reputeeesn has a reputation beyond repute
eesn's Avatar
London
Posts: 201
MC Status: 3960
Thanks: 25
Thanked 79 Times in 59 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MothSound View Post
What would you suggest are the minimum requirements for music production? Is 2GB Ram (1.33Ghz processor speed) adequete?
The simple answer is 4GB minimum and 2GHz+.
If you don't use sample playback, then 2GB and a lean OS might just do it for you, but good luck arriving at a lean OS these days. Keep in mind the nicest plugins tend to be taxing on the CPU. Your DAW of choice will be a factor. Renoise or something less mainstream in general will handle limited resources better.

------------------
eesn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2016, 04:44 PM   #9
Mctoast
Savage Mad Cunt
Mctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MCMctoast is a savage MC
Mctoast's Avatar
Posts: 1,039
MC Status: 38897
Thanks: 13
Thanked 311 Times in 235 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

I don't really use plugins, but if I have like 30 minute samples, it crashes quite easily with 4gb ram.

------------------
Mctoast is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 07:12 PM   #10
Creepr
Soundscaper
Creepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond reputeCreepr has a reputation beyond repute
Creepr's Avatar
Germany
Posts: 327
MC Status: 5960
Thanks: 62
Thanked 119 Times in 77 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Although I am not an apple fan, but an ipad or even an android tab could be a good choice. Android has limited options still but there are some solid choices like FL and Caustic for getting ideas down. Would probably be a similar price to even a cheap, older laptop.

------------------
Creepr is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2016, 11:34 PM   #11
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,414
MC Status: 49660
Thanks: 899
Thanked 993 Times in 734 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Re iPad: consider that most solutions will require you to bounce to audio, with some notable exceptions.

Is cost a factor? A Mac Book Pro with a small screen will be quite portable and require less in terms of trade off. With a portable pad controller (QuNeo, MK2) you'll have a neat little box.

------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 06:11 AM   #12
Kyrpto
Knob Twiddler
Kyrpto is just really niceKyrpto is just really niceKyrpto is just really niceKyrpto is just really nice
Posts: 216
MC Status: 360
Thanks: 8
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

8GB should be minimum nowadays.
Kyrpto is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 11:53 AM   #13
vetrix
IDMf SupporterIDMf Artist
vetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MCvetrix is a savage MC
vetrix's Avatar
Posts: 179
MC Status: 328526
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

For basic music production ( meaning you are not using RAM hogs like orchestral simulators ) you can probably get away with 4GB , although you may find its not enough if you are opening many VSTs or loading multiple heavy audio files on a single project .

It also depends on your standard workflow. Do you like to keep things simple and minimal while producing or do you usually end up with 100´s of plugins ,audio files , effects etc.. ?

The more RAM you have the more room you have to keep adding effects , plugins , samples etc.. but on the other hand having less RAM might force you to streamline your creativity and do more with less sort of speak.

In any case I would say that 4GB is the minimum to get things started , 8GB is most likely more than enough for most productions and higher than that is almost always only needed if you regularly use large sample-based instruments or produce complex tracks with a LOT going on.

But a good thing about RAM is that you can simply add more as you need. You can start with 4GB and if down the road you find its insufficient you can upgrade to 8GB and so on ( when buying your unit make sure you know many sticks the RAM is on and the # of slots are available ).


------------------
vetrix is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 12:41 PM   #14
Str8Jaketed
Str8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MCStr8Jaketed is a savage MC
Str8Jaketed's Avatar
GET OFF MY LAWN!
Age: 47
Posts: 1,705
MC Status: 33060
Thanks: 1,005
Thanked 661 Times in 516 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

At this point in time due to the amount of ram needed by current OSs I would go 8 plus..4 you can get by as long as you are not using too many sample based plugins or you track freeze bounce often...plus it will depend on your DAW of choice..Reaper tends to be far less intensive in ram usage..

------------------
“A composer is a guy who goes around forcing his will on unsuspecting air molecules, often with the assistance of unsuspecting musicians.”Frank Zappa

“Hell is full of musical amateurs.” -George Bernard Shaw
Str8Jaketed is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Str8Jaketed
Numerical (19-10-2016)
Old 22-04-2016, 06:13 PM   #15
oDDgOD
Soundscaper
oDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond reputeoDDgOD has a reputation beyond repute
oDDgOD's Avatar
Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 329
MC Status: 5360
Thanks: 16
Thanked 107 Times in 79 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8Jaketed View Post
Reaper tends to be far less intensive in ram usage..
This. On an XP system I was able to use Reaper with 768MB of ram...though that was several years ago. I'm currently using it on a Windows 7 crappy Compaq laptop with 6 gigs and it works flawlessly. If you want to run on as little ram as possible go with Reaper.

------------------
Anybody can be good at something but it takes real effort to suck as bad as I do.
oDDgOD is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2016, 09:53 PM   #16
Roo Stercogburn
IDMf SupporterIDMf ArtistAdministrator
Roo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MCRoo Stercogburn is a savage MC
Roo Stercogburn's Avatar
On horseback
Posts: 10,169
MC Status: 42375049
Thanks: 1,159
Thanked 4,821 Times in 3,146 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MothSound View Post
I'm looking into buying a cheap lightweight laptop to travel with. It would be nice to make music on the road.

What would you suggest are the minimum requirements for music production? Is 2GB Ram (1.33Ghz processor speed) adequete?

Most the plugins I use are fairly CPU friendly. Besides, I'm sure there are techniques to avoid problems with CPU.

Thanks in advance
No.

I could spend 3 pages weighing it all up and explaining but I'm in the middle of re-watching The Force Awakens.

------------------
Roo Stercogburn is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2016, 04:47 AM   #17
ablaut
Learning The Ropes
ablaut will become famous soon enough
China
Posts: 5
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

It is possible if you would use a light-weight Linux OS and Non DAW. There are some really good open source synths like ZynAddSubFX and Helm as well.
ablaut is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2016, 08:36 AM   #18
MFXxx
IDMf Supporter
MFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MCMFXxx is a savage MC
MFXxx's Avatar
My own little world
Posts: 1,441
MC Status: 1831277
Thanks: 576
Thanked 716 Times in 499 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

Min of 4gb redcommend 8gb

------------------
MFXxx is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2016, 03:41 PM   #19
foilmusiq
Granular Poster
foilmusiq has a spectacular aura aboutfoilmusiq has a spectacular aura aboutfoilmusiq has a spectacular aura about
Zg
Posts: 71
MC Status: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

It is hard with that little ram, you can do it but... i use 8gb and i would love to have 16, have SSD, and 8gb of ram somethimes is not enought for me.

------------------
foilmusiq is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 17-10-2016, 04:43 PM   #20
Thugfauna
Learning The Ropes
Thugfauna will become famous soon enoughThugfauna will become famous soon enough
Posts: 5
MC Status: 110
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Re: Is 2GB Ram enough power for music production?

For something that uses VSTi's is hard to work with.
I have tried to use FL studio with 4gb ram and you can have fun with the native VST's but it cannot run most downloaded vst's.

And if you start stacking more than a handful of vsts you will start getting clicks in the sound and lag.

I believe 2gb will be almost unusable. But If you want to make a track using all samples and only 1 or 2 vst's it could work.

Advertisements

Thugfauna is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A room filled with music...(VR in music production) Schnork The Studio 2 17-11-2015 12:55 PM
Russian Power Electronics Music? skygge Industrial / EBM / Power Electronics 8 24-06-2014 04:39 PM
How to get more processing power for Production? harritor The Studio 32 18-03-2013 02:08 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.