Will I have any issues with Win 10?
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


The Studio All discussions relating to sound design, mixing techniques, music theory, composition, and gear.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 03-05-2017, 12:12 PM   #1
Focalized
Man in the box
Focalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MC
Focalized's Avatar
Space Base
Posts: 2,616
MC Status: 10377217
Thanks: 13
Thanked 321 Times in 256 Posts
Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Want to get a new PC. A more than efficient one from Newegg. They all use Windows 10 I think.

I have my Cubase 5. One thing I might upgrade or transfer to another DAW. Maybe Reason. Being able to use VSTs now is interesting. But the Cubase design is what I'm used to.

I have Komplete 8, Waves Platinum and Ozone 4 in box.

Advertisements


------------------
Focalized is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 12:26 PM   #2
A.M
IDMf SupporterIDMf Artist
A.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MCA.M is a savage MC
A.M's Avatar
Age: 52
Posts: 9,010
MC Status: 169560
Thanks: 9,862
Thanked 3,391 Times in 2,529 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

My experiences with Win 10 has lead me to believe it's a piece of data-mining shit that I now won't touch with a ten foot pole. I tried it when it was first offered for free, but quickly became pissed off with the constant updates that were going on in the background without notice.

It connects to MS at will, regardless of if you tell it to or not..settings you choose are reset when it updates..again, without telling you. Mind you, all of these things may very well have been changed by now, but I just don't trust MS any more..they seem to have their eye on the Apple way of doing things..which is not something I feel like supporting or being a part of.

Personally, I would suggest you get a copy if Windows 7 Pro 64 bit and use that as the OS for your studio system and make sure you don't go online with it..carrying out any updates or installs to it via USB drive or CD, for security reasons.

Anyway, that's my advice to you..I'm sure others will reply telling you how great Windows 10 is..and others will post backing up what I've said..but in the end it's a call you'll have to make yourself..you'll either love it or hate it,,but you won't know which until you try it in an active production setting yourself..

Let us know here what you do and how you get on with it if you so. Best of luck.

------------------
A.M is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 01:12 PM   #3
relic
IDMf Supporter
relic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MCrelic is a savage MC
relic's Avatar
The AK Rowdy Rowdy
Posts: 16,720
MC Status: 8524380
Thanks: 10,189
Thanked 6,669 Times in 4,756 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

I had no isssues w Win 10.

------------------
relic is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 01:18 PM   #4
Focalized
Man in the box
Focalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MC
Focalized's Avatar
Space Base
Posts: 2,616
MC Status: 10377217
Thanks: 13
Thanked 321 Times in 256 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Maybe i'll just keep on jizzing on my 2010 PC to make her happy. Still works just seems iffy. Sometimes have to restart to load all processes.

I hate that the OS is my greatest concern in a new super fast PC.

------------------
Focalized is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 01:24 PM   #5
Focalized
Man in the box
Focalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MC
Focalized's Avatar
Space Base
Posts: 2,616
MC Status: 10377217
Thanks: 13
Thanked 321 Times in 256 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by relic View Post
I had no isssues w Win 10.
If one had no issue with WIN 10, I have hopes most will not.

------------------
Focalized is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 01:35 PM   #6
professurreal
IDMf Artist
professurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MCprofessurreal is a savage MC
professurreal's Avatar
at the end of the tunnel
Age: 36
Posts: 2,380
MC Status: 58960
Thanks: 1,530
Thanked 1,179 Times in 786 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

I use Ableton and have Komplete 8 and had absolutely no problems whatsoever when I made the switch to Windows 10. So now there's two

------------------
professurreal is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 01:54 PM   #7
Artificer
Digital Surfer
Artificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MCArtificer is a savage MC
Artificer's Avatar
Southern Hell
Posts: 509
MC Status: 28110
Thanks: 181
Thanked 562 Times in 330 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

No real problems. It was rough going in beta and when it was first released but better now. The settings resetting thing is annoying and can still happen with updates. It likes to update, you can't pick and choose updates as they're bulk delivered and it's very difficult to keep the updates from happening so save your work and don't plan on your computer never restarting - Microsoft will do it for you.

But 10 is stable, has plenty of useful tools and a smooth user experience. It's not vastly different than 7 to be honest. I'm rather used to it now. But you've got 2.5 years left of Windows 7 if you'd rather use that. There's certainly nothing wrong with it.
Artificer is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 03:39 PM   #8
Focalized
Man in the box
Focalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MCFocalized is a savage MC
Focalized's Avatar
Space Base
Posts: 2,616
MC Status: 10377217
Thanks: 13
Thanked 321 Times in 256 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

If I get a new PC I'll install everything I have BOXED. Then upgrade anything free?

I guess that the only thing I'm worried about.

