Multi track recording from hardware
You are Unregistered, please register to gain Full access.    
Advertisements


Hardware and Gear Hardware, gear, equipment; Whatever you call it, talk about tangible, physical music-making stuff here. Synths, Modular, drum machines, controllers etc all goes here.

Reply
Thread Tools
Old 18-06-2016, 10:03 PM   #1
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,477
MC Status: 51910
Thanks: 931
Thanked 1,038 Times in 765 Posts
Multi track recording from hardware

How do you guys go about recording hardware in your DAW? Specifically, what do you do when you have 16 sounds going on a drum machine. Do you record the entire output into one track, or do you do multiple takes? Do you typically do gain staging on the synth itself or in your mixer?

For the sake of argument, let's assume that I don't want to add additional effects in the box.

Advertisements


------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 10:33 PM   #2
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

depends on how much IO i have and whether im recording a "Jam" or tracking something that has been tracked out via MIDI. If i have enough ins I try to track everything separately, but like you mentioned in the instance of having 16 sounds in a drum machine... if i need to i will group sounds together, usually for me split via frequency range and always w my kick on its own channel.

I run all of my HW as hot as possible (without clipping the recording) and try to do as little gain structuring w my interface as possible.

This is the case whether I want to effect things in post or not.

But yes, multiple takes, so i can mix after the fact, eq/compress/effect as needed.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to chasedobson
liquid_air (18-06-2016)
Old 18-06-2016, 10:37 PM   #3
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

This type of question is also why i prefer to do all drums "in the box" and do a combination of HW and Software Synths. I have hands on control w my HW synths for parts that I want to manually automate while tracking and can program parts w the Software that dont need the same type of attention.

This workflow is my approach specifically to Techno stuff. When I am tracking guitar driven/shoegazer/rock stuff I track everything but the drums in one by one.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to chasedobson
liquid_air (18-06-2016)
Old 18-06-2016, 10:45 PM   #4
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

When I am tracking my hardware its a matter of cranking the outs as loud as I can without distortion then assigning sounds to individual outs and re checking levels then recording things separately, doing as many passes as needed. I might do open and closed hats onto one stereo track or ambiances and soundscapes onto another stereo track but usually all separate, situation dependent!

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to jbvdb493
liquid_air (18-06-2016)
Old 18-06-2016, 10:47 PM   #5
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Actually its been a small issue for me as sometimes it seems the interface isnt loud enough and I need to normalize itb. Any tips for that from other motu fanboys?

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 10:49 PM   #6
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

gain control in cuemix. I've found some "happy medium" settings for my setup that work well.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 10:50 PM   #7
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

One more! What chase is talking about is good. Once your synths are sequenced record your live tweaking on several takes and then you have the option of chopping the best bits.

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 10:52 PM   #8
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbvdb493 View Post
One more! What chase is talking about is good. Once your synths are sequenced record your live tweaking on several takes and then you have the option of chopping the best bits.
that fo sho.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 10:52 PM   #9
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasedobson View Post
gain control in cuemix. I've found some "happy medium" settings for my setup that work well.
Right thanks I need to look into using the cuemix when tracking! So far i am only using it when playing around with just hardware. Thanks!

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to jbvdb493
liquid_air (18-06-2016)
Old 18-06-2016, 11:07 PM   #10
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,477
MC Status: 51910
Thanks: 931
Thanked 1,038 Times in 765 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasedobson View Post
This type of question is also why i prefer to do all drums "in the box" and do a combination of HW and Software Synths. I have hands on control w my HW synths for parts that I want to manually automate while tracking and can program parts w the Software that dont need the same type of attention.

This workflow is my approach specifically to Techno stuff. When I am tracking guitar driven/shoegazer/rock stuff I track everything but the drums in one by one.
Thanks for all the suggestions. Cuemix is definitely great. Somehow I can't seem to run the A4 and Tempest loud enough, so there's a good amount of gain addition needed.
I suppose I could simply sample each drum sound and do the rest ITB, but that sort of defies the purpose. I'll have to see what I like best.

I am definitely quickly running out of lines on that MOTU. Four stereo lines isn't a whole lot.

------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:10 PM   #11
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

I use one of the mono ins on the front for my bass station, works fine!