------------------
Focalized is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 11:05 PM   #9
maxadax
Regular Freak
maxadax will become famous soon enough
maxadax's Avatar
Buckingham Palace
Posts: 10
MC Status: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Apart from being a complete insult to every end user that uses it in terms of built in spyware and backdoors you don't have the right to do anything about, everything has worked for me in technical terms.
maxadax is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to maxadax
A.M (11-06-2017)
Old 10-06-2017, 11:30 PM   #10
Numerical
IDMf Artist
Numerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MCNumerical is a savage MC
Numerical's Avatar
Austin
Age: 39
Posts: 10,745
MC Status: 45941381
Thanks: 6,605
Thanked 5,664 Times in 3,570 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Not sure about you guys but i went through the process of turning off updates permanently, like the service itself. It's been some months now, had something to do with my wifi usb stick not being compatible (FML its not even that old) and W10 said fuck you I'm not updating, so I found some page in the net about how to actually turn off the updates...of course, might not work out too well in the long run but I havent had issues other than that and fucking Cortana being on too much.

All in all I liked the streamlined nature of 7 better but I suppose you can't go up against microshit and win.

------------------
Numerical is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2017, 11:46 PM   #11
Vault O)))
Eternal Echoer
Vault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MCVault O))) is a savage MC
Vault O)))'s Avatar
Public Enema #2
Age: 27
Posts: 923
MC Status: 31460
Thanks: 793
Thanked 629 Times in 412 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

No issues. Weird bugs and errors I used to get on 7-8 just don't seem to happen at all on 10

My PC is also being held together with duct tape and elmers glue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focalized View Post

I hate that the OS is my greatest concern in a new super fast PC.
Nobody said you had to keep 10, TBH. If you like an older OS, just use that

------------------
Vault O))) is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 12:14 AM   #12
Metaside
Sample Destroyer
Metaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond reputeMetaside has a reputation beyond repute
Metaside's Avatar
Posts: 270
MC Status: 5410
Thanks: 50
Thanked 108 Times in 72 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

So far, everything is running close to perfect for me (Ableton Live 64bit, M4L, many plugins by various developers, jBridge for some older stuff, RX 6). Ableton crashes from time to time, but nothing unusual.

I only had one problem with a jBridged 32bit-plugin that wouldn't work after migrating to Win 10. The developer helped me out with a new functioning version like 2 days after writing an email asking for support.

However, a friend of mine had a lot of problems, mostly after some automatic Win 10 updates I think, that took some time to solve.

------------------
Metaside is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 01:48 AM   #13
dada_davros
IDMf Supporter
dada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond reputedada_davros has a reputation beyond repute
dada_davros's Avatar
Posts: 304
MC Status: 9610
Thanks: 91
Thanked 192 Times in 124 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

No issues at all on my end. It has played nice with everything for me

------------------
dada_davros is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to dada_davros
jVs (11-06-2017)
Old 11-06-2017, 04:58 AM   #14
White Noise
Deep Underground
White Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MCWhite Noise is a savage MC
White Noise's Avatar
California
Posts: 745
MC Status: 18760
Thanks: 78
Thanked 375 Times in 267 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

No issues with win10 for me. Whenever I render a track out, it asks if I want to activate onedrive or something, I could probably find a way to get rid of that if I really hated it.

------------------
Also, check this out.

White Noise is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to White Noise
Mario D (11-06-2017)
Old 11-06-2017, 04:08 PM   #15
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2860
Thanks: 25
Thanked 57 Times in 44 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Noise View Post
Whenever I render a track out, it asks if I want to activate onedrive or something.
This fukin thing...........

------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2017, 04:12 PM   #16
Mario D
Sample Destroyer
Mario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond reputeMario D has a reputation beyond repute
Mario D's Avatar
Croatia
Posts: 297
MC Status: 2860
Thanks: 25
Thanked 57 Times in 44 Posts
Re: Will I have any issues with Win 10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Focalized View Post
Want to get a new PC. A more than efficient one from Newegg. They all use Windows 10 I think.

I have my Cubase 5. One thing I might upgrade or transfer to another DAW. Maybe Reason. Being able to use VSTs now is interesting. But the Cubase design is what I'm used to.

I have Komplete 8, Waves Platinum and Ozone 4 in box.
Take W10, trust me. Everything is easy with W10, if you dont mind being controled/spied by Microsoft and US and AAaaaii.

I've been using Cubase for the last 8 years since Cubase 3. Switched 2 days ago on Studio One
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


I'm not gonna be a b.tch and post my yesterdays work here I've done in Studio One but you can go to Listening Booth and check my work out.
Amazing software. Amazing. It's like cubase but from a year 2025. So thrilled I'm not coming down from a PC ..my wife is pissed...

Advertisements


------------------
Mario D is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to Mario D
A.M (11-06-2017)
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compressor issues Jamb1093 Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 5 25-04-2012 09:58 PM
VST issues thomps557 The Studio 5 27-03-2012 12:44 PM
Plug-ins issues Goshyax Sound Design, Mixing, & Studio Techniques 12 10-02-2012 03:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.