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:11 PM   #12
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by liquid_air View Post
I am definitely quickly running out of lines on that MOTU. Four stereo lines isn't a whole lot.
figure out some mono/stereo priorities. I use track both my Minilogue and Nord in mono. I used to track the nord in stereo for some Unison effects but after a long conversation w Tycho (I used to do live sound for them) I started recording analog synths in mono and found they sat in the mix better.

Same with guitar as long as I'm not using any ping pong delays or stereo chorus.

I tend to track simple and create the depth of the mix w my... uh.. mix. (:

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:35 PM   #13
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,477
MC Status: 51910
Thanks: 931
Thanked 1,038 Times in 765 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Yeah, for the drums that sounds like a good idea. The little panning I do can be done after the fact. It gets tricky, though as the Tempest also is a wicked analog synth and I like to add some stereo effects. The A4 is running through a series of Strymon Timeline and BigSkye FX pedals, which sound so sweet with a little LFO on panning in the source, so gotta have stereo there, too.

I am currently using stereo in each for send from box, Tempest, FX loop, and one reserved for an additional synth (Avalon, Volca FM). I will add an Octatrack, most likely in the FX loop. I already need a second 828.

------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:44 PM   #14
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Send some of your hardware into the octatrack when you come to that.
I have 4 outs of my mpc going into the 4 ins of the octatrack, it's annoying but when I get to sampling I will just have to swap cables to sample into the octatrack. But I decided the features of the octatrack make sending mpc sounds into it and some of the workarounds totally worth it!

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:47 PM   #15
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by liquid_air View Post
I already need a second 828.
[Only registered and activated users can see links. Click here to register]


Get 2 of these.

I have 2, you connect them via Optical. Expand your IO. With a pair I have up to 26 inputs to my 828mk3. I've never used them this way (all for inputs) but it is certainly doable.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 18-06-2016, 11:48 PM   #16
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

You can find them for about 150 bucks USD used. The converters are quite clean, just avoid the mic preamps.

------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2016, 12:05 AM   #17
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,477
MC Status: 51910
Thanks: 931
Thanked 1,038 Times in 765 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Now that I have the Thunderbolt unit, I suppose I can simply expand the inputs via optical. The 828x didn't come cheap.

------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2016, 02:46 AM   #18
jbvdb493
IDMf Supporter
jbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MCjbvdb493 is a savage MC
jbvdb493's Avatar
Posts: 1,711
MC Status: 25860
Thanks: 558
Thanked 517 Times in 422 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Did you ever figure out the iPad app for controlling the 828?

------------------
jbvdb493 is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2016, 04:36 AM   #19
liquid_air
IDMf Supporter
liquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MCliquid_air is a savage MC
liquid_air's Avatar
Corny
Posts: 2,477
MC Status: 51910
Thanks: 931
Thanked 1,038 Times in 765 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Honestly, no. I can run CueMix on my laptop. I've but together a nice little track that I am going to polish up. It's a nice little hypnotic track. I think I've coaxed some pretty punchy kicks out of the Tempest. A few hi hats or rides and it should be in pretty decent shape (mix and master aside)...

------------------
Techno starts with a capital 'T', as in TB-303 and TR-808.

liquid_air is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to liquid_air
chasedobson (19-06-2016)
Old 19-06-2016, 04:58 AM   #20
chasedobson
bulletunderabloodredsky
chasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MCchasedobson is a savage MC
chasedobson's Avatar
Denver, CO
Posts: 3,181
MC Status: 1535477
Thanks: 1,009
Thanked 1,945 Times in 1,242 Posts
Re: Multi track recording from hardware

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbvdb493 View Post
Did you ever figure out the iPad app for controlling the 828?
ah yes, the "make it harder" app.


eff that bollocks. i understand wanting to get away from the computer but it does like... make a lot of things easier!

Advertisements


------------------
chasedobson is offline   Thanks Reply With Quote
Thanks to chasedobson
jbvdb493 (19-06-2016)
Reply


Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware station for recording multiple tracks Lug Hardware and Gear 13 06-10-2015 01:19 AM
4-track cassette recording help sticker14 The Studio 8 23-08-2013 09:55 AM
Digital 8-track vs PC recording czarben The Studio 5 06-03-2013 05:06 PM
multi-track cassette recording and tape warmth in general FunkMasterBrown The Studio 18 20-01-2013 04:54 AM
Guitar recording hardware. Shtuffe Hardware and Gear 21 11-08-2012 02:12 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Electronic Music Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.